Motivation logo

Strider Stories

Motivation from the Members of the Amherst Striders Running Club

By Shelley CarrollPublished 3 years ago 42 min read
9
Strider Stories
Photo by Fitsum Admasu on Unsplash

The Start Line

This began as a little project to satisfy my curiosity. I wanted to know two things:

1. What makes people want to run?

2. What do they learn about themselves in the process?

My initial query to my running club members asked if anyone was interested in taking part in "my little writing project about running". It was followed up with a brief but very open-ended questionnaire. There was no multiple choice; no yes/no answers; no set formula. What would be required was some reflection.

Within a short period of time, I received 24 personal, inspirational, touching stories. Although common threads could be found, the responses proved as unique and as diverse as the individuals themselves.

To sum it up with the words of one participant, "there are some strong motherf*ckers out there".

I laughed and cried as I gathered and edited these stories. Although I had the honour to tie them all together, 24 different people wrote and shared their own tales - and deserve not only credit for doing so, but also recognition and respect for their honesty and forthrightness.

I can’t anticipate what your reaction might be as you read the finished product, but I hope at the very least you find some commonalities with your own experience as a runner and as a human being… and a heaping helping of inspiration as well.

How old were you when you started running?

Although the majority of respondents were in their 30s when they found their love of running, the range of beginner ages spanned from 5 to 58 - which just goes to show that you’re never too old to learn something new.

From the cops, 14. As a runner, 48.”

- Bob S., 49

I was in my mid 40s when I started to run - on a challenge from my brother - started by wearing cotton shirts and used sneakers - run/walk by myself around Curry Park - then branched out to the roads - running 1 km and walking - eventually running 5 K without stopping. I eventually could run out to the tourist bureau gaining confidence to run in Fredericton in the 10K in May 2006 - had tears flowing as I crossed the finish line - such a thrill - get goose bumps thinking about that first run!

- Ken M., 58

I ran for a while when I was a teenager. Nothing serious and not for long as I had no idea what I was doing. I thought that because I couldn't run for more than a minute at a time that I was a failure at it. Little did I know how stamina works with running. I ran for a few months again to lose major weight when I was 25ish and same thing happened. I started again in April 2015 and this time did some 'research' and now here I am, still running, loving it and not planning on quitting anytime soon!

- Angela M., 38

I was 11 when I started running. Ran until I was 19 or so and then pretty much stopped altogether for a LONG time. Started again when I was 36 - I call this stage Paul 2.0.

- Paul M., 40

I started running when I was just 20 and new in the Army. When they said run, you did. And when they said stop, you stopped!

- Alan T., 56

Originally, 10 years old - when I ran for my elementary school cross country team. I gave up after high school and didn’t pick it back up again until I was 29; I’d become a fair weather runner until I met the Striders in February 2013.

- Victoria V., 39

I started running at age 5, 50 meters dash in elementary; continued to run 100, 200 and ‘my’ race - 400 meters through high school. I’ve continued with long distance running from then through to now.

- Molly M., 37

I’ve played soccer and run to be a better player on and off since I was 13, but only started running for enjoyment in my mid-twenties.

- Jessica P., 32

I think I’ve been running for about 5 years now, so 49. I know… a late bloomer.

- Ronnie B., 54

I started running ‘sporadically’ when I was in my 30’s. At the time, I was active as a fitness instructor at the Cumberland YMCA, but enjoyed a little run on the side.”

- Bonnie W., 61

What motivated you to start running?

The motivation to start anything new is deeply personal, to which each of our contributors can attest. As our writers expressed, the motivation to get started was often soon followed by a sense of connection, of accomplishment. Although personal health, a short-term goal or a willingness to take on a challenge may have been the initial catalysts in many cases, the commitment to “sticking with it” runs much deeper. Once they knew what they were capable of, for many, there was simply no stopping them.

My Dad. He was a runner and, being a daddy’s girl, I sought a means of approval from him when he was around (which at the time was seldom as he was still on active duty in the Navy).

- Victoria V., 39

I was living in Japan and had put on some weight around the middle. After a trip to Thailand and some unflattering pictures I figured I had better do something.

- Anthony F., 42

My husband and I has started running and wanted to maintain or improve our health. We couldn’t afford gym memberships at the time, so running was a way to do that. We now run to maintain our physical and mental health and to set a good example for our two girls.

