Motivation logo

Rodney Wash

Inspirational Talk Show Host

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
2
Rodney Wash (Talk Show Host)

A lot of people might have known Rodney Wash as “Cognac” from his talk show “Lipstick and Cognac” on “Rolling out Magazine,” but now he goes by Rodney. Rodney has a talk show called “Over a Cup of Coffee with Rodney Wash” on “AIB Network.” Also, "Let’s Talk with Rodney Wash" is a dynamic new talk show created by the Mississippi native. With hundreds of Celebrity collaborations under his belt, "Let’s Talk with Rodney Wash" will deliver authentic, exclusive insight on your favorite celebrities. Charismatic and energetic, Atlanta-based talk show host Rodney Wash without a doubt has created a brand that offers viewers an intimate conversation on a plethora of topics. Viewers can expect discussion on many serious topics that many people can relate to with the guest that comes on Rodney's show. This show offers viewers a different perspective from an open-minded aspect.

Raised by his dad and mom, Rodney grew up under the roof with five other siblings, controlled chaos as he would explain it. Rodney attended USM and studied Bio-Chemistry… Quite the switch up!

It wasn’t until September 23, 2012, when Rodney experienced a near-death car wreck. This would forever change his life, being able to walk away from such a tragedy he was reminded that growing up he wanted to make people laugh and that his pastor told him that he would speak to crowds of millions. Rodney always wanted his own talk show to shed light on things in the media and life experiences. This is the passion that keeps the flame going for Rodney Wash.

Rodney defines selflessness, humbleness, passion, resilience, and triumph.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into the media industry?

Rodney Wash:

Honestly, as a child, I would always play "talk show host" with my cousins. I would mimic my interviews after Barbara Walters and Oprah Winfrey. I also remember a time when I was portraying to be Jerry Springer. I had my cousins fighting and all. We even had a mini stage set up just like the one Jerry Springer had on his set. Boy was those days fun as a child. With that being said, I was always fascinated with people's stories. It was like you were seeing the world from their eyes. I even told my parents as a child that I will be the next Oprah Winfrey!

Tammy Reese:

Who are some of your favorite interviews so far and why?

Rodney Wash:

The most iconic is when Barbara Walters interviewed Whitney Houston. The fact that Barbara wasn't there to play nice really intrigued me. You could tell that Barbara was there to get the truth and nothing less. I enjoyed 106 & Park interviews as well. I loved it when AJ and Free interviewed Ciara. It was very interesting to see her talk about how the music industry received her. It was also cool to see her perform "Promise". However, my favorite interview was with Tamron Hall and Andrew Gillum. It was very interesting to see why he was caught with those two men. I also respected the fact that his wife had his back, but you could tell that she was not happy that their secret was exposed in my opinion.

Tammy Reese:

What are some of your proudest moments in your career?

Rodney Wash:

My first proudest moment in my career is when Rolling Out Magazine picked up my talk show "Lipstick and Cognac". I was so nervous because it was people going for the same position that I still look up to today. That moment taught me that if you have God and good content that ANYTHING is possible. Another proud moment in my career is when I was featured in Sheen Magazine. I was really shocked. The fact that I was featured in a magazine that Grandma reads made my ENTIRE day! Being a guest on the V-103 radio station (Joyce Littel Show) was also a BIG DEAL TO ME!! However, my proudest moment thus far is when I had my own talk show "Over a Cup of Coffee with Rodney Wash" on AIB Network. Having a watch party and seeing the room packed with people who were there to support me was a dream come true! The show even is nominated for "Rising Star in Media" for the Black Media Honors award show. It only goes up from here!

Tammy Reese:

What have been some obstacles?

Rodney Wash:

Well, I had a very bad car wreck on September 23, 2012, which affected my pronunciation. That was something that really did bother me because I love to talk to people, and it really makes me feel unlettered when my mouth can't keep up with my mind. However, I have learned to live with it. I just slow down my speech when I feel like my tongue is getting tied.

Rodney Wash (Author of "Media World Through My Eyes")

Tammy Reese:

What do you think is the future of the media industry?

Rodney Wash:

The future of media is seeing my name everywhere! No, but seriously I see the media industry being more diverse with their award shows and on-air talent. I see a future where anyone can turn on their TV and see a representation of them. I just hope the media industry doesn't get too overly sensitive. It will do everyone in the future a disservice if the on-air talent isn't able to tell their truth respectfully.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Rodney Wash:

Well, I am currently pitching out my talk show "Let's Chat w/Rodney" out to networks. I'm also doing a book tour for my book, "Media World Through My Eyes", and of course, I'm also going to Carpe Diem every media opportunity that comes my way. In that order lol (Mama DEE).

Tammy Reese:

Please tell me about your journey as an Author?

Rodney Wash:

Well, I would have never fathomed that I would be an Author because I hate writing. I really was just receiving a lot of messages in my DM's asking me about how did I build my brand and one day I just decided to write a book about it. Which in retrospect has been one of the best decisions in my entire life. My book, "Media World Through My Eyes", was #1 on Amazon's New releases on kindle. Also, over 2500 people purchased my book as well.

The purpose of my book is to help anyone who is starting a brand. In my book you will learn about the "8 PILLARS OF BRANDING" when it pertains to your brand: WHAT IS YOUR PASSION, BRANDING YOUR BRAND, NETWORKING, BEING UNSEEN, DON'T BE APART OF EVERY OPPORTUNITY, BUILDING YOUR TEAM, RUN YOUR BRAND LIKE A BUSINESS, AND HOW TO MAKE MONEY OFF OF YOUR BRAND!

I'm really happy to say that I have a google panel now because of my book. My book can now be purchase in Barnes and Nobles, Books-A-Million, Amazon, and IndieBound. If you are really serious about turning your passion into reality then my book is for you.

Tammy Reese:

What are you looking forward to in the coming year?

Rodney Wash:

Honestly, I don't believe in setting goals. I feel like when you set goals you could be blocking a bigger blessing from God. So all I do is continue to market myself and pray that my endeavors are in alignment with God's purpose for my life.

Tammy Reese:

What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Rodney Wash:

Just follow my social media. You just never know what I could be doing next :).

Tammy Reese:

Who is your dream interview?

Rodney Wash:

Twinkie Clark!!! I just love her. I truly believe I am her adopted son in my head. She is the epitome of Gospel music. She is a living LEGEND in my book. I just pray that I have the opportunity to interview her before God calls any of us home.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for aspiring media professionals?

Rodney Wash:

My advice to anyone who aspires to work in the media industry is to always be polite to everyone you cross paths with. Please don't ever downplay another fellow media personality because they are not where you are in life. You also will have to learn how to trust people. However, the spirit of discernment is real. Networking is the blood in your veins in media. If you don't know how to pivot yourself then the media industry isn't for you. Also many times you will have to create your own vision before others will appreciate it. The word "No" is more of a blessing than a curse. The "No's" is what makes you stronger and better in the media industry. Finally, you have to learn how to invest in your dreams. If you are frugal with money then this probably isn't the field for you.

Rodney Wash (Black Media Honors Nominee)

Check out Rodney's branding class HERE!

Keep up-to-date with Rodney Wash and his career journey by connecting with him on Social Media:

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

YouTube

LinkedIn

Photography By: Lifestyle Images

Instagram: @lifestyleimagesatl

interview
2

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.