Motivation logo

Sad Superpower

Milly Mercury

By Milly MercuryPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Sad Superpower
Photo by Alex on Unsplash

I have a knack for taking an idea and turning it into a creation. My chosen creative outlets that make my heart soar are writing, singing, drawing, painting, acting, dancing, and interpreting. I love to interpret my feelings and point of view and create art out of thin air. I believe that the closest thing we have to the divine is artistic creation of any kind, and that can be specific or general to anything. Cooking is artistic creation, architecture is artistic creation. Humans need to be creative for survival and every human is an artist who interprets in their own way with their own senses and ideas. I love to be inspiration to any beholder by creating art through as many outlets that I can find. I’m not bragging that I’m great at every outlet I dabble at but it’s so much fun experiencing them. I am a singer, songwriter, poet, author, fashionista, and hairdresser. I actually like labels, when it’s light, fun, and not discriminatory. I like putting labels on myself because it helps me define myself through words and affirmations. I like to remind myself of my given labels because I want to entrain my self consciousness to love myself and see the beauty in myself so that I can reflect it back to others and show others what is beautiful within themselves. Beauty is not in the eye of the beholder, beauty is everywhere in the universe and just because a beholder judges it as beautiful or imperfect, does not make it so. I’ve written a song titled “Good in Goodbye.” When I wrote it, I had just said my goodbyes to my boyfriend, we broke up. I used that emotion I felt that day to write lyrics about how I felt. I wondered what exactly the good in goodbye was when it hurt to say goodbye to the one you love. In the song I cry because I can’t hear birds singing and I can’t see that the sky is blue because I had lost you. I explained in an interview with stereo stickman, a music blog in the UK about how there is good in goodbye. The good is the day after the necessary tears were shed. Crying is a good way for the body to release pent up energy in the body and cleanses your energy from sadness to acceptance. Crying also relieves stress, helps you sleep better, and releases endorphins. That’s part of the reason why the next morning after you’re done crying, you’re ready to start a new day full of sunshine, birds chirping, and blue skies. I wrote a children’s book on dealing with sadness and it introduces the topic of mental health. I wrote a cute story about Beethoven the Bear, a talented young bear cub who played music with his friend Pete the Baby Seal. One day Pete goes on vacation and leaves Beethoven by his lonesome. Beethoven is a Bipolar Bear- he is half honey bear and half polar bear. He experiences sadness deeper than other bears, but his sensitivity to his feelings is not a curse but it is his super power. He realizes that it’s perfectly ok to cry and have sad feelings and that it doesn’t make him q bad bear and that he’s welcomed and accepted in the world just the way he is. I wrote this book to inspire parents to be nurturing and graceful toward their children when they are sad because talking about how it isn’t shameful to cry, it teaches that it’s okay to share sad feelings and to not feel like they should feel guilty about feeling sad. This might help kids grow up to be more self aware and conscious adults who know to talk to someone when they need to. The goal is to have awareness on mental health and the importance of lifting that stigma because it’s a social stigma that was taught, so it should be taught early so that it isn’t a taboo topic. I want the book to inspire kids and adults alike to know that they are special, loved, and welcome in the world just the way they are, with no stigma coming from a label. I wanted to turn my curse into my super power by creating Beethoven the Bear. I want Beethoven to inspire the world to accept others like Beethoven who’s been given a label because of his sadness. But being blue is not a bad thing. Blue is a special color because it is the color of the hottest flame, it is the color of the sky, and the ocean. Blue is the color of creation and the earth is blue. Being blue is special. So I hope that Beethoven inspires others to take their blue and turn it into their sensitive super power. I am Milly Mercury and I make a difference in the world with my voice.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Milly Mercury

artist, singer, songwriter, poet, 💗, lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.