- Alyson F., 42

When I saw people running it intrigued me (well, at first I was jealous they could run) and thought I would like to give that a try - however, I ‘thought’ I was ‘too old’. Then last spring [my boss] put up a poster at work with regard to the Couch to 5k program: There was my chance. I signed up immediately [for] the most difficult, yet rewarding 9 weeks of my life. I was the slowest in the group… however, every Tuesday and Thursday (and Sunday, solo) I’d show up, either lathered in Ben Gay, sporting new compression socks or K-taped from the waist down. I would go home, and RICE nightly. I laughed, cried, cursed a blue streak, quit every second day and yet I persevered…My coach Alyson would run alongside me during our after work training sessions and push me along, yakking the entire time. I wanted to scream, ‘stop! I can’t answer you, I can’t f’ing breathe.’ Then one afternoon she had me going a good jaunt and [when] I breathlessly asked her how far, she replied ‘a little over 1k’. I stopped in my tracks and screamed at her ‘F$*& Off!’ (Keep in my mind that she is my boss). She laughed and said ‘you did it; you did your first 1k’. On the final week of the program… I was determined to hit the 5k mark one way or another...[and on the second to last day], in 58 minutes ,I achieved the 5k mark. On the final day we were rewarded with our 1st 5k medal and Amherst Striders hats and T’s. I still wear those items with great pride today. They motivate me to keep going and I never feel alone when I wear them on a solo run… I have done about 7 races since and love/hate every minute of it. My New Year’s Resolution is to run a 5k in 30-35 minutes and then move up to 10k.

- Linda C., 52

My overall health.

- Kim F., 46

I’ve always known the importance of healthy eating and exercise. My eating and strength training was pretty routine but my cardio was basically nonexistent. Committing to run in the Valentine Run in 2015 gave me the incentive to start doing some cardio. It was also an opportunity to support a great community organization.

- Bob S., 49

I wanted to try something new and it was something I was able to do.

- Marilyn N., 15

I feel I ‘became’ a runner in 1998. My father passed away that April and our daughter had major back surgery that July (she was 11 years old). These two events were of course very stressful and I used to go for a run early in the morning (before work) to clear my head for the day. I ran at the Rotary track because I was too ‘shy’ to be seen running on the streets. My husband and I eventually ran many of the Run for the Cure events. These were 5k and we were satisfied with this accomplishment. But when I was 55 (and had been running short runs for over 10 years) I set a goal of doing my first long distance. I ran the 1/2 Marathon at the Johnny Miles Run. I was euphoric!! I knew that day that I would run a Full Marathon some day....

Fast forward to May 2015...60 years old, and I did it! I ran my first full Marathon in Fredericton.....other than having my children, NOTHING has brought me more pride or joy!:) I know I achieved this accomplishment because of joining the Amherst Strider Running Club. It's hard to explain our running group and why it is so dear to my heart. I'm one of the oldest members but have always been treated with respect… and feel a part of this group. The fact that I am older makes me love the enthusiasm of the younger folks and it is the most positive organization I have ever belonged to. ‘No man left behind’ is loosely our motto and this was evident when I ran my first Marathon. Having hit (slammed into) the wall at 36k, imagine my joy when at 40k, 8 Striders ran out to run me home. I remember yelling to them ‘I'm aching from the neck down’....but my heart was full of gratitude. Because of them I ran to the finish with a big smile and all pain was put on hold.

- Bonnie W., 61

It started as a personal goal to run 5K after losing weight.

- Nicole V., 30

I saw that the YMCA was offering learn to run programs and it intrigued me since my sister-in-law enjoyed running so much.

- Heidi M., 39

What initially motivated me to get back to running was when I realized how much I had let myself go physically. I was over 175 pounds & felt awful about myself. I also felt a real responsibility to model a healthier lifestyle to my two sons. I wanted to do better by them.”

- Paul M., 40

It seemed to be a natural extension to a desire to lead a healthy lifestyle by walking which later translated into running very, very short distances. Eventually I became convinced I could run longer distances. The challenge to PB my distance became a major motivator. I like to challenge myself and I love the feeling of success. Yes, speed was very important, but achieving longer distances without walking seemed to be the driving force.

- Hal D., 61

While posted in Summerside PEI, I was told I had high blood pressure and that exercise would help to lower it. This was when I started running other than just for Army PT. Therefore, I would say my motivation was for my health.

- Alan T., 56

[It was] a way to exercise since adult soccer schedule was less strenuous, eventually the motivation morphed into Stress release, feeling of accomplishment and satisfaction, [and] time outdoors.

- Jessica P., 32

“I started running as a weight loss solution [and it] quickly turned into a stress relief and hobby.”

