Motivation logo

The Best Way to Drastically Grow in Writing

Complacency is a killer and will hold you back from reaching your full potential.

By Jordan MendiolaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Archie Binamira from Pexels

Most people think that you have to write daily to improve your writing exponentially. Even I thought this was the only way to get better as a writer.

Daily writing is a phenomenal way to implement a routine in your life. There’s no doubt about it. But after some point in time, your writing will reach its peak, and you'll stop seeing improvements.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result.

Key techniques that have improved my writing:

  • Watching YouTube videos by Ayodeji and Tom Kueglar
  • Reading at least three articles a day from different writers
  • Studying the thesaurus to expand my vocabulary
  • Learning how to trim unnecessary parts of my stories
  • Asking my editors for advice on what could improve my writing
  • Reaching out to top writers from Facebook groups I’m in.

Dramatic growth and improvement elevated my writing because of my willingness to learn.

At the beginning of my writing career, I thought that I knew everything. I was stubborn to the system, the curation guidelines, and I figured the world owed me something.

News flash, the world owes us nothing, and no matter how bad we want to achieve something, we have to follow the rules. I shut my mouth and started listening. I started reading more. I opened my mind to new ways to write.

YouTube Videos about Writing

YouTube has inspired me to just how possible it is to make meaningful content that resonates with many other people. As a work-from-home guy like myself, I want nothing more than to impact people and earn money for it.

I would be lying to you if I wasn’t driven by money. The fact is, it’s not a problem because I’m so passionate about writing.

You may be passionate about writing too! So when you love something and want to make your mark in the world, you’re given superhuman willpower strength to make it there.

I highly recommend watching Ayodeji Awosika, Zulie Rane, and Tom Kueglar for writing tips and advice. They all have incredible channels!

Reading Every Day

We can all gain incredible insights from reading daily. It doesn’t have to be anything substantial, but it does have to be something.

By reading three articles a day from new writers, I expose myself to new ideas.

Various styles of writing exist in the world. There’s no better way to learn than by checking out something from new writers every day.

You can copy, borrow, or steal the styles you like and apply them to your own writing. Don’t become a copycat, though. No one likes a copy. Odds are, readers will flock back to the original rather than its doppelganger.

Studying the Thesaurus

I have a Webster’s Thesaurus with more than 300,000 synonyms next to my writing laptop in my bedroom. When my writing seems dull during my proof-reading session, I open that bad boy up.

I discovered that you don’t want to try too hard and get so fancy with your words that nobody understands what you’re trying to say. Most filler words or phrases can be substituted for much stronger words.

I would recommend looking up words to minimize slang, colloquial expressions, and technical terms. The more people that can digest your writing, the better.

Learning how to Trim the Fat

Believe it or not, I used to never proof-read my work. Something about it seemed scary. I was also so stubborn that I didn’t want to go back and shake things up because it seemed unessential.

Ever since I began proof-reading and seeing the parts that seemed stale, I began cutting my writing down dramatically. For every essay I write, I’ll trim nearly 10% of the entire piece to heighten my clarity and conciseness.

Editing is just as important as writing. Just don’t be too much of a perfectionist to the point where you don’t write anything at all.

Ask Editors for Feedback

Not every editor on the site will give a writer feedback unless he or she asks for it. I’ve had an essay rejected most of the time because I missed some small details in their guidelines.

This is why following the rules is so important. You can’t go anywhere unless you’re playing by the rules.

Ever since I began dropping notes down after a couple of days of the piece not being published, I’ve gotten responses back. All it takes sometimes is adding more personal writing, actionable advice, and elaborating on an idea.

Not every story you write is going to make someone inclined to read. It’s the truth. You’re going to have days where you write some novel essays. You’re also going to have days where your stories flop, and that’s okay too.

Once you develop a strong relationship with your editors, they’ll publish your work more often. I noticed that as an editor myself, I know who’s consistent and who isn’t. It takes time to earn the respect of your editors.

Follow the rules and keep communication open between your editors.

Reach out to Top Writers

Top writers love to help new aspiring writers. They have lives too, but if you have drive, passion and can prove that you put in the work, they’ll be more than happy to help.

I’ve been writing for eight months, the same amount of time I’ve spent in writer Facebook groups. There is timeless guidance from top writers. They share high-quality stories and knowledge about their success.

Luckily, I’ve had great contact with Matt Lillywhite, Ryan Fan, Agnes Louis, and Sean Kernan. They’re all legends in my eyes. And when we conversate through messenger, they’re just humans like you and me.

Don’t be afraid to reach out to those who have succeeded in writing. Avoid spamming or coming off desperate for help. It won’t look good for you, and you’ll be turned away. Again, take advice but don’t be a copycat imposter.

Final Thought

You have incredible ideas in that big brain of yours. Don’t be afraid to take risks and try new writing styles because it will pay off in the long-run.

Most people fail to recognize that learning how to write is more important than doing the writing itself. Both are essential to reaching your full potential, but the benefits of learning exceed almost anything else.

Learn and write. Learn and write. Learn and write some more.

success
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Mendiola

Jordan Mendiola is a horizontal construction engineer in the U.S. Army, Mendiola loves hands-on projects and writing inspirational blog posts about health, fitness, life, and investing.

linktr.ee/Jordanmendiola

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.