Motivation logo

Reason for Writing

Why do I write?

By Matthew Ansaldo TaylorPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

Ok, I'm not entirely sure that I have the correct title and subtitle for this article, but trying to allocate an accurate wording to explain my mentality is proving challenging.

Do you ever write just for the sake of writing, or typing in this case? I have often been visited by the idea that I could take something that I run through my head time and time again and make a novel from it, or a block buster movie, or a Netflix TV show (the latter is probably my best hope) but when it comes down to me actually beginning to write, I normally get about the first paragraph/scene sorted and then, because I see it on paper (screen) I feel that my work is completed. I have a number of files on my google docs where I have attempted to go back into something that I have started but I spend most of the time revising that one lonely paragraph, not really improving it, but not making it any worse either. It's like being stuck in a literary time loop akin to that episode of Stargate "Window of Opportunity."

So I sit here and wonder, does anyone else go through the same problem, who do professional writers do this day in day out? I'd love to get to a point where I am consistent enough to, on a daily basis, write something like this and publish it on here.

I could sit here and blame my lifestyle, I have a 10 month old daughter, I am the sole provider in my household so I work as much as I physically can whilst trying to ensure that I am a part of my daughter's life and not just a drone that she catches glimpses of at the end of the day, but I'm sure that there are people in worse situations than me, who too are looking to get themselves off the shelf in terms of writing.

When I saw the ad for this on Facebook, I thought, well I enjoy a little bit of writing now and then, maybe this is the thing for me. My problem seems to be that I am incredibly inconsistent. Once I have gotten what I needed to write out of my system, I have a strong urge to stop writing.

My hope is that just by writing more and more on here, I will eventually get past this mental roadblock.

Is there anyone out there who can give me any advice about how to keep my enthusiasm up when I have completed a piece? Hopefully your advice will not only help me, but anyone else who is reading this article and facing the same hardship.

So my plan, if I can ever get it off the ground, is going to revolve around a TV series based on a particular comic book hero that I am a fan of that hasn't been done yet, I intend to get something put forward before my idea is imagined by another creative. I also would love to write a book based on a character who has lived through every event that you can imagine, but it is how to approach these things that makes my head feel like a barrel of monkeys that I am unsure of.

I have always been told that I have a creative streak, apparently paired with being left-handed it comes out through in me through language. I need to harness this power and stop being so lethargic and perhaps I may actually get something published.

goals
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.