- Amy O., 33

I wasn’t doing any physical activity at the time. Felt it was something I could possibly do and people at my work were running & talking it up, so I gave it a try.

- Ronnie B., 54

I used to see people out running and wished I could run so I joined the YMCA learn to run group.”

- Karen M., 52

I had lost some weight (30-40 lbs) and was feeling fantastic. I was looking for my next step and had friends who ran, so I figured if they can... A Facebook friend of mine started a 0-5k group of sorts, and an old co-worker of mine was going so I went. We walked/ran together leading up to my first 5k. I volunteered at the first Four Fathers race, joined the Striders and the rest is history.

- Tera M., 40

I was never sporty growing up and felt out of place when I attempted anything athletic. One day I wanted to see if I could run for 10 minutes straight…. and I could! I started increasing my time until 30 minutes and then I started measuring in kilometers. But I always ran alone or with music. Ken kept inviting me to join the Striders. I would run by them thinking I could never be like them. Finally, Ken talked me into trying a Saturday morning run… and I loved it! I loved talking to people… made the run go by so fast! After that day, I hardly ran alone again… Due to this group, I have run 5 half marathons and numerous 10k and 5k races. I haven’t looked back since.

- Kaitlin C., 30

Initial reason was to meet the requirements for entry into the Canadian Forces. Basically you had to run a certain distance within a certain time frame. Later the motivation during the 2000's was to lose weight and be sexy. It worked out and I ended up married. I was hurt playing hockey at University in 2006 and developed sciatica which made walking difficult for periods. I kept up my running in Amherst while articling at a local law firm and then I moved to Halifax where I got fat. I had trouble walking and sleeping for months on end so decided to start running again once the symptoms subsided. It did and I became serious about making running a regular part of my day. I never bothered timing myself as it was the exercise that was important not me besting some personal pointless record. I dropped 70 lbs. and weighed 150 lbs. 2013 was my best year and I felt great even though the sciatica would come and go. Since 2011 I've tried to run 5 days a week and I've kept to it for the most part. I have a lot of pain when I run now but I keep running. There are good days and bad days.

- Jason W., 41

My parents influenced me to start running - my dad was a sprinter during his youth, and with his genetics, I guess running came easily. I used to run with my brother and it was bonding time with dad on our runs. So it was fun from an early time.

- Molly M., 37

I run for my brother Tom who originally inspired me to start running in the 1990's. I run to remember and celebrate the many marathons Tom did with me over the years, some of them fundraisers for kids with leukemia . Now due to advanced multiple myeloma - an incurable bone cancer - he can no longer run and I run for him now. He has shown by example the virtue of selfless community service over many years, has been loved and touched by all who have known him. He remains my hero; I love him and I think of him every time I head out the door with my sneakers on.”

- Gerard M., 61

How often do you run?

All submissions reflect an average of about three times per week. When training for an event, some run four or five times a week. Jason W. regularly runs 5 days a week during his lunch hour from work; it's a part of his daily routine, as it gives him more time with his young family in the evenings. Anthony F., during peak marathon training, will run up to 8 times a week, sometimes twice a day, but always with one weekly rest day. And Ken M., because he truly enjoys the social aspect of running, has haphazardly run up to 9 times per week on occasion! Some, due to health matters or injury or pregnancy, are not currently running but are anxious to return to the sport. Depending on the weather, some will run indoors while others with embrace the elements, rain or shine, sleet or snow. Regardless of pace or distance, however, most contributors agree: it matters not how far or how fast, just so long as you keep on moving. 

What has running has taught you about yourself? About others?

Based on the responses submitted, it is clear that an overwhelming surge in self-confidence is a welcome side-effect of running. This was a common theme in all cases. Second to that, not surprisingly, was the sense of satisfaction and the resulting ambitions and goal-setting that also ensued. Once runners saw what they were capable of, they sought other opportunities to push their limits - not only in a competitive sense (as in a couple of cases), but perhaps more so in a very personal - physical, mental, emotional, and even spiritual - sense as well. Running, in essence, opens up and expands on the personal possibilities. It also encourages an environment of belonging, support and community.

Running has taught me that I can tackle anything. It boosted my self esteem and how I see myself. It also taught me how to be a team player and to encourage others.

- Kaitlin C., 30

Running has taught me sooo much about myself! I never realized how dedicated I could be, and it's made me realize how strong I really am. Running has also taught me that other runners are amazing! And they're so much like me!

- Angela M., 38

The love of being outside...I do not run inside....rain sleet or snow or ice, I'm outside....I hike each year at Cape Chignecto and Keji and winter camp around the Maritimes. Nothing better than being outdoors with a good sweat on.... What I have learned about running for other people? People's need for competition and ambition in order to motivate themselves to do something. Timing themselves...paying for races...I just run.

