Motivation logo

Resolution of rest

A wonderful journey into a new year and New you.

By IAM SimplyShanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Resolution of rest
Photo by Andriyko Podilnyk on Unsplash

Hello January

Let me start off by saying , Happy New Year! May it be a year of unexpected miracles , happiness , joy and good health.

Many have already started preparing for the the new year ahead , Which may include , deep cleaning , re decorating your homes , possibly refreshing the energy from after the holidays. While others are trying to create a solid momentum of taking their health and wellness daily regimen .

Lets face it , 2021 has been one heck of a year for each and everyone of us. In turn , some of us are just excited for a fresh start. While others are trying to find ways to just stay afloat . That embedded go go mentality, also known as hustle culture. In attempt to pay off the debt occurred over the holidays and release some extra weight. Maybe it’s to read more , spend time with our hobbies , or learn a new language ?

It may be quite challenging at times to think about and set realistic goals and resolutions that are attainable. I believe that this time of year is not only just an opportunity to set new goals, and resolutions but also a time to take inventory of my life up until this point.

A question I ask myself and I encourage you to do the same is ,

What happened in 2021 that SERVED my highest self and added to my life, that I will continue to amplify in 2022 ?

This very question , can take hours to explain all the things that’s served , and for the sake of your time. I will proceed to share one of top five . That is the beauty of Journaling .

Let’s get into it , shall we?

Journalling

By STIL on Unsplash

Journaling is truly a form of meditation in its own way. It’s literally prayer, taking place on paper. Yes you read that correctly prayer. Its when my heart and mind are truly in deep conversation. Breaking down my walls with words. Just the raw version of who I am, the good and not so favourable. It’s truly therapeutic in itself.

Journaling allows me to unpack my thoughts and self realizations. It’s allowing me to honour quiet time with myself , it’s relax and recharge . In the year prior, I really made an effort to be consistent with spending time with myself. I seen how it positively impacted my life and others around me.

When journaling is a daily task, deep reflection becomes almost second nature. Your critical thinking skills improve and you’re better able to understand new concepts . Sitting down with your thoughts every day , and scribbling out a few good sentences allows negativity to exit your body and peace and clarity to truly enter. Your brain is then in motion and you can really be attentive. One small action might feel insignificant at first, but it allows you to gain the momentum you need to ramp up to bigger challenges.

Journaling helps me understand , how I feel at that present moment . Once you know how you feel, you can gain so much clarity on where to go and what to do in order to get where you want to be . (Big emphasis on clarity )

Journaling allows me to have a clear vision , as to where I want to go . What steps do I Need take in order to work towards it.

Keeping a journal is sacred practice by design. The reason I believe that is because it helps lead you to a more defined, brighter place. It helps you find your way back to yourself. It holds you accountable.

So, great. You get it: Journaling is good for you — physically, mentally, and emotionally.

You want to know what’s the best part ? It doesn’t have to be perfect !

____________________________

Imagine this

In one year from now, you wake up in the morning with the realization that you trusted the process. You committed yourself to transforming your life. You released YEARS (decades, even) of past pains, traumas, dramas, and disempowering beliefs that severally weighed you down.

AND NOW…you’re exactly where you’ve always dreamed of being.

You are living your dream life .

The life you remember praying for .

The same one you thought was ImPossible just the prior year.

Recognizing the importance of cherishing what you currently have.

Recognizing just how important rest truly is.

and ASAP

Allows , Stop and pray

You look at yourself in the mirror and in gratitude , tears begin to fall . Seeing God’s grace upon your life. Realizing you are really there. You are living your dream life because you prioritized rest.

You see a noticeable glow

You see strong yet softness

You see peace

You can’t help but see a confident, and free version of yourself .

Staring back at you and you feel like you’re finally home.

Imagine this

One more thing ,

Grab your favourite bottle of some bubbly (With or without alcohol, that’s cool too !)

let’s Cheers 🥂 to 2022 and more happiness, more love , more laughter , more sleep , less drama . Less stress.

Stay Radiant

-Simply Shan

self help
1

About the Creator

IAM SimplyShan

Analytical, Food for thought stories and experiences through my eyes.

-Ss

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.