Motivation logo

Raven and Owl

Lesson from the Shaman

By Sherry RyanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Raven and Owl
Photo by Kevin Mueller on Unsplash

In a vision, I came upon a man dressed in deer skin leggings and tunic. Leather thongs wove feathers and beads into his long black hair that hung heavy around his face. He peered at me through the darkest eyes I have ever seen. I was not afraid. I knew and loved this man, but I couldn’t remember from whence. I was filled with pure love to see this man. He was my Shaman.

As he moved toward me, he whispered, “Enjoy life.” It was almost inaudible. Yet it resonated through me like an ancient drumming and struck deep within my soul.

He quickly moved toward me placing his wrinkled hands on either side of my chest. Warm breath encircled me as he gazed deep into my eyes. Like talons of a great bird, his hands pulled on each side of my breast plate, splitting me wide open. My crimson heart pulsed with shock and anticipation. I gasped and held my breath. There was no pain.

The old man reached inside the open cavity. His hand explored my beating heart. Eyes closed; he searched the sinewy mass. Finally, his blood-stained hand withdrew holding a black stone. He pushed it toward the light of the moon. With blood trickling down his outstretch arm, the stone glistened in the night sky.

The Shaman tenderly explained, “This is your sorrow. It serves you no more. You must release this burden to Raven who will carry it away to safety.” The old man cackled the ancient language of Raven into the night’s sky. Suddenly, the moon was eclipsed by the outstretched wings of a black bird. Raven flew down and plucked the stone from the cupped palm of the Shaman’s upturned hand. With the stone in its beak, the black bird briefly hovered in flight above me. His wings pounding the air causing dust to spiral around my form. Beady black eyes compassionately gazed into my soul. With a knowing look, he turned and flew off.

The Shaman said, “Raven will care for your suffering and secrets, so you don’t have to. You must let it all go to move forward and enjoy all that this world has to offer you.”

As he spoke a white owl softly approached, like an angel from heaven. In its talons was a white stone reflecting the moonlight’s glow. Thwump, thwump, thwump the wings gently coursed through the sky whispering into the night. It dropped the stone into the Shaman’s outstretched and bloody palm. Taking it between his fore finger and thumb, he held it high. It shone with pure white light of love.

Placing it in my heart, he said, “This is the knowledge you have gained from all of your pain and suffering. You no longer need these lessons. The knowledge you have gained will bring you greater joy and peace.”

With kind hands, he closed my chest as he chanted and held space for my new vision of life.

“There’s more,” The old man whispered.

We walked toward a fire with tall flames licking skyward along a narrow path. “You must walk through these flames with the new knowledge you have gained.”

I gasped in fear.

“There is no need to fear this fire.” the Shaman advised and looking into my frightened eyes, he added. “Be confident and brave, as you walk through the flames free from your pain and fear. If allow it, your suffering will burn out your beautiful bright light. It will consume the life that you’re meant to live.” He turned back to me and rested his hand on my heart where the white crystal lay nestled. My chest glowed with its light. “Look to this for your purpose on your journey. It will always show you the way."

I walked through the fire and felt its heat but was not burned. I returned to the Shaman. He waved his arm across the sky where many images passed. These moved so quickly it was difficult to capture their meaning. Yet, I knew it was filled with all of the possibilities awaiting me, should I choose. I felt empowered and ready to live beyond my pain and suffering.

healing
1

About the Creator

Sherry Ryan

I have ink in my veins. It is a curse and a joy. Reality makes it challenging to devote myself to the pen. I have finally succumbed to my daemon blood and hereby commit myself to making it the reality of my life. Perhaps I will find peace.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.