Motivation logo

Stop Questioning Yourself

The day you stop questioning yourself is the day you become independent

By Echo Yiran XuPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Stop Questioning Yourself
Photo by Jose Aragones on Unsplash

When I was young, I always had so curious about anything:

Why are the ants so tiny?

Why can parrots speak human languages?

Why can the bubbles float on the water?

I like asking questions about all the stuff in my life, which is a good thing for exploring the magic of life and nature.

When I grew up, people around me start to question me:

Why don’t you live a “stable “ life as others do?

Why don’t you get married before 28?

Why do you spend so much money on traveling instead of clothes?

For these questions, I often reacted with a smile and didn’t care about it at all.

But as time goes by, I started to question myself:

Is my choice to live and study abroad a bad choice?

If I didn’t travel and save all that money, maybe I could have the downpayment for an apartment.

If I didn’t quit that job, maybe I could live a more stable life?

I admit I use to be a person affected by others’ words easily. Grow up in a culture that admires humility and not being stand-out has a deep influence on me. Although I have an outgoing personality, I want to be the leader and control my life. I have to compress myself and be a “good ” girl, just like anybody else.

Why do I keep self-questioning?

I didn’t realize it was a huge problem until one day, and I met my coworker and one of my best friends.

She said, “Why are you so unconfident of yourself? You did so well on that project!”

I said, “Maybe I was never acknowledged as you did?”

Suddenly I realized: I question myself so much because I live in a “toxic environment” where people barely show their appreciation and compliment to me!

Just like when I was in school, every time I was questioning something, the answers from the teacher would be “Just follow what I said”!

How do I get rid of it?

The journey to find me is not easy. My little self-consciousness was compressed hundreds of times by the criticism and unfair judgment.

We always say, “Be yourself!” But go with the flow is human nature. To be a “weirdo ” requires a lot of courage and a strong mind.

Fortunately, I find my way out, and I hope the tips work for you as well:

🔆 Get away with the people who keep judging you

Cut off the connection with the toxic environment. Delete the people that have a negative influence on you on your contact list. Unfollow them on your social media. Create a “clean and healthy” bubble for yourself.

🌟 Read books. Books are powerful

Read motived books as many as you can. Start boost self-confidence as a habit—practice self-confidence as a daily routine. Trust me, It works!

🌻 Talk to a professional consultant. Don’t bother your friends.

Yes, don’t talk to your friends often. I’m sure you have great friends and family willing to help you, but nobody can 100% empathize with your situation. You can mention it once in a while during a hangout, but if it’s getting serious and self-help doesn’t work. Don’t hesitate to go to a doctor or shrink for help. They will give you professional advice, and it’s a shortcut to bring you back to normal again.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Echo Yiran Xu

A world traveler and designer loves reading and writing!

Top Writer in Design. Editor of 4 Medium publications: TOP UX LIST; Story of Me; Let’s be happy ; Share your views! https://linktr.ee/yiranecho

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.