Motivation logo

Striving

Striving

By katelin goldstrajPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
Like

Having a pair of eyes and a mind of my own. Having a functioning & healthy body, 2 arms and 2 working legs that allow me to do oh so much. 🧚‍♂️💃 Being more than capable of creating the beautiful world I want for myself each day. Living, is what keeps me moving. Everyday that I wake up is a blessing, as cliché as that sounds it's true. I tell my google mini to play Positive healing music on spotify, as it sets a beautiful tone for my morning, I then make my bed, wash my face, and write in my manifestations/visualizations/dream book. I write 3 things I am grateful for, it helps me remain humble and it reminds me of the gratituiy I have for even the littlest things. I then write down where I envision myself in the future. I write in present tense as if I am already there,(perhaps Ireland) I close my eyes, imagine and feel that I'm there... and it is so blissful. The law of attraction and manifestation is something I whole-heartedly believe in. Whenever I have crazy, intense or inspiring dreams I also write that down. Watching my family working hard & smart daily for their dreams is what inspires me. Maintaining a good relationship with my family whilst recieving their constant support has been so impactful, because after all, who you spend your time with most is who rubs off on you most. Getting to know myself better and becoming a better person each and everyday, looking back and reflecting and journaling on past experiences and emotions has really gotten me to understand myself better. I've realized that the only person you shoulf be comparing yourself to is the one you were yesterday, or even a year ago. Having so much time to myself during this quarintine has definitely had it's pros + cons (as most things).. I've found myself feeling more anxious than ever, feeling more lonely than ever, and in so much fear than ever with everything going on in the world amongst other personal things. Yet I decided to pull myself through and make the best out of what feels like long and dreary days. After all it's all about your mindset and outlook on life... it really is. 👁👄👁It's about the way you choose to interpret and react to life. I began all the projects and courses I never made time for, or never had time for. I found my true love❤️, my passion... which is music producing. And haven't felt this fulfilled like this in quite some time... the mini music studio I'm creating in my room is still in progress, and is about 75% done. I finished a photography course and bought a camera + gear, something I'd been wanting to do since I was about 8, and I began a videography course on Udemy, if you've never heard of it you should check it out, they have a variety of online courses for great pricing! I cleaned out my entire closet and just began planning designs for clothing of mine I'm going to flip and re sale on DePop and other sites such as poshmark, etsy, etc. I'm eventually going to create my own clothing business by simply reusing clothes I already have or thrifted and touching them up. I began to read more and watch more videos to further my education on various topics such as the environment, politics, physical + mental health, as well as products I've been using on my skin and hair!! (Everyone should definitely check out the Think Dirty APP) if you haven't already, for it has the list of ingredients in the beauty/skin care products you use or want to buy. It lists what harmful ingredients it may contain, etc. You would be veru surpised in what you find that you're using on your own hair or skin. I began watching more documentaries and high rated movies, for there is usually some sort of teaching in most of them, and knowledge is power. 90% of the time after watching a good movie or documentary there is always a lesson gained from it, something valuable that you can apply to the way you live life or to the way you look at life. For example, I recently finished 13 Reasons Why and although it was probably the most depressing series I've ever watched, I truly learned so much from it. One of my favorite lessons taught from it was in Clay's graduation speech when he basically says that no matter how low or depressed you're feeling to just remember to "keep moving", and to "choose to live...cuz even on the worst days there are people who love you, and there's new music out there for you, things that will blow your mind" and that entire speech really hit me hard, because it's true. These are words that haven't left my mind since. We often get so caught up in how we are feeling in the moment we forget that there's so much out there for us, there are people in our lives who love us truly and would do anything for us. There are so many things in life we have not yet seen or experienced that are meant for us to discover, see, and feel...and there are so many people out there who are meant to be in our lives and are meant for us.

