Motivation logo

Seth Godin's Ten Things

As an expert on freelancing and entrepreneurship, Seth Godin offers wisdom to budding business owners of all stripes. Here's some of what I've learned so far.

By Addison HornerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Seth Godin's Ten Things
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Are you good enough?

I absolutely HATE this question. It pierces the armor I've built up around myself, the layers of professionalism and validation I've acquired over the years, and punches me in the soul. In my successes it whispers doubt, and in my failures it shouts condemnation. It tries to unmake me.

Seth Godin knows what I'm talking about. In his freelancer course (linked below), he elucidates that feeling for us:

...deep down, all of us are afraid of someone saying, "You know, you're not as good as you think you are."

As someone who's been on the freelancing journey for a long time, Seth gets it. Not only that, he offers wisdom for those of us caught in the middle.

And I can use all the wisdom I can find.

I hear voices.

I've played piano since I was four years old. Whenever I perform, teach lessons, lead worship, or record in the studio, I hear that voice in my head, hissing like a serpent...

"Do you really think you're qualified for this?" it asks.

I roll my eyes. "We've been over this. You're just trying to undermine me. Kindly shut up."

The serpent slithers around my neck to whisper in my ear. "Have you considered that you've been completely wrong about every aspect of your life? Just a thought."

"I'm a professional," I say, closing my eyes and willing the voice to go away. "I know what I'm doing."

The serpent laughs. "You know exactly nothing."

And so on.

As a line editor working with clients, I've felt the sting of imposter syndrome. I recently launched my newsletter, and even though the response has been positive, I still wonder why on earth people would listen to me. It has nothing to do with my reality and everything to do with my fear.

Seth's teaching style draws me in because he neither coddles nor blames his students. He speaks to the person I am and shows me the kind of person I want to become – driven, successful, and compassionate. It's all about the story I tell myself.

As part of Seth's course, I had to make a list of ten things that I deliever to my client. Not the products – fantasy novels, line edits, or whatever – but the ideas that make me exceptional. Do the items on my list resonate with you?

~

1. Possibility

I give editing clients a front-row seat to the world they want to see – a world where their stories thrill and captivate readers.

2. Passion

I give my clients 100% because I expect nothing less from myself. I love crafting prose, whittling the rough edges away and polishing until it shines. I care about my work as much as my clients care about theirs.

3. Respect

I treat my clients as I want to be treated by my own editor. I honor the time, sweat, and tears every writer puts into their work.

4. Answers

When a client asks a question, I have an answer that enhances their understanding and grows our relationship. Our connection, built on trust and respect, is paramount.

5. Questions

I ask questions that help my clients see the brilliance of their work, showing them where they shine and where they can grow even brighter.

6. Expertise

I bring years of writing experience, professional certification, and a trustworthy hand to the editing process. My clients can trust me because I've done the work to trust myself.

7. Timeliness

I set dates and honor them because I know my abilities. Even when life goes off script, my clients can expect clear, reliable communication at any stage of the process.

8. Consistency

I strive to work toward my goals every day. I establish consistent rhythms in my own life that allow me to serve my clients' needs in the same way.

9. Growth

I learn from every client's story just as every client learns from my experience. We help each other.

10. Validation

I show my clients that they deserve to be heard. I amplify their voices.

~

What ideas would make your list? What ideas would you want to put on your list? Tell me in the comments!

For my fellow fiction writers, here's what I learned from finishing my second novel:

You can sign up for my newsletter here – the first 50 subscribers receive a free ebook:

For more on writing and editing, follow me on Instagram @addisonhornerauthor and visit my website.

successself helpadvice
1

About the Creator

Addison Horner

I love fantasy epics, action thrillers, and those blurbs about farmers on boxes of organic mac and cheese. MARROW AND SOUL (YA fantasy) available February 5, 2024.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.