Motivation logo

Spring Mindfulness

happy new year

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Spring is a time for rejuvenation. I’ve always considered this time to be the “New Year,” of another year to be fulfilled. Its the season of birds coming home, animals waking up from hibernation, and humanity getting out of that unwanted winter funk. It’s the season of the first Zodiac, Aries, to be awoken for another month, and year of getting things done and organized. As an Aries myself, this is the time when I feel most focused and able to really get myself back on track. Especially in the year of 2021, I welcome it with open arms.

With my 25th birthday on the horizon, I’ve come a long way from pain and delays. I refuse to burrow in my dissatisfaction of life any longer. I refuse to let anxiety and depression, blindly guide my life's journey. There comes a time when you just have to put your foot down and say enough is enough, “I wont succumb to this mentally agonizing, zombie-like reality any more. I am going to be me, I am going to be true, I am going to do as I please.” These ‘I am’ mantras are like my reset button, it takes a lot of I am’s to really get the point across but eventually its like it hits a switch and you are. This is the main habit I like to start with, it puts my mind in a well-being atmosphere. Mindfulness, is my main organization hack.

One thing I struggle quite a bit with, is getting in the habit of exercising and meditating every morning. I know it will do me much needed corking, so I’ve created my own little journal that tracks my day-to-day routines. Such as, how much water am I consuming? What exercises am I doing each day; or if I miss that day, what am I going to do to make up for it the next day? It tracks the schooling I am getting done for my English course, by the hour. Luckily, my course is done in April, and I will soon be moving on to my Veterinary Assistant course in September, another reason for my strict mindfulness and timing sheets. I wont let myself bail out this time, like I have done so many times before, just because crippling anxiety tells me I will never be good enough, I AM good enough. Though, I know I will need to be a lot more organized when that time comes. I never was the best in school, I never really cared, until now.

Another thing is keeping my work space and living area squeaky clean. I’ve always been slightly OCD, but when spring comes, I like it pristine. That means, deep cleaning my bearded dragon cage, wiping walls, windows, getting ALL the laundry done; not just half-assing it.. you know how it goes. But again, that usually means mustering up the energy my depression just doesn't let me have. The effort is so very real when it comes to mental illness, you want these things so bad and yet, you cant grasp it. This time I will be in control. F*** you depression.

My favorite part is being able to get outside, in the warm, spring air; but with that slight cool, chill of the wind letting you know its not quite summer yet, “so don’t get too ahead of yourself.” Getting the garden boxes ready for some veggies, fruits and flowers. Planning the spring planting needs in my little gardening book, which also keeps track of all my house plants and their watering and fertilizing needs. Got to keep the plants happy, too. I’ve already got seedlings started in my spare/greenhouse room, waiting to be transplanted for the season. Gardening is probably one of the biggest stress-relievers at this time of year. It’s the new year of nature, coming back from the dead. So for the first time in while, I’ll say this with a smile on my face, Happy New Year, folks, and happy spring cleaning!

advice
1

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.