Motivation logo

Sorry Vocal

Lost in Format

By Roy StevensPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
9
A creature of someone's dream

“Creatures of my dreams raise up and dance with me, Now and forever I’m your king.” I’m fairly confident that anyone reading this will have heard the music that accompanies these lyrics though maybe not the lyrics themselves. The song “Outro” by Anthony Gonzalez in his alter-ego as M83 was used in too many movie-trailers, TV shows and commercials during the first half of the last decade. It’s a soulful, dramatic, even symphonic piece that catches the attention and immediately invokes powerful emotional responses. Heck, it got enough of my distracted attention to get me to consider buying a Mazda and eventually I even did get one (most fun-to-drive car I’ve ever owned).

The above lyrics create a deeper connection with us writers though. The album “Outro” ends is called Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming and, yes, it deals almost exclusively with our dreams. The words have come to mean much more to me though after I completed my first and probably only novel a couple of years ago. Since finishing the book I’ve essentially failed to get anyone to read it aside from my long suffering wife, her best friend (a dear friend of mine as well) and one of my brothers-in-law. I have no connections in the industry and I’m (like most of you) a lousy schmoozer so I have gotten nowhere with the Great Wall of Ice that is the publishing industry. My failure goes deeper though.

"Creatures of my dreams raise up and dance with me". Here on Vocal and elsewhere we build tiny worlds peopled by these creatures of our dreams and those characters come to mean a great deal to us. It would surprise me greatly to hear from any of you that you don’t particularly care about your characters. What wouldn’t surprise me is to hear from Vocal writers that they find they’re emotionally attached to the lives of their creations. And therein lies the rub (with all due respect to the Bard).

The format that dominates here at Vocal for all intents and purposes (or is that intensive purposes?) tends toward shorter pieces which will entice readers to drop in for a quick, intense experience that starts and ends within minutes. No shock, I know. The characters in these short works generally don’t linger all that long in the creator’s mind and we then move on to new horizons and opportunities to get more “hits”, likes or at least looks. Writing in a vacuum is a cold, lonely affair that lets too much of the melancholy most of us face seep into our lives, whether we’re writing or not. Readers are the writer’s greatest blessing.

There’s nothing wrong (and much that’s right) about the short story/poetry form but I’ve stumbled on a phenomenon I’d like to tell you about which has cropped up as a corollary of working on that novel I mentioned. I spent three years with those particular ‘creatures of my dreams’ making them, explaining them, engaging them and ultimately depositing them in a situation I wouldn’t wish on the worst human being to have ever lived; …and I love them. When I started, I didn’t intend for them to be left with the unbearable responsibility which eventually fell on them, but I should have realized what was coming from the scenario with which I started.

More importantly, I miss them. They weren’t superheroes (enough with the vapid superheroes already!) they were regular young folk trying to just get into their lives from a disadvantaged starting point as members of the endlessly left out Generation Jones. They had foibles and loves, strengths and idiosyncrasies that made them very human, at least to me and the other three people who have read the book. And that was that. Unless I intend to read and reread the book over and over again like a demented hamster on her wheel, they’re dead. In creating Jerri and Trinnie, Rowan, Matt, Jake and the others- I killed them. They didn’t die in the novel- far from it- but without readers to care for them and invest in their struggles they’re as gone as the child you once were. Gone.

You can’t go back. One of the stipulations of the novel is that physical time-travel, as well as interstellar space travel is not a possibility, it can’t be done. The other major stipulation is that we are utterly alone in the Universe, there are no Mr. Spocks or Obi Wans to comfort us in our loneliness. Other sentient beings did exist in the deep past but they’re all long, long gone- we missed the party. I wanted to evoke this loss of ourselves in the wash of time and to see what this would do to the characters. It had the effect of raising the stakes drastically. This little blue marble floating in black infinity is all we have, and my Joe-Schmoe characters had its fate dumped on them unexpectedly by a set of circumstances they couldn’t ever have imagined let alone created.

I guess all I’m really saying is, be careful with the creatures of your dreams; we’re playing with more fire than we realize! Thanks for reading and good luck!

goals
9

About the Creator

Roy Stevens

Just one bad apple can spoil a beautiful basket. The toxins seep throughout and...

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    This was a genuine read. I appreciate your thoughts. I've written a novel and a screenplay. Both have not moved in years, meaning, I just wrote them. the intentions were to see them go somewhere, but the motivation is stagnant. Although they are just figments of my mind, I do find an emotional attachment to most of the characters I bring to life. Your comment on one of my stories makes clear sense now. What happens to characters that are never finished? They want to have their story told, if only we will let them. Sorry Vocal was a very thought provoking read! Thank you!

  • Wisdom ✨❤️😉💯

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    You’ve given me a lot to think about. I’ve never written a novel. It’s a struggle for me to complete a short story, but I’m getting better. I find myself incapable of writing pure fiction. Even if the story itself is entirely made up, the protagonist is always some version of me. So it’s fair to say I’m attached to my main characters, but I can never really miss them since I am them. For me, writing is a way to heal from things that hurt, and to accept things that cannot be changed. I don’t write for any readers. It just seems selfish to hoard stories, so I’ve started putting them out there. I’ve wondered since I’ve started posting here on Vocal a few weeks ago—will people think I’m one note? Will they notice it’s the same woman in every story I write for a challenge, even if her name and physical appearance changes? Oh well. Tim Burton does it too lol.

  • Safeera Satharabout a year ago

    Nice work... U done it amazingly.. ❤️

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    oooof. Now I feel guilty for the characters in the stories I started and never finished!! I feel you though... I think you should consider self publishing your novel somewhere so that you can share your characters and at least have them exist outside of the world they currently exist within... I think the allure of publishing somewhere "major" gets in our way and, for me at least, the idea of sharing the stories I create is more important...hence, what I'm doing here! haha I'm also completely overwhelmed by even the THOUGHT of approaching publishers though so take that into account with my comments hahah. I like hearing your take on things, Roy!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.