Motivation logo

Should I Read or Should I Go?(and Write)

How we interact we one another in the Vocal Groups

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
18

I get drawn into reading stories on Vocal. This probably affects my normal book reading

Right I'm just actually going to try and do this by talking into it. I do like writing and at the moment have got 7 pieces in train on here.

I use Google docs and I'm trying this by just speaking into it.

I'm trying to spend time writing but also , I drop into Facebook and see various people posted things like we've got the VSS, Vocal Social Society Fab 5 and that's absolutely great.

They choose five items that you need to read ,so you then spend time reading these amazing works.

While I'm reading I realise that I'm not writing. I can't do two things at once, I'm a man and I can't multitask, so then I think when I'm reading on vocal I'm not writing and not reading books.

So if I'm not writing, people are not going actually see that I have produced anything, and they are unlikely to visit my back catalogue, and therefore would not interact with me.

Therefore possibly writing is more important to me than reading, however I've got to read to support other people because I can't expect you to read mine if I don't read yours.

If I read yours I've gotta leave a comment on and say something. If I don't say that then I'm not interacting with you and I've got to give if I want to get.

I think we're all in the same boat it's all very nice to actually write and be acknowledged but if we don't write then people don't see you as actually doing anything

If we are not writing we might leave comments and they'll heart what we actually said but not actually seen anything that we have written on Vocal because we have nothing to share. When this happens we need to go to their profile and see what they have been up to. Subscriptions are also good for this.

Right this is the second half of this I when I finished there was something like 470 words, when I had edited it, it was down to 300 words so I obviously talk a lot of rubbish.

This is something we need to do. We need to read other people's works, we need to leave comments, we need to leave hearts , we need also offer constructive criticism .

I am fine with receiving constructive criticism but I also like to receive praise and I think we all do.

If we do something wrong please tell us what to do to make it right and improve. If we do something night praise us for it and maybe pick up on it and say "I'm going to try that as well". it's the interaction on these groups that is absolutely beneficial to all

I am incredibly privileged to have actually made some wonderful friends and I never thought this would happen when I started with Vocal.

I am sticking with it and I am going to be writing and writing more. To me writing is the most important thing I think , followed by reading and commenting on Vocal groups, then I read my books and I listen to my music.

It's just the perfect you know you all and really lovely to be part of these groups.

So obviously I called this "Should I Read or should I Write" and the only music that's got a go with that is obviously the Clash's "Should I Stay or Should I Go " which I want sang with my band Spoon (not the famous one). I may have to see if I can find recording and put it up on YouTube at some point so you can hear how bad my voice really is. Here is one example o my singing with them:

Everybody have a great day and I love you

advice
18

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.