Motivation logo

The Broken Shell

How the hidden words of a shy kid came to light

By Denzel BeauchampPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5
The Broken Shell
Photo by Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

All my life I was told to speak up. I am just too shy. I am the "quiet one". I am a "good kid that doesn't say one word". Those are quite the words to hear every single day I must say. Why was that the case?

Well if I'm being honest there's a reason someone like me wouldn't say a thing. Sometimes it would be I was afraid of what others would think of me if I said something wrong. Other times it would be just because I just simply don't want to talk to someone. As people kept pointing it out saying "He's so quiet" and other things of the such, it just infuriated me to the point where I just didn't care anymore. I thought to myself every night why people would think such things of me. Why would people say this about me?

Internally this was a pain to hear every single day. I knew I could say things it just came down to what others thought of me. I simply wanted to speak freely and openly but then again I was worried about other people and what they would think of me if I said something wrong. In school, I never talked to many people and I didn't like working with other people. This is something that has always drained me. We all know at some point in school we have a project where we speak in front of the class. This is something that happened. That thing was "Public Speaking"

Public Speaking

Certainly the vast majority of people rank fear of public speaking as number one – 75% according to the National Institutes of Mental Health. For some people, this means a fear of speaking to large groups. For others, it means speaking to even a single person if that person has the power to evaluate you, as in a supervisor, interviewer, or professor giving an oral exam.

It is so fascinating that the number one fear is the fear of public speaking rather than something like fear of death. This is absolutely insane to me seriously. This is something that applied to me when it came to me being "shy". When it came to me needing to give a speech to my class is in school for the first time I got that butterfly feeling like crazy!

I did that and it was something I would never do again. It was the worst time of my life and I felt embarrassed giving a speech in front of the class. Doing this however opened me up a bit and doing this is what kind of got me out of my comfort zone. I always had a passion for playing video games, so I played video games almost every day. When playing video games I would always film myself playing the games and I would post the footage to my YouTube channel.

I got no views and got no subscribers just by ding this. But I did it because I love it and I love being creative and doing fun little challenges. In a sense, I would be comfortable talking to a camera than I would be talking to a few thousand people on a stage. Being able to do what I love and showing it off to an audience of nobody has seriously opened me up more. Every time I would look back at the footage I make it would make me cringe but every time I kept doing it over and over again I got better and better and every time I got better and better that's when people start noticing me.

The Next Step

After starting my journey on the internet being a Gamer, Creator, Influencer, etc. (There's a lot more to this). I started getting lots of traction and people starting seeing my videos. Every time I posted a video I would get thousands of viewers coming to see what it was I was doing. My main goal was to get out of my comfort zone and I think I did. But I also didn't in a way because all I did was talk to a camera all day every day. I thought to myself like I need to get busy. So what I had done being in High School was that I tried to get into doing Theater. Now I am an "Actor", I have done many shows just to get out of my comfort zone and just as I said previously. I kept going no matter what, I forced myself no matter what. My main goal was to get comfortable with doing the uncomfortable and stay being uncomfortable.

The uncomfortable has called my name many times and many times I kept getting in more plays and doing more acting. What I found out is that I now love being able to throw a show because I am no longer myself. All that I'm doing is playing a character and that's all, nothing else. With this being said I lost myself and didn't know what I was in for. In a way, it seems as if all I wanted was attention in a world that's full of it.

The Broken Shell

I lost myself and needed to find myself. My true self is someone who likes to inspire others and show them the way to getting somewhere. I have always had a passion for writing as I used to always write short stories as a kid. I am always passionate about creating videos and sharing them with people. I am also about making money and helping others with building their wealth. In a way, I don't have one thing I am passionate about because I am always taking action and always curious whereas the person who was stuck in the shell was a slave who had no direction in life.

My main thing to you is to never be afraid of what others will think of you because if you aren't happy about it then you will not get anywhere. Always take action and know there's always someone watching.

advice
5

About the Creator

Denzel Beauchamp

Content Creator & Multi-ECOM Business Owner Known for posting YouTube videos and showing people Legitimate ways of making a sufficient amount of income online.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.