Motivation logo

Sleeping Resolutions for a Better Day

Better Sleep Leads to a Happier Life

By Terry RoePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Sleeping Resolutions for a Better Day
Photo by Dominic Sansotta on Unsplash

Recently, I stayed at a hotel while visiting and sightseeing in another part of the country. The bed was so good, that it was a memorable part of my trip. There was a placard on the nightstand promoting the updated mattress and bedding. After miles of walking each day, the bed was a welcome respite for my aching body and sore joints. Good sleep made it possible to start each day of my trip, rested and eager to continue our daily explorations.

This lead me to think about how good sleep, each night, helped me to perform better, feel better and have more fun with daily activities and challenges. Why not build on the basis of a good night's sleep, for my at home adventures? Why not include a commitment to sleep better as the basis of my annual resoultions?

Here are my Better Sleep resolutions:

1. Get a better mattress. I wrote down the name and model of the mattress that the hotel had. It's my next big purchase.

2. Comfort your way-I love duvet's (comforter covers) as they can easily be washed as often as the sheets and pillowcases. As I am allergy-prone, very clean bedding helps me wake up without sinus stuffiness. I, also, have two good quality pillows, for myself. Some people prefer weighted blankets or feather comforters. Put what works for you on your bed. It'll make one-third of each of your days, happier.

3. Keep it cool. It is hard to sleep well when the room is too warm. Keeping the room quiet and dark, also helps.

4. Get outside during the day. We walked miles each day of my vacation. There is no better sleep aid than exercise.

5. Eat less. We ate only two meals, each day of my vacation, with a very light snack about an hour before bedtime. No heartburn, no acid reflux, and a very comfortable, not too full, but not hungry feeling, each night at bedtime.

6. No TV, phone or computer in the bed, or just before bed. We've all heard this, before. So often we ignore this step.

7. Practice a "getting ready for bed" routine. Children are often led through a bedtime routine of washing, changing into pajamas, brushing teeth, having a bedtime story read to them, a kiss goodnight and the turning off of the lights, to prepare them for the transition for sleepy time. As an adult, I've added my nighttime medications to this effective routine.

8. Commit to a bedtime. I know that I have to plan my next day and do chores, after the evening meal. I don't wait to do these just before bedtime. I get up early, so I choose to be in bed by 10:00 PM. I have learned to record shows that are on later than that, to view another time. I treat my bedtime like an appointment. A rested start to each day is important to me.

9. Tame the anxiety monster. Many times when I try to fall asleep, I start obsessing about the nagging worries that I have repressed all day. I have a secret weapon for this-an audiobook. Having a book read to me, (with a timer that shuts it off in 45 minutes), relaxes my mind, into a "listen-only" mode and lulls me to sleep. The story does not keep me awake, as I know that I'll just pick it up, where I left off, the next time I listen to it. Some people use white noise, relaxation/mediation recordings or music. Some people read a book. It seems like a caring luxury, to me, to be read to.

10. Repeat daily. One restless night is not an indication that the plan is not working. Often a late or restless night, for me, serves as a reminder of how important a good night's sleep is.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Terry Roe

Some people paint, others dance, and happy people sing. Writing is the white space that allows me to color some moods, move some thoughts, and hum some tunes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.