Motivation logo

Still Going Strong

Little Girl Lost

By CoraPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I Made It

Its hard to know where to begin, so I will start from what I remember. At 2 years old, I would have terrible bouts of coughing and difficulty breathing. My parents took me to the doctor and eventually, they were told that I would need my tonsils removing. Thankfully they did not listen to that doctor. My parents decided to send me to Jamaica with my dads older sister. They believed that the combination of sunshine, healing herbs and rest would help me.

My first real memory is that of walking up the ramp of the ship, my small hand holding on tightly to my aunt. The ship seemed so big, it was amazing, and that's all I remember from the that. The next memory was a strange one. I was looking down at myself in a bed. My aunt was crying. The only thing that seemed strange to me was why my aunt was crying. Suddenly, I was looking directly into my aunt's eyes. Years later I would learn that I had an out of body experience and I had actually died and been resuscitated. I bet that was a first for that ships doctor!!

After about six months in Jamaica my aunt left and I was sent to stay with another aunt; and I hated it. My health did not get better, in fact, it got worse. I could not attend school because I was always sick. My beautiful braids were now dreadlocks that reached all the way down my little back. My skin had darkened and I was covered in mosquito bites that had left scars all over my legs. I just wanted my mom and dad and I pined for them.

One day, about three years into my horror story, my aunt walked into the room and told me that I was going home. I was so very happy I could not stop smiling.

Its strange because there are so many things that do remember and so many that I don't. I don't remember how we got to the airport, but I can remember the sound of crickets and frogs at night. I do remember walking through the airport dragging my little suitcase behind me. I could see the plane on the tarmac and I was so afraid it was going to leave me. Suddenly a beautiful woman appeared and took my little hand in her hand. She took my suitcase with her other hand and I felt safe.

The flight started out well enough, I had never been on a plane before but I was not afraid. However, it seemed we had engine trouble and the plane landed in one of the small islands and we had to stay for the night. I hated it. As I was traveling alone, I had to share a small hotel room with some children who were traveling with their parents,. There was only one bed and they made me sleep on the floor. Even though I was upset, I knew I would soon be back home with mom and dad so I didn't complain.

The next morning, the flight took off for England with no more issues. I remember coming down the stops of the plane and it was so cold. I did not have a coat, I was coming from Jamaica and it was so hot there. As I walked across the tarmac, I looked up and I could see my mother inside the airport looking out the observation window.

As I stepped into the airport itself, I remember feeling so calm. I could see my mom ahead and that was all that mattered. I ran the last few feet and into the open arms of my loving mom.

Over the years, I had many close calls, I have been on respirators and in comas, I have even been brought back to life a few times. I am a very .lucky woman. I have never had another out of body experience.

My life is a journey with many up and downs and deep inside I am still that little girl that survived

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Cora

I am singer/songwriter and I am a survivor. I have had multiple close calls with death, but I keep living, its not my time as yet. I have been singing since the age of 11 and that is what keeps me going. I love life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.