Hiking. Oh my goodness it is such a beautiful and refreshing thing. It's like good for the mind, body and soul lol. Always seeking different hiking spots for an adventure with either myself, or a friend. You'd be suprised by the beautiful hikes you may live near, or you may come across that are truly something else. I'm not really one for cardio, but hiking has always made me feel better & rejuvenated overall. I've also decided to do some MMA with my father. He's an Martial Arts instructor and he's been doing since adolesence. He teaches his students in our garage, and with the weight I've gained this quarintine, you best believe I got right back into it. Martial Arts is also AMAZING for the mind, body, and soul...and I'm so grateful he trains me. It not only works your body out, but in this day and age it is so important to be able to physically defend yourself, especially as a woman. So martial arts it's like the best of both worlds- you get fit and learn self-defense. Unfortunately the swiming pool in our complex is closed due to COVID otherwise my mermaid tail would have grown back in already. #aquamarinestatus. The main source for releasing endorphins would have to be dancing. I am not good at it, like at all... like I'm pretty freaking bad but gosh it is so fun. I've been blasting The Weeknd's new album After Hours, breaking a sweat in my bedroom..busting out dance moves such as the worm and what not. It's really something else. I keep myself not only active in that way but also entertained. I'll literally dance for like 40 minutes straight and then do some sit ups and squats in my tiny lil room for some muscle strength. I get bruises often from hitting something in my room because it's so tiny lol..but you gotta do whatcha gotta do ju know? And lastly, meditation, I can't stress this enough, but meditating for even just 15 minutes, even once a week makes a difference. It makes me feel lighter, it's a slight cleanse from negative and or heavy emotions that I sometimes don't realize I'm carrying, whether it comes from other people's energy, or feelings & energy of my own. So I highly reccommend that to everybody. :)

At times I find myself wanting to accomplish too much in one day. After all I am a Gemini heh.. I kind of struggled with anxiety from overwhelming myself and for some time I was oblivious to the cause of it. I realized I needed to prioritize & organize certain projects and goals, but most importantly my prioritize mental health first... And for that I began to create a daily schedule, to not overwork myself, yet to feel satisfied with my accomplishments from the day. I began to use my calender book but actually be consistent with writing in it. I set alarms with notes to remind myself of any phone calls to make or little things I needed to get done at specific times of the day, it really helps! I also set timers on my phone, timers to take a break from whatever it is I'm working on... I stretch, get fresh air, and grab a drink, these breaks are only like 5-10 minutes but my goodness do they do wonders lol. You don't realize how hyperfixated you may get on something and how it can actually sabotage your creative flow. (this isn't the case always) Sometimes I'm so immersed on a project and my creative juices are flowing non-stop, yet when that is not the case, then these breaks are almost essential to the flow of creativity. 👌🏻 With my room being super tiny and wanting to build a music studio & photography backgrop area, I've been finding ways to compact and organize things as much as I can. Getting rid of things that I no longer need or have a connection with, not only maximizes the space but simply feels good to refresh and clean out. Out with the old and in with the new (energy-wise) as well. I either donate things to Goodwill, or sell them. As for clothes that are no longer in good enough condition for either, I donate them to H&M, for they recycle old/stained or worn out material and in return you get a 15% coupon for your next purchase. Often times when I'm making music I have to go into my little walk in closet and record in there because my room isn't built to be recorded in, it's not very soundproof essentially lol. The walls are thin and it's rare when my home is empty. So I bring all my equipment, take out some stuff in my closet temporarily; for a few hours, and isolate myself in there to record, it's not the comfiest but it works and sounds much more professional haha! I've been blessed with not many obstacles thrown my way, I am in good health physically and mentally, and have the advantage and privelege of having my own room to do my creative work and for that I am so thankful. And I'm also thankful for whoever is reading this. :) XO, Katelin Goldstraj.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

katelin goldstraj

hi there! i’m a music producer and an aspiring videographer/ photographer. love all things creative. 🤍 gemini / 21 / argentinian & american 🦋 #blm my ig is @katelingoldstraj 🦋

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.