- Jason W., 41

That I am stronger mentally and physically then I give myself credit for. Everyone is unique. Everyone is special. And together that makes any experience running or otherwise worth being a part of until the very end.

- Nicole V., 30

Anything is possible if you put the time and effort into it. It shows me that we are just a big family able to share something we all enjoy and can change someone's day just by running with them.

- Marilyn N., 15

Running has taught me to be strong, to excel, to be free and be the best I can be. What I've learned about others...that we all have our own goals and celebrations of success.

- Molly M., 37

That I can accomplish anything I put my heart into. I have gone farther with running than I ever thought possible. Running has taught me that I am a strong, capable woman that can overcome obstacles with determination, support from family and friends and hard work. Running has given me more confidence and has improved my self-esteem like no other activity ever has. About others? That everyone has the capability to dig deep and accomplish amazing things…. And that runners rock!!!

- Heidi M., 39

The ‘little engine that could’ is an applicable metaphor. Others??? Running is a team sport. One of, if not the greatest moments occurred when dragging myself to a finish line and others came to my aid and grabbed my hands. Suddenly my legs developed wings and I lost any feeling of fatigue. The positive encouragement by competitors is a reflection of the goodwill which we often lose sight of.

- Hal D., 61

Running taught me discipline. Discipline for taking care of my body by cross-training, and by eating better so that my body could perform better. I also learned I could push my body beyond what I thought I could while running Ultras and participating in other cross-country races.”

- Alan T., 56

Running has taught me that I can accomplish anything I really set my mind to. It has significantly improved my self-confidence -- both personally and professionally. Running has restored my faith in humanity. The running community - those I have met through running are amazing people. Every. Single. One. They are selfless, supportive, encouraging - all-around wonderful people.

- Alyson F., 42

Running has taught me that anything is possible regardless of age or weight once you put your mind to it. We have one of the best running clubs around, they are supportive no matter how big or small your accomplishment is!

- Kim F., 46

That I am stronger than I give myself credit for; that goal-setting really helps keep you motivated. [And that the Striders] are an incredibly supportive bunch of people from all walks of life. Then there are the Skittles, a group of 4 women within the group who, although we have completely different career paths, ages and family dynamics, have become the best of friends, sisters of a sort and I can't imagine life without them. They are most often the reason I show up, who listen without judgement and are the best!!

- Victoria V., 39

“It has taught me that I am pretty darn tough and that when I put my mind to something I can get it done. About others? People have different goals and motivations. You can not fit people into your own mold.

- Anthony F., 42

Running has taught me that I can be patient, especially with myself. It has also taught me that being patient and kind to myself actually is a better way of pushing myself compared to being critical and negative about setbacks. What it has taught me about others is that every single runner is unique in why they run and what they want from running. I love that.

- Paul M., 40

Running has taught me to be goal oriented and to continue to live a ( mostly) healthy lifestyle. Running has taught me that other runners are a very supportive group...individually setting goals, but encouraging others to achieve theirs."

- Bonnie W., 61

By setting realistic goals I can achieve almost anything. By surrounding myself with positive people my goals are easier to achieve and it pushes me to set higher goals. My original goal was to try a 5k but the camaraderie of belonging to the striders has pushed me to set new goals. I since have run a 1/2 marathon and wouldn’t rule out a full sometime in the future.

- Bob S., 49

That I am ‘not’ too old - I have strength, patience, and determination. About others? The discipline, caring, from other runners, and the misunderstanding of those who try to run us off the road.

- Linda C., 52

That it’s very therapeutic. Not only is it healthy for your body but also your mind & soul. It’s very healing. Also that it’s not about the race but the journey.

- Ronnie B., 54

How to overcome obstacles and find multiple paths to success, personally and professionally, it's taught me that when faced with a challenge sometimes the mental obstacle is the biggest obstacles to overcome. About others? To be supportive and encouraging is an invaluable gift and builds community."

- Jessica P., 32

Running has taught me that I can be me, and improve me, and even like me. It has also taught me that there is more good in the world than one would think (I think I was becoming a little more cynical working in the public over the years). "

- Tera M., 40

Running has taught me how to be free of everything and just be who I am - almost like ‘Dance like no one is watching’: It’s RUN like no one is watching."

