Motivation logo

Smiley Egg

Monday Motivation

By Evan EllacottPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I took this picture over two years ago. As I had recently learned about Vocal and how you use pictures to help tell a story, I thought I would look to past memories and see what I could find and share with the world—at least, to anyone who would watch. At the time of the picture, I was a senior in high school. I had a lot going on: I was wrapping up my last year at a crappy school district, I was thinking about college and my future, as well as worrying about my grandmother, who was sick at the time.

I grew up in a small town. My entire life I was surrounded by the same people, that is, until I had met two of my friends who moved in freshman year. I knew that college was the next step for me. I’m currently majoring in film studies with a minor in creative writing. I’ve always loved to write. Ever since I was eight, I would write stories about different ideas that popped up in my mind. After graduation, I would love to get the opportunity someday to hopefully write for either movies or television. I knew that staying at home wouldn’t help me accomplish my dream.

In school, I was never a popular person. I wasn’t an athlete, which was the only thing my school honestly cared about it seemed. I participated in choir from sixth grade all the way through my senior year. I had really bad acne during my junior and senior years. I had a hard time with girls and finding dates to events. Even trying to find a part-time job was difficult. I applied to four different jobs around my home town and none of them were hiring. I’m definitely a lot happier now, though, when I reflect back on those days.

Around August of 2016, my grandmother started to develop an infection, which began at her feet. I guess it ended up affecting her mind. It might have been old age, she was 87, but I’m not entirely sure. She ended up forgetting who my family and I were. She was imagining two little girls running around her house, which my mom thinks might have been her and my aunt from when they were younger. In March of 2017, my family decided to take her to Hospice, where she later eventually died. I was devastated to see this amazing and strong woman who lived an amazing life pass away.

I had found out in November of 2016 that I got accepted into Baldwin Wallace University. I was extremely excited. My father had gone to the school, and so I had known of the college when I was younger. As I grew older though, I was curious about my father’s alma mater and what it had to potentially offer me. I’m currently a sophomore, and I’ve made so many amazing friends and have pursued a lot of incredible opportunities. I know my old man would be proud of me.

Now, how does all of this tie back to a picture of a smiling egg? Well, it’s a simple message: you’ve got to enjoy the little things in life. Life is hard and overwhelming. We’re always getting obstacles thrown our way, and it never seems to stop. So, take time to enjoy the happy, the funny, the beautiful and the spiritual things in life. We never know what tomorrow is going to bring. Enjoy yourself. Enjoy other people. Enjoy music. Enjoy food. Enjoy movies. Enjoy love. Enjoy that A plus you received on your literature paper, or the pay raise you received at work. Enjoy life.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.