Motivation logo

Say Hello to Self Love

Born to make YOURSELF happy.

By That One BaristaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

As I'm sitting here listening to Britney Spear's first album, and her track number five, "Born To Make You Happy," I cannot help but think about if she redid that track in 2019 how it would sound. There is always so much talk about making our significant other happy, but what about our own self? How can we love someone else, if we do not even have enough self love for our own being? Lately, I have been learning some things, and I wanted to pass them along for whoever needed them; because 2019 is the year of self love, and 2020 is just going to keep it going... So here are a few things I learned, or took with me as I processed this self love journey, and what I did to cope. Self love is a personal journey, and it is the most satisfying thing I have ever done for myself.

I've learned that before I could even think about being in a relationship, or having a friendship that was a real, good honest one; I had to figure out how to be a friend to myself, and how to love myself. It was one of the hardest thing to figure out that I did not have enough self love, but I was so happy I realized it before it was too late. Trying to figure out how to love myself after a few years of not actually loving myself was a hard thing. You have days where it is hard to find certain things to compliment yourself on, to treat yourself with, or to do. Some days you just wanna lay in bed with ice cream, or in my case it was sonic and watch really sad movies on Netflix.

The trick was to find songs that made you happy, to find foods that were healthy that you found yourself wanting more of, and to limit your Netflix addiction, because there is only so many times you can watch every season of Gossip Girl over and over again. I kept watching every season over, until I finally found the strength to get up and go work out. I remember my trainer helping me through the beginning stages of finding myself again; and I will forever be thankful for her, and those moments. Life will give you every reason to give up; but you have to push through and know that you can do it no matter what. I have also learned, that I can only truly trust God, my father, family and myself... So learning to love myself in midst of everything was hard. But somehow I got through it, and stronger I became.

Figuring out how to love yourself is hard, trust me. But in the end process, I gained so much more, and I knew that whatever comes your way; strong I will continue to be. Heartbreak won't hurt as much. Friendships that I thought were good, but somehow end up being toxic again, did not break me like they use to. Self love taught me so much, about myself; yes... But self love taught me more about the people I needed to surround myself with, and the right characters I needed to choose in my life. Self love taught me how to choose better for myself, and for that I am forever thankful.

So instead of being born to make someone else happy, why not choose to being born to making myself happy? Let's all give it a try, and just see how much happier we are, and how much of a positive outlook we can spread to others, and make this world a better place full of self love, and happiness.

<3

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.