Motivation logo

Put It To Rest!

Sleep Resolution 2022!

By Kai StormPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Yes indeed, it has been a couple of months since I penned a blog as I found myself stagnant while creating erotic stories....like literally, I have nothing else to say or any more stories to tell nor have I been told any stories worth repeating.

When it comes to New Year resolutions, I never make any. I don't even think about it! In fact, I usually laugh at people who do because to me, if you weren't already doing it or working towards whatever goal you set, making it a new year resolution won't give you the motivation you need to get it started. The whole thought of a "new year, new me" always seemed ridiculous to me so I never entertained the idea of having resolutions until now. Scrolling through Vocal Media and seeing the sleep resolution challenge not only woke up my creative side, it also allowed me to look into my idea of putting things to rest.

According to Google: "Sleep is an essential function that allows your body and mind to recharge, leaving you refreshed and alert when you wake up" and according to an article I found called 10 Healthy Sleep Hygiene Habits, one of the healthy habits listed was to manage stress before going to bed. While I agree with these two sentiments, I also find them hard to accomplish therefore I feel they most certainly qualify to be resolutions for the upcoming year. Sleep is definitely an essential function but for me it seems like I'm getting my rest in stages based on the fact that I get the worst hot flashes. There are times when I am sleeping comfortably then BOOOM all of a sudden, it's 185 degrees and I'm wide awake. I fan myself open the window, drink cool water, nothing cools me down until my body cools down itself. Then and only then, will my mind allow me to go back to sleep. That being said, if the Gods of everything in this world that is ice cold could bless me with the ability to not turn into a fire ball at bed time, I really would get or better yet go back to getting a good night of sleep before I became this hot flashing old lady!

As far as managing stress before bed, for some it might seem like an impossible task as most of us go to bed with a lot of things on our mind. Pending bills, lack of employment and/or money, relationships and the new life we're living are the usual things that might be lingering in your thoughts as you head into dream land therefore a good night's sleep might be interrupted. That being said, I want to make an effort to 'put it to rest' as the title of this blog says. If it doesn't benefit me, help me grow, teach me something or upgrade me then put it to rest. If I give everything that I can to a job and it doesn't appreciate or value me then put it to rest. If a financial opportunity comes along and it doesn't provide the sustenance that I need to take care of myself and my family, then put it to rest. If a relationship becomes toxic or if I find myself chasing something or someone that is not mine then put it to rest. Putting these things to rest are a part of the journey or I should say my journey to getting a good n healthy night's sleep.

To be completely honest (as if I wasn't doing that already), a sleep resolution is probably the only resolution I can keep up with, especially if the above is applied and it works in my favor. For everyone else, I would be curious to know how it worked out for you.

Sincerely,

Kai Storm

self help
1

About the Creator

Kai Storm

Author, Blogger, Podcaster for Motherhood Sex Marijuana, Writer for Fuego Magazine!

nattiekai.com

nattiekai.wixsite.com/kaih!

motherhoodsexmarijuana.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.