Motivation logo

Thankful thoughts

Everything I'm thankful for

By Eliza CrawfordPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Thankful thoughts
Photo by Kiy Turk on Unsplash

As the year begins to wind down and the time rolls around where it is time for everyone to recall what they're thankful for, I thought I'd share with you everything that I am thankful for as well. Though there are many things that I have to be thankful for at this point in my life I'll only tell you the top three. Welcome to my thankful thoughts.

Ok this year hasn't been what any of us expected right? Everything from police brutality to one of the most deadliest viruses this nation has seen in a long time. So let me start by saying I'm thankful to be alive right now. So many innocent lives have been taken, so many family members left to grieve over those losses, but I'm waking up every morning and taking another breath. That is something that I am truthfully grateful for. Being able to get up and leave my bed every morning while others are stuck on ventilators and hospital beds is something that I am continuously thankful for.

Another thing that I consider a big blessing is having a roof over my head and clothes on my back. No less than three months ago, my family and I were homeless. We had no place to go, no family to turn to, and little to no clothes. To be able to lay down in my own bed at night inside my own house is the most amazing thing to me. There were nights where I thought that I would get my high school diploma before we got a house. By the grace of God, we got into a house that we can afford each month and that is suitable for all of us. I am really thankful to get up every day and not wonder where my next meal will come from, where I will lay my head or if I'll have clean clothes for school. I know many people can't claim the same blessing as me so being able to say that I have everything that I do sends me into eternal bliss.

The last thing that I am going to tell you about is Vocal. Now I know a lot of people probably wonder why I have any reason at all to be thankful for this site. I don't make a big profit off of it, I don't get many views, but it's not about that. The creators of Vocal created a platform for aspiring writers to express their creativity. Thanks to them, I no longer have to write all the things that I come up with inside my phone notes. I now have a place where, even if its just two or three people, I can share my ideas with everyone else. This year my family wont get to have Thanksgiving together because my sister and dad are in the hospital with the Coronavirus, so we wont really get the opportunity to tell each other what we're thankful for. So I want to say thank you to the creators for making this challenge, for giving me a chance to tell someone what I'm thankful for this Thanksgiving. Reading everyone else's stories in this challenge I can honestly say that it was great to know exactly what everyone else considers their blessings this year and in a way it helped me carry out my family tradition. So thank you Vocal for this challenge and your website as a whole. I am truly thankful for it.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.