Motivation logo

RAINBOW and her PATCHES

My life story, colored in candy coated rainbows

By Gloria WinderPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Hello, my name is "Rainbow Crystal Henderson" I remember as a kid how I was always teased and bullied by other kids because of my skin tones and my name which happened to be "Rainbow." But, I just tried to let it roll off. See I have a condition and it's called Vitiligo. Meaning, I have various light shades of patches, with a faint bit of pink and white on my brown skin.

Sometimes my mom would say, "Rainbow you're so sweet", she'd always compare me to her favorite sweet piece of candy. A piece of "coconut stripe rainbow candy" which had a little vanilla, sweet pink, and chocolate, just like the colors of patches I had throughout my skin, lol.

Sometimes after a while, I became sad about the bullying. My mom would say to me to help cheer me up, that I was a very sweet little girl, unique and strong. She said, to continue to let their words roll-off, and one day she knew I would be doing something very special in my life, besides worrying about those kids. She'd say, "don't let the little things in life bother you, honey". She'd go further and say "especially you, my sweet Rainbow". That always cheered me up.

Well, we all know how special and unique rainbows are. I remember asking her how the rainbows were held up in the sky so high? She said, "it was held up by many other strong and mighty colors on the backside of the rainbow". She said, "just like the colors in your skin, that keep you so strong, my love". She said also, "when you think kids are bullying you, they are just confused. They just don't understand your tenacity and strength to endure their jokes and innuendos when they talk about your unique patches.

One day my mom got very sick and passed away that Fall. I was very sad during that time. I cried and say to God, "I'm still just a kid, God why is this happening to me". It comforts me to think about some of the things my mom used to say. I remembered so many things but there is one piece that stayed in my heart, and thoughts constantly. It was about what she'd say about the colors I possessed. What she was trying to make clear to me was that the strong colors I possess are what held up the backside of the rainbows and I had the responsibility of holding the rainbows in the sky.

It made me smile to know that my colors were considered strong and mighty enough, to be part of something that was helping to brighten up everyone's day.

I know that when you see a rainbow in the sky, it makes you smile and something tingles inside making you happy. As a kid, I remember always wondering what was on the other side of the rainbow.

Now I understand, why I was special and unique. It's was the strong colors like my patches, that were constantly holding up rainbows in the sky.

"After a few long years, the bullying stopped, I stayed strong and just consistently let things roll off my back. Then I, Rainbow Crystal Henderson, got to tell my story as the Valley Victorian of my senior class!

I hope my mom is proud of me and still enjoying her coconut stripe rainbow candy as she looks down over the rainbows and me!

Thank you for reading my short story. I would appreciate your comments and if possible a small contribution. For I am so desperately trying to publishing my book. Thanking you'll in advance.

Much Luv Gloria 








healing
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.