Motivation logo

Reset

(New Year, Day, Hour, Minutes, & Seconds)

By Unravelivonne Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Reset
Photo by Science in HD on Unsplash

The past can be haunting especially if it runs your everyday life. This year I want to focus on my present and my future because it will really help me have a positive outlook on life. I need to stop dwelling on my past because I cannot change what happened. I need to focus on myself both physically and mentally. While I focus on myself also help those around me who have stuck with me through it all. To start is the hardest part but it will be worth it to prove to myself that I can do it.

Get back in shape

Last year I accomplished losing over 50 pounds. While I most recently gained 20 of them back, I will continue to look forward and start to work out. I know I can do anything that I set my mind to. My ultimate goal is to feel great in my skin and feel unstoppable. I want to be able to achieve a combination of calisthenics and mixed martial arts. My sister has been having a hard time recently. After all she, gained a lot of weight because she had my niece and her bad eating habits. I am going to be there to support her by giving her advice and being her motivation to keep going. As much as I am there for her, she has to want the change more than anything. Nobody is going to be there to save you but yourself.

Start a new career

I have been stuck going through community college for an associate's degree that is not going to get me anywhere. While I would really love to transfer to a 4 year and get a bachelor’s degree, it, unfortunately, is not a possibility. I have always wanted to become a software developer but thought that it required a computer science degree. I found out quite recently that, that is not the case. I found out about boot camps and other types of schools that are available and do not require as much investment to start with. I got accepted to a school and ecstatic that I finally am going to have an opportunity to get a solid career.

Become Self-disciplined.

It can become overwhelming to become self-disciplined for a lot of people especially since it requires a lot of willpower. Not caring about what others think especially those within your inner circle. Finding the audacity to say no when it is very easy to say yes. Staying focused on your end goal. It requires getting out of your comfort zone and being okay with being uncomfortable. To stop making excuses about everything and to just start. Live your life to the fullest today no matter what day it is because you do not know if you are going to be alive tomorrow. I want to learn many things but not all things require going to school they just require a little bit of determination and structure.

A New year’s resolution can sometimes be a facade that we create in our minds to build some type of instant gratification. Having a goal does not require the essence of a new year but the mindset of determination and action. An example of this is the simple string of an idea flourishing but not being placed into a reality beyond imagination. You can say that you will work out, but you actually have to work out otherwise the results are only a figment of your imagination not an actual part of your reality. “You want something but how badly do you want it?”.

goals
1

About the Creator

Unravelivonne

I am trying to figure out what I want to do with my life. I love writing poetry to get my feelings across. I used to be very emotionless but someone unleashed the emotions from the safe. Let me unravel my story through my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.