Motivation logo

Sup-prose-d to Write it Right

Just the tip . . . of the iceberg

By Bobi LarsonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

What does it mean to "be fulfilled"? It is defined in the Oxford Dictionary as: satisfied or happy because of fully developing one's abilities or character. By that definition it would seem I am not completely fulfilled, as my hunger for knowledge and understanding of nearly any given topic is insatiable and seems there is always more to learn.

Edgar Allen Poe, Maya Angelou, Mark Twain, Virginia Woolf, Sylvia Plath, Jane Austen, Agatha Christie and Stephen King to name a few of the poignant authors that have shaped and changed literature throughout time. One of my favorites is Anne Rice who incidentally was born with the given name of Howard Allen Frances O'Brien. Her descriptive writing within The Vampire Chronicles made me fall in love with the romanticism and horror of New Orleans. The dilapidated buildings, the sweet spicy smell of Confederate Jasmine, the stench of decay and especially the magic and mysticism of this ancient city.

Reading has always been my escape mechanism. Having a vivid imagination, I am often transported to a new and strange world within the pages of whatever novel I have picked up. The shift into this digital age of the Kindle, coupled with the constant stimulation of iPads and games on phones, (although a logical progression in many ways) has broken my literary heart. There has been a lack of boredom within society, and as a result so many will never reach for that book and understand the adventures that ride in the air throughout the stacks upon stacks of books in a library, nor the excitement and anticipation of turning the page to discover what happens next.

Lightly musty smell of a library where centuries of knowledge and information are hidden in plain sight.

My passion is painting a picture with the written word. I find fulfillment and satisfaction in being the Puppet Master; able to pull the strings and bring a smile to someone's face; the desire to purchase the latest and greatest product; an inspirational message; maybe a story that ignites desire and passion or the mouthwatering description of my favorite chicken enchilada recipe. The possibilities and ripple effects I am able to create are only confined by my own set parameters.

The power behind the written word is phenomenal. On one hand, I can watch a movie and with the visual aid of a scene; the scrunching of a nose, a tear on an actors' face and background music to set the tone, I too will be moved to tears or at least the stir of emotion. On the other hand, by using only the medium of writing there are few that are capable of transporting the reader into the moment of joy, fear/anger, disgust or sadness (to name a few). This is a skill that is ever evolving and will always prove to be that perfect challenge for any author. Inevitably there will be hits as well as some misses, as an aspiring author I hope to "sink" that proverbial "battleship" as frequently as possible!

Generating emotional investment within writing can prove to be quite the challenge, but absolutely can be cultivated and developed with practice. I find my most favorite form of study and research is none other than extensive amounts of reading! Noticing which author's and books not only pull me into their story but take a firm hold of my imagination. Nothing is off limits; I absolutely love reading anything that is well written.

As a freshman in college, I could be found, between classes, in the library reading an assortment of food magazines. Not just the random articles about the chef that was featured that month, but the actual recipes. I would sit and read the ingredients list, followed by each step on how to create whatever mouthwatering melody they've presented. Often I would pause, close my eyes and envision each of those steps unfolding. Inhaling deeply the imagined heavenly aroma's that would waft from the canvas of my kitchen.

Dream it, visualize it, do it. . .

As the age of Social Media surges forward I decided to succumb to the ever-popular, ever-growing realm of Blogging. There are a lot of options out there for "quick starts" and "cliff-notes" of sorts to get you started. "It's really quite easy!" They say. Yes, to a large degree it is quite basic to get rolling, but for me I found there were so many intricacies I did not take into consideration that have made this more challenging that I felt it would be. I have the joy and pride of being a divorced mother of three, this means I have to be sure I have a steady income already to pay the bills, and then I get to make time for my passion and hobbies. This has proven to be a bit difficult.

But I refuse to give up and tap out! Over the last few years, it has nearly brought me to tears as I witness communities and countries that unite and support one another. When tragedy strikes such as when The Twin Towers fell, the outpouring of solidarity and unity stung my eyes and warmed my soul. It is the power of many coming together for that singular cause, that can create shift in the world. This is where the community comes in, it's all about the support.

So, how do we as artists support one another? We take a moment to experience their talent; read it, appreciate it, share it with others. Uplift and give accolade to a job well done, and even sometimes just getting the job done is a big deal. In many sources I have found it indicated in order to get better at writing you have to WRITE EVERYDAY! I am still working on this rule, but I am improving all the time. I have found enjoyment in reading the works of others and hope that others find joy in reading my works as well.

A helping hand will go long way.

My new and developing Blog: Keep It Savage Sister (K.I.S.S) is out there for all to explore; growing in content and growing in readers. This is a Lifestyle Blog that will address several different areas of life; the challenges; the victories; and especially the WTF's of dating, life and being a human being in this 21st century.

As always; Keep It Savage Sister!

Love who you are, be who you love to be.

goals
1

About the Creator

Bobi Larson

40-Something author with a passion for description and creativity. I have worn multiple hats through the years but always come back to writing. I have always enjoyed eliciting different emotions through the written word.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.