Motivation logo

The Basics of Hygge — Finding Happiness

What makes the Danish so cheerful?

By The Unholy CreeperPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Danish are said to be the happiest people in the world. This has been decided by the good people at The Happiness Institute which is based in Denmark—you know, on account of all the happy there is to study there. They put it down to the Danish way of hygge (hoo-ga).

I might have been a bit slow on the uptake of hygge. I read it was actually a bit of a craze in 2016, but I didn't catch on to it or hear of it until late 2017. Better late than never.

I can't quite recall where I first saw it, but it was on the net some place. I loved the thought of it right away and had to get the book, The Little Book of Hygge.

I love this little book. It points out such basic things that we overlook all the time. I know I like candles and cake, hot chocolate and fires, but I don't think about them much and don't often bother with them. I don't put candles high up on my purchase list and normally just drink my tea without really considering it.

Hygge is described as both a feeling and an action. The feeling of being cozy and happy. "I'm getting my hygge on," "come over and hygge with us this evening." It makes you think more about those small things rather than the big stuff. Stop to actually taste your tea, coffee, or hot chocolate, enjoy it. Think about your surroundings, is your home a cluttered mess that just happened around you, or have you built it to be your own happy place?

I highly recommend the book, or at least having a good read up on the net about hygge. I have been adding hygge to my life in bits, and I am planning out some new living room decor this year as well as a big clear-out from all over. The Danish lifestyle tends to be one of minimalism, too; less clutter, less cleaning time, clear home clear mind.

So, what kind of things do I need to do to make my home more hygge? Well, a key factor seems to lighting. The Little Book of Hygge says that if you want to see the closest thing to real life vampires, just put a few Danish people at a dinner party under standard florescent lights to watch them squint and squirm. Lighting is a big deal with specially designed shades going for hundreds being considered essential items. No bright lights, just pools of soft, warm glow.

Along with the staple of candles and an open fire, which I am lucky enough to have, blankets and pillows are high on the list. Comfort and cosiness all around. Elements of nature are a great thing to incorporate too with living plants and having a cat lounging by the fire side is about the cosiest thing you could have.

One thing the Danish say they relate to hygge more than anything is a nice hot drink. Tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. Warm inside and out. So the kettle has to be on the ready with a nice big mug.

Hygge has really helped me with my depression and regular winter blues. I get it every year like clockwork and it drives me crazy. When it gets dark and cold I tend to wish I was a bear so I could just curl up and hide until the sun comes back. I know I'm not alone in this, too. It's not something I would ever have thought would be helpful to combat the blues, but getting in to the hygge way of living somehow makes the cold appealing and the darkness magical. Finding the warmth of a blanket and the soft glow of a flame is delicious.

I think this lovely lady can demonstrate hygge to you much better than I can. A true Danish home in all its hygge glory.

Goals.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

The Unholy Creeper

I have so many interests I'm not quite sure where to start. Mostly horror but expect a mixed bag from me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.