- Karen M., 52

I think I have become a more ‘true’ person since getting into running; proving that I can do what I have set out to do (run 5, 10, 21.1, 42.2) - setting goals and then achieving them - such a thrill - never thought I would ever be able to achieve what I have since starting running. And such amazing things happen when you are surrounded by running friends!! Runners come from all walks of life - no other sport allows this - doesn't care how wealthy, how athletic, how important, how heavy, how thin, how tall, what religion, what colour, - what socio-economic situation you are in... everyone can get involved - walk-run - fast-slow, long short distance male-female, young-old, etc. - there are no boundaries - all are welcome!!! Love this, we all can be in the same event at the same time!!!

- Ken M., 58

Running has taught me that I'm capable of more than I think and that there are some strong, determined motherf*ckers out there.

- Amy O., 33 

What's your MOST favourite thing about running?

For many, the sense of accomplishment, the rush of positive feelings, the fresh air and scenery, a change in perspective, a chance to clear one’s mind, the management of stress and anxiety - these are the things that make running so addictive. But what also comes into play, at least in several cases submitted from running club members, is an undercurrent of acceptance and a sense of belonging - a foundation of togetherness that makes the run itself bigger than an individual, physical experience.

When I finished my half marathon in grade 7. And seeing how excited runners are when they cross the finish line."

- Marilyn N., 15

The stress relief and time spent with my girls.

- Victoria V., 39

My favourite thing about running is the way it makes me feel - physically and emotionally/mentally. I love the adrenaline high, the endorphin rush, the feeling of accomplishment when I've finished a really tough run. It restores my faith in myself."

- Alyson F., 42

I have a couple. One is running with a group. The support and love within a running group is magical. The second is the excitement of crossing the finish line no matter what distance I've run. The rush of coming in the last few meters surpasses the struggles encountered during the run and it's true no matter how bad the run goes - when you're done, you want to do it again!"

- Nicole V., 30

My most favourite thing about running is the conversations I have had and the friendships I have made.

- Kaitlin C., 30

One of my proudest moments in running is being able to say that I was a founding member of this group - absolutely life changing!"

- Ken M., 58

My most favourite thing about running is how amazing I feel after a run, mentally and physically. How I can reach my goals!"

- Angela M., 38

The friends I have made! I have the BEST running buddy.

- Kim F., 46

My most favourite thing about running is being outside."

- Jason W., 41

I love just getting out there and letting my mind shut down and enjoying the journey. I also love running with others and hearing their stories."

- Anthony F., 42

I’m part of such a great community that gives me tremendous joy. It is quite amazing how every single runner provides support, motivation, and inspiration even if they don't know you at all. It is similar to having your own personal cheering squad with you at any time. They lift my spirits up with their encouragement, wisdom, and honesty.

- Heidi M., 39

My favourite thing about running is those moments when I am just... running. There is no other thought racing through my head (which is HUGE as I deal with anxiety and depression on a daily basis). the rhythm of my breathing, footfall - everything - is just so hypnotic and peaceful."

- Paul M., 40

The surreal feeling when finished. It is emotionally elevating."

- Hal D., 61

If I have to pick just one, my most favourite thing about running would be the social interaction and the friendships I've made."

- Alan T., 56

My 82 year old mother is proud of me - she would like to see me in a race, they are too early in the morning for her. Running makes me feel young again and that I can still get up and move. I also love it when my 2 year old granddaughter says 'Nannie running?'"

- Linda C., 52

I love the fact that I'm now going on 62 and still enjoy being a runner. I'm proud to be athletic and try to stay as vital as I can be as I grow 'older'."

- Bonnie W., 61

The most favourite thing about running is the people. Fellow runners. I ran mostly by myself for 4 years before joining up with the HMWUS group [Happy Morning Wake-Up Squad - a Strider subgroup that runs two weekday mornings each week at 5:30 a.m.] less than a year ago. And in that short time, the people I've met, the friendships that developed, the togetherness, the sincere feelings that we have for each other is f'n amazing. It’s more than a running group. Much much more."

- Ronnie B., 54

Clearing my mind and starting my day worry-free…

- Jessica P., 32

My favourite thing about running is how I feel when I have completed my run, no matter the distance or time, it just feels so awesome! Like I can take on the world! It’s a stress relief for me - I can leave all my worries behind. Each step I take, another worry has fallen off my shoulders. I love it!!! The main thing I love about running is running and being a part of my running group - the Amherst Striders. Being a part of the running family makes me feel awesome. The encouragement is so rewarding and motivates me to do my best.

- Karen M., 52

My fave thing about running is pushing myself, escaping for those minutes listening to music, sometimes allowing for no other thoughts to enter - I at least like trying to find the time!

