Motivation logo

Self Inspiration

Being a better you

By Edna RowellPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

This story may seem a little odd for most people but it's mine and I own it. So many people in this world are inspired by others but I wasn't that lucky. I was a poor girl who had no one to look up to. I didn't have a great mother figure, or a super hero or celebrity to look up to to gain any inspiration. You see, at the tender age of five, I had a mom who was abused by her boyfriend, who was afraid of him , and didn't have courage. He was on drugs and she was just afraid and broken. I watch him beat up, chock her until you would cough up blood and pass out. How could I be inspired by someone so broken? All I wanted was to live a normal child hood and be happy. My step dad wasn't just beating her up every chance that he got but he was mentally and physically abusing me too.

I was only five years old when he started coming into my room at night touching me or making me touch him. I never understood what was going on but I knew it wasn't right. I remember at the age of six , he hurt me really bad. The back of throat would hurt a lot because he would force me to do thing i didn't like. As time moved forward he would take things to the next level and start molesting me. I was molested from the age of five to eight almost every night and I had no one to save me. I remember going to school one day and telling my teacher. She told me she would get me help. I didn't know the help that I would receive would result in me getting beat, locked in closets and my mom telling me I wasn't her child anymore. She didn't want me.

My mom gave me away when I was nine years old because she said I was trying to take her boyfriend away from her. How could she say such a thing to a child? My new home was with my grandmother (dad's mom) because no one on my mom's side would take me in. I loved it there because I had a yard to play in , food to eat and good clothing to wear. I had someone to sit me down and not say I was dumb when I got something wrong. No one was harming me. However, I missed my mom even though she wasn't very protective and said a lot of bad things to me. I also wanted to know where my dad was. Did my dad not want me to?

I asked my grandmother about my dad and she told me that he was killed when I was a baby and didn't say much past that. As time went on, and the years passed by, I grew very angry and bitter. I wanted answers that I was never given and I did every and anything to get the attention of my mom. I was self harming and destructing at an alarming rate. My grandmother was so protective of me and didn't let me do anything so I joined every outdoor activity there was just so i would get away from home. One day at the age of 14 my cousin and I was walking home late one evening, and a guy held me at gun point and forced me in an abandoned apartment building and raped me. He told me if I said anything he would find me again and kill me. I never said a word.

Things kept getting worse for me . I had all the bad luck when it came to sex. Again at age 16 , I was gang raped. This time by people I thought was helping me. I was so afraid and decided to tell my grandmother because these are people that I saw all the time. She told me that I was lying and was probably being fast. That gang rape resulted in me being pregnant with my first child. At the age of 16, a junior in high school and pregnant with my first child.

As you can see, so far I had no one in my life to inspire me. By the age of 19 , I had two kids and by the age of 24 I had three. The relationships that I had been in were violent, abusive and draining. I had three kids watching me, two of them who were girls and I wanted to protect them from everything that i had been through. At that very moment, I choose to be a better me. I went back to school to earn my B.S. in Criminal Justice, I started drawing and painting when I was sad, and I started writing poetry.

I had to inspire myself to become a better person for my kids. I wanted to give them the type of love and mother that I needed. I also decided to take my power back. I was comfortable enough to share my pain with people and they would use it against me. I wrote a book called Bittersweet: Confessions, Secrets, and Poetry. In the book, I told my truth and gave advice to people who was afraid to speak out like I was. When the book got published, I no longer felt ashamed or bitter about my past. I wasn't going to be the victim anymore. Some people in the world don't have inspiration because all they see is darkness , but I was one of the lucky ones who found a way to be inspired by one one other than herself. I dug deep within and found the person that I wanted to be because there was no one in my life that I wanted to be or looked up to. I visualized my highest self and started showing up for her.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.