Motivation logo

Side Hustle

Why I continue after I fail

By Bea UsamaniPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Side Hustle
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

When the pandemic started, what was your goal? What were you planning to accomplish at the end? Were you trying to accomplish a weight goal? A business? A dream?

At the time, I absolutely hated my job. As a teacher, unless you are passionate about your job, you shouldn't become a teacher. There is not enough pay for the amount of work you do outside of teaching on your spare time. The grading, the preparing, I was never able to really rest or hang out with friends guilt free when there was something else I had to do for my job. I honestly hated the nine to five job. I wanted to van life, I wanted to travel, I wanted to get that body that I have always wanted to. But these were only dreams until my husband expanded my narrow mind to believe that more things were possible.

I quit my job, and started blogging, but that got too complicated and difficult for me. So I kept searching in my heart for what my passion is. I love fashion and dressing up cute. It gives me confidence and makes me feel like me. So I starting a clothing company online through Printiful and Wix. I sold a few sweaters due to support of friends and family, but I did not know how to advertise well. So I quit, then I tried to become a famous tiktoker. I mean, who hasn't? Some of you may have even followed me! But after a year, I only made it to 3K followers and I did not have that much time (and also I had to get a 9-5 by then). Then I tried to become a youtuber. One of my videos is going viral right now about taking off your make up in less than five minutes, but because of my 9-5 I had to get, I had no time for it. Now I am back to trying to blog again.

Maybe I have not fully dedicated myself to one side hustle and thats why I did not become too successful with one, but I believe that if I wanted it enough, I would naturally work harder, I would drive myself. I did not want my side hustle to be a burden. I wanted it to be fun. I am also considering making a podcast.

But why have I not given up after I inherently "failed"?

If you have tried side hustles that you feel like you were a failure at, heres some perspective. Ask yourself, how much do I like what I am doing? Are there parts of this that I can delegate to others? Or is it just something that I don't see myself doing for a long time? Is it something that I feel I will just need time to learn? Or is it something that just will never give me joy?

Am I passionate about this enough to research and keep going?

If you said yes to the last question but you don't know how to keep going, take baby steps. I like blogging. It is almost like journaling to me but everyone is listening. Getting 2 reads on my first article? That was exhilarating to me. I like that I am kind of anonymous and I can be completely honest without fear of my friends and family making comments about me. I started my own website, but I decided that the baby steps that I need to take are blogging on another site first. Just to get my grove on. See what content I can write that is the most drawing to other people.

Find where you can start and what you are best at. If you truly wanted whatever your goal was, then you would find a way. Listen to only motivational people who support you. If you really wanted to, you would find a way to reach that goal. Everyone has that potential in themselves. And believe in yourself. Which is a whole other challenge in it of itself.

You can do it. Anyone can do it. Be creative. Creativity in limitations is your greatest weapon. Grab that freedom. Grab that inner peace. You got one life. Spend it the way you want to.

advice

About the Creator

Bea Usamani

Hi! Welcome to my profile! My name is Bea and I am here to support and give advice to women who are trying to understand themselves through my own personal experiences.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Bea UsamaniWritten by Bea Usamani

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.