- Molly M., 37

My most favourite thing is feeling free and laughing with good friends.

- Amy O., 33

My most favourite thing about running is the people, the friendships, and the celebration of everyone’s different accomplishments.

- Tera M., 40

The bling! Actually, I’m not sure I have a MOST favourite, but I have a lot of reasons I like to run. A few are: stress management; camaraderie; great way to meet new people; opens up new opportunities; you can do it almost anywhere and enjoy the scenery. I love running ion new places - especially along waterfronts.

- Bob S., 49 

What's your LEAST favourite thing about running?

The dominant response in this area pertained to injuries - the risk of getting them, having them, and not being able to run because of them. Some aren’t fond of the first few steps in any run, but soon find that with perseverance, things improve. Others are not big fans of the hard runs (be it due to the weather, the terrain, the level of endurance) - and yet, they acknowledge that they certainly give perspective and motivation for better days ahead. One respondent voiced his concern about judging a book by its cover - how we all have goals and shouldn't be so quick to question or condemn anyone else for their efforts. And of course, who can’t relate to an inconvenient call of nature during a distance run?

My least fave is wanting to lay down in a ditch and die during the hard runs.

- Amy O., 33

The first couple of km’s and finding a balance of hydration and not having to pee on longer runs.”

- Bob S., 49

I have a hard time finding a least favourite thing about running, but could say it’s those times on a run when nature calls. I also hate the cold.

- Tera M., 40

The first few kilometers…

- Jessica P., 32

My least favourite thing is running with an injury. It hurts and you know you shouldn’t be trying to run through it, but you have to. Not running is not an option. Also a strong wind. I don’t like the wind.

- Ronnie B., 54

The only thing I dislike about running is knowing that my PBs probably aren’t going to improve - but how many women in their 60’s (a retiree, no less) run in our town? Not many!!

- Bonnie W., 61

Hills and leg cramps/spasms/bad runs. I get mad at myself during bad runs, it feels like I didn’t do something right beforehand and I kick myself all the way, but I keep going through the pain. And people that try to run us off the roads scare me a wee bit.

- Linda C., 52

My least favourite thing would have to be getting up early to run when it is still dark out. But once out, things are all good!

- Alan T., 56

Injuries!!

- Hal D., 61

Probably that I rely on it too much. When I am injured or sick or just too busy to run, I feel a lot of internal pressure to get back out there as soon as I can. Logically, I know that may not be the best idea and that I need other outlets for my stress - but I haven’t found anything that helps me as much as running. Everything else suffers by comparison - so sometimes my love of the sport is a double-edged sword.

- Paul M., 40

The only problem I have with running is the amount of time it takes me away from my wife and girls.

- Anthony F., 42

My least favourite thing about running is the pain I’m usually in when I run. It has gotten worse over the years, and I’m only 41, I can feel age starting to creep up on me.

- Jason W., 41

Truthfully, winter!

- Kim F., 46

What I like least about running is the first km… and the effing hills in Springhill (haha)

- Angela M., 38

My least favourite thing would have to be prejudging a runner by their looks and ability - we all have a goal, no one has the right to think their goal is more worthy than another.

- Ken M., 58

Having to get up at 5 to get a good parking spot at a race. And over packing because you never know what the weather will be like.

- Marilyn N., 15

Bad runs. We all have them and they are just that - hard. But they give perspective for the ones that are good and keep us working.

- Victoria V., 39 

Do you have a running anecdote or a funny story to share?

These stories are personal and insightful and need no introduction. They speak for themselves - just like the people who shared them.

I don’t have any funny stories (usually I’m the funny one during long runs), but I must say I have learned never to say ‘never’ when it comes to running. I was NEVER going to run more than 10k; really NEVER going to run more than a half, and NEVER EVER going to run outdoors in the winter…

- Tera M., 40

Any distance runner can attest to the occurrence of ‘run dumb’. It’s that point in a run when you’re tired but still enjoying the run and the company. Stories are still being told to pass the time but the simplest of tales can be misheard and misunderstood and that’s when the best stories are born! Like a simple conversation regarding the tacky décor of the 70’s turns into an Apple Harvest Festival pie incident by the end (perhaps it’s a situation better experienced than explained…).

