Motivation logo

Teacher of teachers!

A memoir about a mentor with respect, and his realistic teachings.

By Jawahar GovindanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Google images

When I came to your place for the first time, yeah, It was a nice sunny day. Then it was a new experience in a new place.

There was an orientation for a course that you were having the next day.

It was not one more course or one more teacher but it was life-changing and transformational leading to freedom.

The appearance

Your appearance was majestic even though older age and your voice were like that of a lion in a high pitch.

The message

Your message during the initial stages of the course was clear. You told, “ I learned from a great teacher and I was invited to foreign countries also” The teacher hails from South India.

The course content

Your morning sessions involved visualization with a new experience. I was able to understand them very little. The other parts of your free course were interesting. The Sanskrit language was also challenging.

The skills of teaching

Your clear expositions of the topics help a student to enrich not only the knowledge but also the skills of teaching like you.

Teacher of teachers

You are called “ The teacher of teachers” because you differed from other teachers’ teachings. When other teachers were having differences in their teaching you pointed out their teaching loopholes from the context of the authentic texts.

Hence, thinkers, qualified students, scholars, and your enlightened disciples call you as “teacher of teachers”.

The method of realism.

It is not a title but a reality. It is the truth because you interpreted and you taught based on the authentic texts, based on the nature of human beings and the world. You called it “Whole” and you taught “ You are the whole”

In fact, realism is not a method at all. People teach outside of realism then it becomes like fiction. It becomes something to believe leading to disappointment, wrong notions, and even psychological complications.

The criticism method

When you criticized other patterns about differences with the authentic texts, pointing out with evidence, it was difficult to understand for the followers of other teachers but still, it was the truth. . It was the correct method because you were teaching realism based on the exposition of the authentic texts for thousands of years.

The new experience

As a student with limitations, when I listened to your teaching, I was surprised and to a certain extent confused because you differed from the teachers who I was following then.

My interaction with other students

I communicated my surprise, my interpretation of your teaching to other students in the same course then. A number of them were a little bothered. Someone agreed with them that it was different a type of teaching than what they heard before.

My student introduction

Every student was asked to introduce themselves in front of the classroom using a microphone and speaker. Each student introduced themselves. Each one had to tell their own path leading to your course.

Someone was very knowledgeable, someone was new to the course, someone was young, someone was old, someone had seen great masters of the past and someone was very familiar with this type of course.

My critical attitude

I was nervous to introduce myself but somehow I mustered the courage to introduce and I started to talk in a loud pitch. I praised the method of my inspirers in the past that I followed. which lead me to the course. Some of them became controversial to a certain extent. When the course organizer who was a teacher himself asked about it, I admitted to my blunder of talking in a critical way.

Your answer

Your answer to my self-introduction and indirect criticism was very clear and long. You agreed with the existence of other forms of teaching. You told that you were not criticizing anyone in particular. You emphasized that you were talking only about subjects and not the teachers. You also criticized me and advised me not to be arrogant.

The truth

The words that are ringing in my ears even today. “ If you say Einstein is great, you should be a scientist, if you say your teachers are great then you should also be great:”

“Don't bring other teachers into this course because this is a course on realism talking about oneness”

The blessings

The three-month course passed quickly. You blessed all and handed over the certificates. You blessed me also. It was great even though I was having a negative attitude towards you then.

The long years

Subsequent to the course, It took me many years to understand your teaching not because they were not clear but because of the confusing and complicated teachings of other teachers that differed from the authentic texts.

The clarity

Due to regular study in your realistic pattern of teaching based on the authentic texts, I got clarity a few years back. I feel how blessed I am because of the clarity and the conviction your teaching had"

I remind myself of one of your important teaching

"Clarity leads to conviction" It is absolutely true.

Support by pledging, donating and sharing.

success
Like

About the Creator

Jawahar Govindan

Namaste. I am a stressfree living and spiritual coach 50+ years old and am still young at heart. I have done Post grad diploma in yoga. Certified in Vedanta I live in South India. Donations are appreciated always while reading my stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.