Motivation logo

Shut and write

Why writing awful scripts have become my salvation.

By Mohamed AliPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Shut and write
Photo by Artem Sapegin on Unsplash

In terms of creative projects, I have a few of them well I should say that I have a few that I want to do. Alas most of my ideas and creative project remain unfinished or life just gets in the way. Fortunately, there has been one thing that bucked the trend – writing scripts. I once entered a script writing competition and though I never won or wrote anything remotely resembling - well good. Despite this however, nothing at this moment of time gives a greater sense of peace, joy, fulfillment and self-worth.

Whether it is a drama about a gambling addict, a satire about football or a thousand year spanning epic sci-fi it doesn’t matter whether or not it gets published or even considered for development, I write for myself and for my own enjoyment. For many years stories and interesting ideas (at least interesting for me) would constantly get stuck in my head time and time again. Writing scripts allows me to bring to life that which have plagued my mind my whole life. In the middle of work or whilst watching my favourite show, ideas and concepts would flow though my head and I would leave with a feeling of sorrow knowing that in my head is where they would stay. I was pregnant without any chance of giving birth. Either they stayed in my womb or they died slowly. So, I cannot convey the relief I felt when I began to write my first script and the sheer joy when I completed that script. I was cleansing my mind and finally found the antidote to the sickness I never knew I had.

I don’t like labels, even though I can be an introvert majority of the time, given the right environment I can come alive. It is in the classroom where I find myself most comfortable. I love teaching and I love the kids but the paper work and prep work can be draining and it is one of the few spaces I find myself most comfortable to express multiple aspects of myself. People aren’t just one thing; no label can ever be enough to define anyone. Which is why I love to write. It is my scripts where I get truly express every facet of being. My hopes, dreams and desires all fully realized on few pages.

Since I wrote my first script, I have never felt so fulfilled and at peace. Now any free time I get I am either writing or planning something to write. After long day of teaching, there is nothing I like more than to get lost into a world of my own creation. I am not for complaining about the monotony of life, especially as a teacher of 11 – 18-year-olds. However, writing certainly adds greatly to breaking the usual routine. My wonders and gets lost in many worlds. Through writing I can travel to places I can’t which was especially important and beneficial during the pandemic. I was fortunate to be living with my family and we knew when give each other space, however whenever I needed to escape from my and our reality writing scripts was my salvation.

I can objectively say that my scripts are not works of great art in fact most of them are absolutely terrible but it doesn’t matter to me as I am truly doing this for myself and my own sense of peace. To anyone who wants to pick up writing and hasn’t done so yet should. Even with the pandemic, hopefully, nearing its end, the chance to allow our minds to ease, our creativity to flourish and our hearts to be filled is more important now then ever. So what are you waiting for? Shut up and let’s get writing.

self help
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.