- Victoria V., 39

My fave moment has to be when I was celebrating my marathon time in Fredericton - being in that moment, enjoying and appreciating that I had done my best - to minutes later checking my official time with my mom to realize to my surprise that I had qualified for Boston. It was THE most emotional moment in my running experience. In that instance, I guess it also reminded me to keep enjoying running, to experience it to the fullest, seeing each run as a success and a reason to celebrate. Oh - and another one relates to my training. I sometimes throw my left hand up in the air, run-dancing, to my hip hop/rap tunes. Anyways I got caught doing this by a driver who had the biggest smile on her face. I continued for a few moments, laughing out loud to myself. I love that running brings out the silliness and the fun in me.

- Molly M., 37

I don’t know if this counts - but after my first half marathon at the Four Fathers, I remember getting my medal and it didn’t have the distance on the back. I told my husband it had to have 21.1 k on it. He laughed, took the medal out of my hands, and got it engraved that very day. Not so much a funny story, but one of my favourite moments.

- Nicole V., 30

I don’t have a funny story, but I enjoy the runs where we laugh, take pictures, and even dance a step or two.”

- Karen M., 52

Some of my favourite memories come from races. The thrill I get when I cross the finish line no matter how I feel. The excitement of watching others conquer a race. the overnight trips and pasta eating!!!! I live for those moments. I hope running will continue to be a major part of my life for many years.

- Kaitlin C., 30

Buying the 10k registration for my father as a Christmas present, supporting him through training over the phone, spending considerable time talking him out of any worries he had about finishing, how long it would take, etc….. ultimately, we started running together in a race, and 1km in, he asked if I would mind if he went ahead a little…. he managed to finish about 15 minutes ahead of me. So much for all of his race anxiety!

- Jessica P., 32

I nearly get eaten by dogs almost every time I head out for a run… that's almost funny, right? Although I don’t laugh at the time. And yep, always a different dog…and I love dogs! What gives?

- Angela M., 38

I guess it would have to be the ‘beefcake’ photo Gerard and I did on a frigid cold and stormy HMWUS February morning. It was crazy to even be out in this weather let alone running in it but I’m always thinking, ‘what if someone else goes out today?’ I feel a responsibility to be there for them. So out I went. I follow my usual route, meeting no one. And when I reach the Tim Horton’s? No one is there. Well this sucks! But it’s 5:30 am, and it’s time to go. I’m about a 1/2 km into my run, the wind and snow pounding at my face when I hear what I think is my name being called. In this dark barren deserted street wasteland I’m hearing my name. There it is again. Is my imagination playing tricks on me? God, is that you? Am I having an epiphany? Anything is possible at this hour of the day. I turn around and there’s a strange figure off in the distance running towards me. Is this God? I knew it! God's a runner! But it doesn’t quite look like God or the perception of what we perceive God to be. He’s getting closer. I think it’s, yup, it is, its Gerard! He’s sprinting toward me so I sprint back to meet him. We don’t embrace or anything - that would just be weird. A runner’s fist pump would suffice. I am glad to see the lad though. On we go with our morning routine run, talking about the wusses who didn’t come out on such a ‘LARGE’ day. Gerard suggests we take our own pic at Tim Horton’s when we get back and post it on Facebook with comments on the wimps and wusses who didn’t make it out. He then decides we should up the ante with a beefcake pic to really get the message home. ‘Yeah! Sure! Let’s do that’, I said reluctantly. It wasn't mentioned again and I sure wasn’t going to bring it up. But sure enough we got back to Tim’s & Gerard says, ‘Let’s go. I was serious’. ‘I figured you were’, I said as I followed him into the coffee shop. While I’m disrobing, he’s gone deep into Tim’s to a group of men at a table, minding their own business enjoying their early morning coffee and conversation, to get someone else involved in this affair. A guy comes back with Gerard, we finish disrobing and out we go into the frigid cold. Gerard gives the guy a quick lesson on how to take the pic on his iPhone. A little quicker lesson would have been nice or maybe it could have done in the warmth of the restaurant. It’s really cold out here. I suck in my gut as much as I physically can (Gerard forgot to do this), and we wait for what seems like 3 hours for the guy to finally take the picture. He takes a couple to make sure he got it. Gerard checks & validates the results. We go back in, put our clothes back on & run our way home, laughing all the way. We knew we did something crazy and there would be fall out over it, but that was the intent. Two middle-aged dudes bearing their upper halves for the Strider world to see. Not pretty, but effective. Sure enough, it wasn’t long after Gerard posted the photo that the comments started pouring in. The Amherst Strider FB page went viral that day. We had our fifteen minutes of fame and enjoyed every minute of it. You know what, I don’t think it’s over yet. Someone in this crazy, lovable Strider crew will one-up this and I can’t wait to see what it might be. Girls, it’s your turn!

