Motivation logo

The Choices We make

Life

By Jocelyn VeraPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’m a 23 year old single mother, and though most people may say “she doesn’t know what she’s talking about”. I like to think I know a little something. Life is full of choices and paths that we end up taking, and most times we learn a valuable lesson. I’m going to open up with you guys and tell you a little bit about myself. So sit back relax and I hope you enjoy my story.

All my life I was faced with challenges. The biggest one of all was getting molested. This is something I don’t wish on anyone in their lifetime, however it’s also something that happens very often. Not only did it happen once, but it happened by two different people in my life. As a child I didn’t know how to deal with this, but as I got older I learned how to turn my pain into growth. For some people this is easy and others don’t ever learn how to, or they never got the help that was needed.

Going to school no one ever knew anything was wrong with me. I always put on a smile, and made everyone around me laugh that’s all I knew how to do. Later on I went to counseling, and it was then that I found out it was called being optimistic. That was not the only time I was told I’m an optimistic person. I’ve been told this by a few other counselors and a handful of people that I’ve met. I’m not saying that this is the only way that you can make it through a bad experience in life, but it does help.

I chose to forgive those men, but I haven’t fully forgiven my mother. I live life day by day and I enjoy being a mother. I will say that my experience will always be with me. By this I mean there are some days where I get a vibe from a man, and it doesn’t sit well with me. Maybe I’m paranoid, but I’d rather be safe than sorry. After all I am not just living for myself now.

Everybody has a choice to make. As I said I chose to forgive those men. Had I have not I wouldn’t be the woman I am today. I probably wouldn’t be able to love myself or anyone else. I don’t regret anything I went through because at the end of the day it made me stronger.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.