Motivation logo

The Blackest Black

Help who needs help

By Taurus JanePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

I never told anyone what happened when the boy came to stay with me several summers ago. I don't even know if people would believe it. I know for certain it really happened. I have my phoenix to prove it.

The day he came, I had woke up with an attitude from my argument with my fiance Greg the night before. His father Robb was really racist toward the waitress while we were out to eat for my birthday.

After waking up, I went to sit with Tiffany. She was 16 at the time, and dying from cancer. The doctors had given her 5 years to live. We were already 3 years in.

After sitting with Tiff a few hours, I went to the grocery store. I had a mere $70 to get a few things.

Once I got to the store, there was a woman. She sat on the ground in front. Her clothes were tattered, and her hair was a mess. Her skin had spots of dirt. She spoke out to me.

“Can you please help me. My kids and I haven't eaten in days.” My heart ached for her. This could have easily been me and Tiffany years ago. I pulled out the $70 dollars I had, and gave her $40. She thanked me with a smile.

On my way home, I went a different route due to an accident. I passed the local shelter and noticed how charred it was. I had heard about the fire there a couple days ago, but I hadn't had a chance to ride by.

When I got home, I went and sat with Tiff for several hours. We mostly reminisced on happy times. I hated to think of her having to die. I didn't know what I would do without her.

As I was talking to Tiff, I heard someone at the door. When I went down, there was a skinny old man wearing a top hat and trench coat standing on the porch. He seemed to step out of the 1920's.

“Good day to you,” he said.

“Same to you sir. How can I help you?” I asked him.

“May I have your name madam?” he asked.

“Erin James,” I told him.

Greg peered over my shoulder from behind.

“Very well Erin. My name is Igor Lamb. I work for Carol's Family Orphanage on Rose Street.”

The orphanage that burned down.

“We are seeking help in the community,” he said. “We are asking if you could please take in one of the kids. This will be temporary, just a week or two. There will be a weekly stipend of $100.”

We did need the money, but I didn't have enough room.

“How old is the kid?” I asked.

He pulled out a mysterious little black book, and flipped through the pages.

“He's 14 madam,” he said.

"One moment,” I told him.

I pulled Greg into the kitchen.

“Absolutely not,” he said right away.

“Why not?” I asked. “We could earn some money and do a good deed all at once.”

Greg shook his head. “Erin, we don't have the space.”

“It's a couple weeks Greg. The kid can sleep on the couch.”

Greg thought a moment, then waved his hand.

“Fine. Just a couple of weeks.”

I told Igor that we would be happy to help.

“Very well Erin. And many thanks. I will go and retrieve him,” he said. He again pulled out the little black book.

“Please sign here,” he said. There was a line next to the name Akeel Lee Rosen. I signed.

I remember thinking it strange that no background check was required. He asked to see my I.D, and that was it. Then he went to get Akeel.

It took him no time. I looked up, and Akeel was standing in the doorway.

Igor didn't walk him back to the house. In fact, Igor was nowhere to be seen.

Akeel was adorable. He had a head full of curly hair. His skin smooth, clear, and dark as the night. His hazle eyes sparkled. He had on sweatpants and a t-shirt. His shoes looked like they'd been through hell and back. He had a duffle bag with him.

“Hi Akeel,” I said to him. He smiled. A smile so bright.

Greg came into the livingroom. Upon seeing Akeel, he motioned me into the kitchen.

“What the hell is this?” He asked.

“What are you talking about?” I questioned.

“You didn't tell me it was going to be a black kid.”

I rolled my eyes.

“Does that matter?”

“Of course it does. In times of trouble, you help your own.”

I shook my head. “In times of trouble, you help who needs to be helped,” I told him. The conversation was over.

I made Akeel some canned soup. I apologized to him as that was all I had. He was happy to have it.

“Do you have kids?” he asked.

“Yes,” I said.

“My daughter's name is Tiffany. I can let you meet her after you eat.”

After he ate, I took him to meet Tiffany. When she saw Akeel, they both just stared at one another.

Then she motioned for him to come to her.

Tiffany was always kind to everyone.

“My name is Akeel,” he told her. “I'm from the orphanage a few blocks from here.”

Tiff gasped. “The one that burned down?” She asked.

Akeel nodded his head.

I left to let them chat for awhile.

When I got close to Robb's door, I could hear him and Greg talking.

“Not only is he black dad. He's the blackest black you've ever seen. I don't know why Erin would allow him here, knowing how you feel,” I could hear Greg say. He always made it seem like only his dad was racist. Clearly he was too. I would address it when Akeel left.