- Ronnie B., 54

I don’t have a funny story to share, but I will share about having two Striders catch up to me at my very first race and run with me. I was struggling to continue but they stuck with me to the very end. I will never in my running career forget this. I am thankful every day for the Striders.

- Kim F., 46

My first run was the Strawberry run and I was extremely nervous. We all gathered at the start line and off we went, they left me in their dust, I clambered along the route, losing sight of the other runners. I came to a bend in the road - I could go right or straight, I wasn’t sure, and there was no one there giving directions, and I couldn’t see any other runners. So I went right. Finally I did see some runners, they were coming down the street on the opposite side, some waving at me and pointing. I came to realize later that I was actually on the wrong side of the route. And I thought people were just being friendly.”

- Linda C., 52

I took a sh*t outside once, 3kms from my house, in the woods….because man, I had to go! Well, it was funny then… and funny now. That was a giant crap… so now I don't run in the morning at least until I’ve…[you know].

- Jason W., 41

One of my running funnies was when I signed up for a cross-country team race in Hell Michigan. They told us to tie our runners tight because our runners would get pulled off in the mud and we would not be able to get them out. And if we did, we would not be able to use them as they would be full of mud! However, some people chose not to listen to this advice. So, when you passed somebody running in their socks, it was very funny!

- Alan T., 56

I think the funniest story was when Elita and I were leading the Age of Sails marathon and came across a bear just sitting in the middle of the road. It was not concerned at all and we just looked at each other wondering what to do… so glad for the bicycle escort… that was also my favourite finish of any race with my daughter being carried on my shoulders after she fell and scraped her knee.

- Anthony F., 42 

Any epiphanies?

Sometimes, we don’t know where our strength comes from… whether from within ourselves, from others in our respective circles, or from beyond us altogether. But when the moments of realization come, there’s a certain magic. Maybe it doesn’t need to be explained. Maybe it just is. And if running is an agent through which that kind of magic happens, then run with it.

I never in a million years thought that I could run with my weight and my health the way it was, but I DID it and continue to DO it!

- Kim F., 46

You can do more than your mind can even imagine.

- Anthony F., 42

Running truly enriches my life - which I didn’t think was possible when I first started. It not only makes me healthier, but happier. I am a better wife, mother, daughter, and friend due to the joy that running brings into my life. I am forever grateful to have stumbled across it.

- Heidi M., 39

The white feather – I receive white feathers when I am struggling. During my Couch to 5k training - about ¾ of the way through - I was having a particularly rotten run/day. I just couldn’t do it anymore, my legs were paining and were going into spasm, I couldn’t get my breath, and everyone else was going along with ease. I had made up my mind: I was quitting, I was too frigging old, and my body just couldn’t do it. I came back into the office and started to pack up when I looked down there was a white feather. That Thursday, I showed up for the training and had the best run of my life."

- Linda C., 52

While I do have specific goals/times, etc. that I want and hope to achieve, the most important thing for me is to be able to be a runner as long and I am upright and mobile. I am going to enjoy getting faster while I still can, but ultimately it’s about the journey, not the destination. Kind of like life.

- Paul M., 40

The seemingly impossible is possible.

- Hal D., 61

Running has enriched my life in so many ways. After I was attacked while running 6 years ago in Dartmouth, I only ran again afterwards to prove a point about independence and taking back control. I worried that I would never enjoy it again. Thank heavens I kept running because since then it has brought me incredible friendships and moments in time that are incredibly powerful, empowering and inspiring.

- Jessica P., 32

The Finish Line

Running goes beyond the physical. True, your legs get you where you want to go as your lungs get you the air you need to help your blood circulate. But based on the stories that are shared here, it seems pretty clear that running is more than just a physical act. It takes you to new places - to sights previously unseen but also to places in your life experience that were previously hidden or unknown. It introduces more possibilities. Love it or hate it, when you can’t do it, you miss it. It’s a challenge for each of us, but it also offers rewards wrapped in positivity, camaraderie, and overall well being. It’s a gift - one we get to give ourselves and share with others.

Blessed be.

********************

Thanks for reading - if you enjoyed this piece, please consider leaving a heart or sharing it with your friends! And if you REALLY liked it, consider leaving a tip. While you're here, take a look at the works of some of the other several talented Vocal Creators. - S xo

goals
9

About the Creator

Shelley Carroll

Ms. Carroll is a 50-something year-old retired public servant and mother of three adult children. She and her partner Hal live in Amherst NS with a sweet, anxiety-ridden rescue dog. Shelley loves reading, running and red wine.

She/Her

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.