Motivation logo

Thankful Thoughts

Just keep swimming

By Jess AverbeckPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This pandemic has, amongst the darkness provided a light; a break; a pause in the chaos. It has given us all a moment in time to think. How often do we really just stop to think? I have come to the conclusion that it is not as often as we would like to believe.

It is so easy to splash about in a murky and negative puddle for a few days, contemplating all the who’s, why’s and what if’s. And you know what, that is completely OK. Because that is a part of the journey, the experience, and life.

But in a time when the puddle feels more like a lake, or even an ocean; an ocean so deep that you’re continuously treading water with nowhere to go but in circles of saltiness, like now, it is easy to forget. It is easy to forget to be thankful for the muscles in your legs and arms that are keeping you afloat; for the durable skin that even when weathered envelopes all your organs, and bones, and blood. You ironically forget to be thankful for the brain that works tirelessly to keep you focused, that makes you an individual and ultimately keeps you alive and swimming.

We have the capacity to learn, to change, to adapt, and the ability to communicate, to create, to feel, to understand, and to live. It is because of my brain-of our brains-that I know there is still a future beyond this pandemic. One full of adventure. We have seen through history that after each war, each disease, invasions, cultural and industrial expansions, we’ve grown as a species and created a new human world within the natural one. And each time it is different, built upon the foundations of the last. It is like the Japanese bowl; when broken the cracks are filled with gold to provide a new and unique bowl, displaying its history. I cannot say that we have improved necessarily but we have certainly invented and adapted and made alterations. And we will continue to do so. Change is inevitable and we cannot predict with accuracy what will happen. We can only start by solving the riddles in front of us-one swim stroke at a time.

If there is something we cannot do then we learn, read, and educate ourselves about it. And if still, we struggle, let it go and try another something. Use this wonderful and magical mind to cultivate the world around you. For every decision, there is a consequence. We as individuals conclude as to whether or not it is bad or good. But either way, we have not failed at one thing or another, we have merely learned from the experience. The key is to use today's strength today. Learn to see and love what is here and undertsand and accept what isn't.

I am learning now about myself and the choices I have made. I am taking the time to look back in order to move forward. Each day I make sure I do one thing that involves using my brain, whether it be playing the piano, reading a chapter of a book- one non-fiction and one fiction. I learn 10 words in another language or 10 words that I didn’t know in my own language. I listen to music and go for a walk, whatever the weather. I talk to a friend if I can and if not then I write all I want to say in a book. I paint when I can. If I feel sad, I sit with it and if I’m happy, I move with it. I can only do these things with the time this pandemic has given me. And with the brain that allows me to live each day. It helps me to believe that anything is possible and the more I learn, create, and understand, the brighter my life will be. I know I can trust the next chapter of my life because I know the author-me.

I am thankful for time; time that allowed my parents to meet and consequently that same time that allowed my brain to develop so that I can achieve all that I do each day, even if that day feels like treading water. I am thankful for the time in history that has developed and cultivated all that we know today. I am thankful for the arts, to allow for an escape and the imagination to flourish, for maths, for science for geography, and any topic that enables me to explore the world in which we are so lucky to live. I am grateful for time that allows me to feel, heal, and heartbreak because I know then, that I am alive.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Jess Averbeck

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.