The first night, I woke up to check on Akeel, but he wasn't on the couch. I went to Tiff's room. He was asleep on the floor. I smiled and went to sleep.

I continued to let Akeel sleep in Tiffany's room. He made her happy. I enjoyed their friendship. That is until I heard one of their conversations one night.

I was doing laundry and decided to stop by Tiffany's door just to see what they were talking about.

“What do you like to do?” Akeel asked her.

“Well I'm sick, so I can't do much. But I would have liked to be an actress,” Tiff said, giggling.

“Wow. A movie star? That's dope,” he said.

“No, not movies. Stage plays. I'm in love with Broadway,” she sounded so excited.

“You never know,” Akeel said. “I can totally picture you on stage. In fact. I'll make sure I'm at your first show, front and center.”

That night, Akeel and I sat on the porch. I decided to bring it up.

“Akeel, I have to be honest. I wasn't fond of your chat with Tiffany today,” I said. “Tiffany is really sick, and she isn't going to make it. We shouldn't give her false hope.”

I didn't want to hurt his feelings, but I needed him to know that their conversation wasn't okay.

He was quiet at first, then he spoke.

“What do you want Erin?” he asked.

I was confused.

“What do you mean?”

“Like, if you could have anything, what would you want?”

I thought a moment.

“I would want Tiffany to get better. I'd want a husband that wasn't racist. I wouldn't want to be sad anymore.”

I hid my face, I didn't want Akeel to see my tears.

“Thank you Erin,” he said. “For letting me stay here. For giving to me when you guys barely have enough for yourselves. I know your fiance and father in law don't care for me. But you and Tiffany are different.”

He grabbed my hand.

“The things we say and do are the best gifts we could ever give anyone.”

Later that night, I saw something that will stay with me forever.

I went to check on Akeel and Tiff.

I peeked in the room. Akeel was standing over Tiffany's bed. His hands stretched out over her body. He was saying something. A bright light flowed from his hands into Tiffany. I was shocked she didn't wake. After a moment, it was dark again.

I wanted to check on Tiffany, but somehow I knew she was okay.

The next morning, Tiffany was in the kitchen making breakfast. I was in a trance as I watched her.

“Good morning mom! I felt so awesome this morning, I decided to cook for you all.”

She sat a glass of juice in front of me.

My mind was racing, but I couldn't be happy just yet.

That day, I took Tiffany to the doctor who diagnosed her. He was amazed, as there was no sign of cancer. He wanted to run a few more test in 30 days.

When we got home, Akeel was helping Robb and Greg set up a new bed for Tiffany. She no longer wanted the “sick bed.” Robb and Greg talked to each other and ignored Akeel. He still happily helped.

After dinner, Akeel told me it was time for him to leave.

“How do you know? That Igor guy hasn't been here has he?” I asked him.

He smiled. “No Erin, he hasn't. But I just know it's time.”

I understood.

I took him upstairs so him, Tiff, and I could take a photo. Then it was my turn to thank him.

“Akeel, I'm not sure what happened with Tiff. But thank you. And thank you for your kindness to Gregg and Robb.”

“This is who I am. I will continue to be kind to everyone I come across, even if they think I'm the blackest black they've ever seen.”

We both laughed. I'm not sure how he knew Greg said that, but I'm happy he could joke about it.

“Why me?” I asked.

“The woman at the store. She was one of us.”

I nodded.

The next morning, Akeel was gone. Gregg was upset he didn't stay another week, as he wanted another $100.

Out of curiosity, I called the Orphanage. They hadn't heard of an Igor Lamb or Akeel Lee Rosen.

A week later, I got a check in the mail for $20,000. I saved it to later get Tiff an acting coach.

Gregg and I split up.

Me and Tiffany left and got our own apartment. I got a good job and she enrolled in school.

One day at the mall, she saw a gold chain with a phoenix charm. “Mom, can I have that?”

I was two steps ahead of her. After all, she was my phoenix. She was given a second chance. Born again, so to speak.

That was five years ago when Akeel came to stay with us. Tiffany is currently an actress at Romans Academy, which is as prestigious as Juilliard. She was cast as Belle in Beauty and the Beast. It was her first show.

That's when I saw him. As the theater lights beamed, there was no mistaking it. It was him. He was a few seats down from me. Older now, looked to be about 19 or 20. As Tiff took her bow, he clapped hard for her. Harder than me. Tears welled in my eyes. He told her he would be here. Front and center. And he was. He stood up to leave before everyone else. He glanced right at me and smiled. The same beautiful smile. He still had a head full of curly hair. His hazel eyes sparkled. Skin clear, smooth, dark as the night. The blackest black.

healing
1

About the Creator

Taurus Jane

I write.....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.