Motivation logo

The Bath

Deep in memory banks

By Daisy ODayPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Bath
Photo by Max Murauer on Unsplash

I am standing in the middle of a narrow path. The path reminds me of a dusty, country road. I can smell the fresh musty earth. Behind me I see a shining and dark steel building. I feel the cold sterile air on my back. I see the white walls of a room, with it's cold metal. I know intimately the silent corridors of the steel building. I see my reflection in the cold glass. My heart is pounding. A

I sense that to turn around and move back toward the steep building will cause my heart to crack. I will become hard, cold, gray metal. I will be forever frozen in the sterile white room.

I begin walking down the dirt path. I come to a mystical valley bathed in delicate light, surrounded by a forest of firs, so thick that in some places the sun never caresses. A winding stream catches the sparkles of moonbeams. Little falls cascade down a cliff, green with moss. The wind is still. Moonlight filters through the firs and transforms the leaves to gold. The stars dance and twinkle. Nature's heart sounds vibrant. I feel the innocence of Mother Nature, with her magical powers, profound in her purity.

As I gently and quietly push the leaves out of my way, I move softly through the reverent silence. I have no desire to break the stillness. The ground is a carpet of soft, green jewels. I see seats of turqouise and jade to sit down on. I smell the wild, scented flowers before I see them. The air and incense of sage, pine and wild flowers mix deliciously. The surrounding meadow is clustered with bouquetd of heavy berries.

I see an old fashioned, high back bathing tub. The tub is filled with herbs and rose water. I decide to undress and sit in the warm water. The water feels like velvet on my skin.

I cannot find a wash towel. I reach my hand out and search the area down along the side of the tub. My fingers close around a flower. I use the flower to wash with. I wash for a long time. I carefully wash my eyes and chest with the flower. The hurt is the worst in my heart and head.

My world has no man made articles. There are no reminders of where I came from. Windows have been replaced with stars. I have the slow and gentle sway of the wind moving through the forest for music. I listen to the spirit breathe. The total isolation I feel among such purity and silence is a miracle.

I feel the water become still. I feel my body become lighter. I pull the plug at the bottom of the tub to let the dirty water drain. The tub is left sparkling clean. The air around me is clear and smells fresh. I feel warm. I dress and continue through the forest. I know thay dirt, shame and guilt are gone.

I know that my imagination is not make-believe, it's the journey of my unfettered mind. I prefer to find explanations in my imagination rather than seeking some scientific reason. It is what my heart believes, not what my mind believes, that will determine the course of my life. Ultimately, it will be in the experience of the journey that I heal myself, not in it's analysis.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.