Motivation logo

The Best Of Luck

Making a lot of of a little luck

By Danielle BlakePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

“You ever wish that you had enough money to take care of everything and still live the life you dream of living? I think of that all the time.” Mia thought as she wrote in her little black notebook.

“If I could just be richer, it would make everything better.”

Mia and her family didn’t have live the richest lifestyle but they weren’t poor either. They had their struggles, but Mia wished and prayed that her family had more money to live better.

As Mia finished writing in her little black notebook, she went on her Instagram and seen that her favorite singer, Cashmere has posted a picture.

          “Are you looking to make some extra cash?

Do you need a bill paid? College tuition? Do you need to come out of debt? I got you. I’m doing a huge giveaway. The winner get $20,000. All you have to do is post a video of you singing your favorite song by me, and the winner will get this grand prize of $20,000. You have until tomorrow to submit it. Make it good. You might just win. Love y’all.”

Mia couldn’t believe that her prayers could be answered through this post. Mia could sing; she had been singing since she was little, in pageants, talent shows, and her church choir.

As Mia set up her camera, she was nervous to sing but she knew she could be an amazing opportunity for her to win this money for herself and for her family.

Mia begun to sing her favorite Cashmere song “Love Inside My Heart.” She posted the video, tagged Cashmere, and prayed it would be good enough to win the $20,000.

Mia went downstairs to talk to her mother.

“Mom, I have a question.” Mia started.

“What’s up sweetie?” Joyce asked.

“What would you do with $20,000?” Mia asked.

“Well, that’s a lot of money. I would pay so many bills off, I would give some to you, help your father prosper his business, and make sure we are taken care of.” Joyce answered.

“That’s a great goal, Mom.” Mia said.

“$20,000 would help our household out a lot.” Joyce told Mia.

“I have no doubt it will, Mama.” Mia smiled.

Mia went back upstairs to look at her video again. She also looked at other videos that were in the hashtag that the contest was being held under. She heard so many great talented people and she didn’t think she would be the one to win the $20,000. She kept hope alive that it would be hers.

After Mia looked at the videos, she picked up her little black notebook and wrote about how she was feeling towards the contest.

“Dear, Journal, I’m so nervous about this contest. There are so many talented people that have come forth and put their best singing voice out there. Anyone can win this money. I’m just hoping that anyone is me. It would really help my family and I out a lot.”

The next day, on the other side of the world in California, Cashmere was viewing the videos that were submitted for the contest.

“You seeing any you liking big dawg?” His assistant asked.

“Not at the moment.” Cashmere told his assistant.

Cashmere came across Mia’s video and loved the way she was singing his song “Love Inside My Heart.”

“Whoa, this might be the one I go with.” Cashmere pointed at his phone as he watched Mia’s video.

“She does sound good.” His assistant mentioned.

“I still got more to choose from, but I’m going to save hers because she sounds the best right now.” Cashmere replied.

The contest was over, and Mia was nervous. She seen that Cashmere had posted a video.

“Alright, my beautiful people. The contest is now over. I will be announcing the winner tomorrow so turn those alerts on because you could be the winner of this huge cash prize. Good luck. Love y’all.”

Mia was so nervous. All the thoughts started running through her mind of whether Cashmere would like her video or not. All she could do was remain positive.

After Cashmere posted his video, he continued to look at Mia’s video. He couldn’t help but love the way she sung his song.

“Yeah this is the one right here. I’m choosing her.” Cashmere confirmed.

The following day came, and Mia was doing some studying when her phone sent a notification. It was a post from Cashmere. When she opened the post, she saw her video.

“Congratulations to the winner of the $20,000 cash prize giveaway. Mia Simmons, this prize is yours. DM me your cash app. Thank you to everyone that participated in this contest. More giveaways coming soon. Congratulations again, Mia.”

Crying with tears of joy, Mia started to yell.

“I won! I won! I won! Omg I won!” Mia yelled.

Joyce ran upstairs to see what was wrong with her daughter.

“Mia, what’s wrong baby?” Joyce asked.

“Mama, I won $20,000! I won! We won, Mama!” Mia screamed.

“Won $20,000!? From where baby?!” Joyce was confused.

“Cashmere was doing a giveaway and I won, Mama!” Mia answered.

“Oh my god.” Joyce stopped in awe.

“Mama, this is what we’ve been waiting for and we got it. We got it Mama!” Mia yelled.

Mia was so happy she won the contest, and she was more at ease knowing that she could help her family more. She then got a notification from her cash app and there was the $20,000 that Cashmere promised. Mia was happy, and she smiled as she DM’d Cashmere a huge thank you for her reward.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.