Motivation logo

Thankful

Thankful Thoughts

By Deborah PortilloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Junior Moran on Unsplash

During these times of pandemic stress and fear, there is so much to be thankful for. As a mix raced Latina, one of the most common medical issues the Latino race is so kindly bestowed, has now been handed down to me. On top of that, a medical issue that shows no providing evidence and most doctors believe as a hoax, has also generated. Generated by giving me a life with chronic pain, IBS, anxiety, and depression. Therefore, leaving doctors to say it’s a mental disorder, while others say it is a central nervous issue. A medical issue with no evidence of where it begins, only leaving an invisible force of pain with the fear to be active due to the consequences of tomorrow. These medical conditions leave me thankful for every breathe I am granted to take. Thankful for every beat in which the valves can pump blood to and through the heart, even with its murmur.

I am thankful for every new morning, I am awakened by a whimpering dog to go outside, or a meowing cat that wants to be let into the room. Thankful for the dog, that lies on her back for a simple rub of her tummy, as I let the other outside. The simple gesture from Sir William the turtle, swimming across his tank, in need of my attention. Thankful for the moments when all six fury pets just want to lay their heads on my lab, or just lie near me when I am tired or not feeling well.

I am thankful for the extra days I am granted to spend or talk to family members suffering from cancer or other medical conditions. Thankful for the family members that are truly loyal. I am thankful for the great strengths that my husband holds as he faces every day to stay clean and sober. I am even thankful for his beastly farts, that create never forgotten memories. Thankful for the strong-minded children. Thankful for their stubbornness that has always kept me on my feet. Thankful for all the women that have come into my life during the most difficult times of my life; not knowing they were respected as a long-lost mother. Thankful for the brief years I was able to know my father. I am thankful for the friends that have become like family, for it wasn’t for them, I’d be a lonely soul. Thankful for the minimum number of friends that remain loyal, and thankful for those who once were.

Thankful for past loves that have taught me either how to live, or how to avoid others like themselves. Thankful to have a job. Thankful to have a home I own. Thankful for the food and clothing that provides warmth to my chilling bones. Thankful for the many blessings that the universe has provided over the years, rather it was during the worst times or for personal gain. Thankful for Taco Tuesday’s, only wish more restaurants had Tuesday deals.

I am thankful for the memories I have as a child, even the scary ones. Thankful for the big Texas sky, where the stars undoubtedly shine bright and will never leave my mind. I am thankful for Love, the love of all things. All things from rotten lovers to long gone pets. I am thankful for the flowers that grow so beautiful and fragrant. I just wish the gofer wouldn’t damage or claim them. I guess in all honestly, I have to say that I am most thankful for the life I was granted. Thankful for being born, even during those worst of times when I asked myself, “why me?”

healing
1

About the Creator

Deborah Portillo

I’m just an amateur writer, expressing my hopes, dreams, and nightmares for all to read. A lot of my short stories come from nightmares, while my poems are expressed from hopes, dreams, and feelings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.