Motivation logo

S.O.S.

Code blue,time to get the crash cart. I’m alive and willing to feel and spread joy!

By Dalianis RodriguezPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Books bring me immense joy, this is my dream room! Scroll down for some book joy!

My choice for social media account: If you're not following her, do it now!!!

Let's begin with the lovely, brave and talented Alicia Cook. Love, it’s multidimensional. And as cliche as it sounds, it really does make the world a better place. I want to talk about the love and bond of sisterhood. I want to show you an account and it’s author, who’s not only been a great inspiration, but her books have been my sober sponsor. Her account has also taught me self love. Her Instagram handle is @thealiciacook. In her career as a writer and activist she shares her own experience with addiction through her cousin, who died because of heroin. Her career is growing fast, and yet she still has time for little me. We became Instagram friends, I read one of her poems and it hit home for me. We talked shortly about my struggle with addiction, I was addicted to prescription medicine and I almost died. Her words were so raw and so full of emotional truth, that it drew me to buying her first two books, “Stuff I've been Feeling” and I “Hope my Voice Doesn't Skip”, both of which I keep close to me. One under my pillow and one on my nightstand. They work as my emotional fire extinguisher! I'm sharing this in particular because, even though it might seem sad, it's truly not! I enjoy her account immensely, it brings me joy because she cares! She inspires me, I haven't had the best life, but I can say with certainty that reading her books has broadened my perspective, love, and friendship. I hope you search for her account, and I hope that she brings you joy as much as she has to me and so many other people. I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes from her book, "I've come this far on a broken heart-functioning at maybe on a good day, 40% efficiency. So I think you should be nervous about what I'll accomplish once I heal. The mountains I'll move, the miles i'll cover, the skin I'll get under." Absolutely brilliant!!!! This is my mantra!!!! I should be dead right now! If her words don't bring me joy, what else will?! The bond of sisterhood!

My music video choice:

I chose this video in my native tongue Spanish, because it's visually stunning and self explanatory. The first time I heard and saw this video, I couldn't stop crying. I watched it over and over and over again until I couldn't breathe through my nose!!! The translated title of the song is the same in English, Irreparable. Bare with my darkness for a moment and I promise that we will get to the love and the joy part. There was a point in my life where I was completely broken, irreparable, like the song. I was raped at the age of fourteen for three consecutive years. That man 12 years older destroyed me, and I wanted to die. I’d gotten used to the dark, I was Stockholmed. In the video he tells her, “I know why you fear the light, I know how hard it is to smile, I have been there, let me in and i'll make you see that you won't be broken forever“. He pleads to her; his love becomes her cure. I want to apply this to every type of love. Because we see where they are, a room full of people that have been beaten, broken and bruised. And the darkness stops them from seeing that there is always light! It has taken me more than ten years to get to where I am. Happy with myself. Willing to love without fear. If you watch the whole video you won't be able to contain a smile when the girl he's singing to begins to twirl, that's me as well. Love is contagious, love is scary, even self love has it's challenges! They run outside and light all the colors, (I believe that those who've seen darkness are the ones who can truly appreciate color and true beauty!). They run freely, smiling, finally venturing out of their heads and following their beating hearts, joined in joy! Which is one of the greatest gifts we can enjoy, and it's free! This video was an exorcism of sorts. I watch it whenever I feel like I'm going to spiral down, and I am reminded of how lucky I am, how loved I am. Every day I make the decision to be happy and full of joy! I hope you enjoy the video, for me it was cathartic.

My happy place picture choice:

Books are my life. I've been an archer, a sorcerer, I have fought dragons. I've also been a spy in a secret society. I've fallen in love, I have also time traveled to the past and the future! OK! I know what you're thinking, "This girl is insane!" Don't lock me up yet! Books are alternate worlds that you can just enter and live in. Different utopias that we create as a save haven. Books bring so much joy to lots of people, and from personal experience, you learn a lot from books They are fiction, fantasy, biographies, historical, historical fiction, non fiction, dystopian worlds...the list goes on and on!!! Besides meditation and yoga, books are my go to happy place. I love learning, I'm autodidactic, I'm also very curious and if there is something I don't know, I will research everything, because having that new information expands my perception and allows me to understand others. I love to read about other countries and cultures. I read adult books, but I love Young Adult as well. I'm in some ways childish when it comes to books. I also love sharing this passion with my best friend Raquel, she lives in Puerto Rico and whenever I can I send her books that I've loved and that I know she'll love! This room sums up my love for books, I absolutely want to live in a place like this! I enjoy retellings as well. I enjoy seeing known stories from different perspectives. I get really excited to see how a different author will reimagine the book. Reading is one of the most enjoyable experiences that I have (I even have a reading nook with a special blanket, it's where I cuddle up with my hot chocolate, or tea and a book). If the world came to an end, and I could only keep one thing, it would be books! Spread the love!

happiness
1

About the Creator

Dalianis Rodriguez

Hi! As my profile says, my name is Dalianis, Dali for short. I breathe creative expression. I believe in God, I'm a pastor's daughter and I don't like religion. My north is God and love to all humankind. Let's create beauty!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.