Motivation logo

The Art of Joy

Creating something unique

By Mycheille NorvellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I stared at the image on Pinterest with the tree cutout on canvas. It was painted black with just a hint of pink scattered on the edges of the frame. I’d been painting for two years, but it was always just for me, nothing professional level, not like this sort of project. It was beautiful, but was it above my abilities?

The doubting voice in my head came to me the way it always did before I started a new project, telling me it wouldn’t look like the original picture, that I wasn’t good enough. That critic had convinced me not to paint for years… all because of my 9th grade art teacher that publicly degraded one of my drawings in front of the class. I’d been so proud of that drawing, but she took that picture and laughed at me, and then got the whole class to laugh about it too. From that moment, I’d believed wholeheartedly that I was not meant to do any form of art outside of writing. If I couldn’t be perfect, I didn’t need to try it…

Fast-forward 10 years, to the year of hell—when my husband left me, when I got the divorce, when I became a single mom, when I moved to the coast alone — I felt so empty, and creativity seemed to be the only outlet that brought light back into my world that had been painted in gray. When I saw a pricey but simple inspirational painting at a trendy coastal shop, I decided to start creating my own encouraging or inspirational art so I didn't have to spend $40. I could do that. I told myself. And so, I did.

Over the next two years, I transformed my paintings from just one paint color on canvas with inspirational quotes, to pieces based on photos of nature and of people. I didn’t even start sharing my pieces with anyone for over a year after starting, because I genuinely didn’t think anyone would want to see them. They were just meant for me, meant to be an outlet for my creativity while my writing bug was stifled.

Fast-forward again to that moment with the cutout painting. I grabbed my 8x12 canvas, having already sketched out my tree design, and then I ran my scissors over the intricate lines. It took longer than I expected, to the point I even considered stopping and giving up… but it was looking so cool that I decided to keep going. Most of my paintings take only a couple of hours to paint and then dry. This one, once it was all done, took me almost a full day, but it stirred something in me that had been long hidden. It may have been the longest piece I’d worked on, but I loved it so much… so I did another, and then another. I even created one that acted like a shadowbox, with a little movable tree-swing. I only made three, but I hope to make more again one of these days.

When I went to move to another state, I realized I’d created too many paintings, and couldn’t take them all with me without ruining them. I didn’t figure anyone would want my paintings, still believing they weren’t really anything special to anyone else, so I went to Facebook to sell them for canvas price only. I sold 15 paintings in two days… and everyone overpaid, telling me that I was underselling myself. Every person told me how they planned on displaying their new paintings in a prominent position in their homes. I was stunned… I hadn’t considered myself an artist, even though I personally loved displaying my art. I thought it was pretty, I just didn’t expect anyone else to think so.

Now, hanging by my bedside table sits my little tree cutout with the pink cherry blossoms. I sold the others like it, but I couldn’t part with that first one… it was special, different. Even though it is likely the least perfect of all that I made, it is easily my favorite of the cut-out paintings. I love painting, and even though that annoying perfectionist in me still pokes me, reminding me that I’ll never make those paintings as perfect as I wish I could, they’re still mine. I can only paint when I’m expressing joy, or if I need an outpouring of joy… and now my daughter has learned to express joy through art as well, showing a remarkable talent and passion for art in its many forms. I can't wait to see what we create next!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Mycheille Norvell

Mycheille has a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Creative Writing for Entertainment, as well as a Master of Science degree in Instructional Design & Technology, from Full Sail University. She has been writing since she was a child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.