Motivation logo

Tailor Made for You...

Don't give up! You were made for this.

By Andrianne AdamsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
© Copyright (2019) by Andrianne Nicole) – All rights reserved. It is not legal to reproduce, duplicate, or transmit any part of this document in either electronic means or printed format. Recording of this publication is strictly prohibited.

Growing up, my vision of what my adult life would look like was similar to that of most young girls. I wanted the large house with a wrap around porch, a farm sink overlooking the back yard and deck, a white picket fence, 2.5 children, a husband that adored me, a successful career, and a propelling, quickening, and stimulating church to be apart of. I'd worked out in my head just how my future husband would propose and that our first dance, after our 6 month engagement, would be to the prophetic words of Jesse Powell's "You". You see, Jesse was prophetic because he had made an entire song about the way my man would love me. My granddaddy would walk me up the aisle and give me away. My mother, sister, and other family members would sit in the front row in tears, simply awestruck by my beauty and my custom made dress. Our daughter would be a scholar, have no attitude with her parents, be active in the church, and practically run the family business after school. Our son would love his mother and father and protect his sister if we weren't in place. He'd take over the family business that my husband and I would start early on and end up marrying at the age of 25, the same girl he met in 10th grade. Our children would eventually move into the houses built alongside the family house they grew up in. We'd all live peacefully and happily. Life would be grand.

Well, reality set it...

How many of you have envisioned what your life would look like and it turned out exactly as you'd planned? That's great! How many of you, like me, have a different story? You thought out how your life would be and just as soon as "life" began, it took you somewhere totally different? Well look... That's what Tailor Made is all about. There's a passage of scripture in Proverbs 16:9 that speaks to the reason behind this reading. The great thing about all this is even when the direction that we have purposed for our lives seems to diminish, you've been equipped to deal with the struggles, the heartaches, the issues, the let downs, the craziness of it all. It's no one else's journey, but yours. Whatever direction your life has turned, my goal is to show you how I've been able to allow life to just happen, and come to terms with the fact that we've been equipped to handle whatever life throws your way. No matter the problem, no matter what you're facing, know that it was Tailor Made, just for you and you were Tailor Made, just for it.

Don't get me wrong, this is just MY way of dealing with life and MY understanding of things that have happened in my life. Remember that white picket fence? Well, that has turned into about 9 houses in 11 years, the first few years of my marriage being miserable, a hysterectomy after my first child, and the list goes on and on.

My daughter is one of the most beautiful and intelligent young women I know. The challenges she's faced however have been insurmountable. You see, she was diagnosed with schizoaffective disorder, bipolar disorder, anxiety, and depression. Upon finding out her diagnosis, I looked for many articles and self help books on how to help her. How I could quiet the voices or minimize her hallucinations. That apparently wasn't a thing. No matter what spiritual or practical approaches I took to help her, I soon came to the realization that I was indeed helpless. I was helpless and I was hopeless. I wasn't able to protect her from what I couldn't hear or see. We couldn't shield our daughter from the things we had no idea were even there. Our daughter was suffering in silence and there was nothing we could do. This is a journey that continues but I have yet to see anyone handle with such strength. No book, no journal, no article, no advice could prep us for what we've endured as a family in this particular area of our lives.

This is indeed a Tailor Made journey.

healing
2

About the Creator

Andrianne Adams

I'm a wife of 1, OFFICIAL mother of 3, Unofficial mom to many, lover of all people, "liker" of a few, an author, mentor. I love food. I love fun. I love fellowship. I love God & my family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.