Motivation logo

Prioritize Things You Enjoy Doing

"I don't believe that people want a purpose in life just as much as they want a life experience." ~ Joseph Campbell

By Samyog kandelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Prioritize Things You Enjoy Doing
Photo by Gabrielle Claro on Unsplash

Because I am self-employed, I always find that my job is my life. There is no switch off when the day is over. Sometimes I get so caught up in the affairs of daily life that I give in to them.

Although my job is very important and enjoyable, I believe that it is important to have other activities besides work that bring us happiness so that we can live a full life.

When I get too busy doing the work of helping others, I forget about other important things. This makes me feel that I lack a balanced life-style.

One day I realized that I was so busy helping other people that I completely forgot about helping myself. As an introduction, it is important that I recharge my batteries by following a life-enhancing activity.

So I sat down with a pen and paper and did what most people did: I wrote a list.

This was a different list.

I wrote down every one of my favorite jobs. I wrote down every single task that I had not tried but wanted to do. And I wrote down every place I wanted to visit.

This was the beginning of an active, happy life. You can do with your life what you love. Personally, I prefer happiness.

In good psychology, the path to happiness and happiness is in a state of flux. You already know this feeling. It is when you are completely immersed in what you are doing and you lose track of time because you are so involved and refreshed in your work.

Usually, the things that put us in a flowing state are creative - things like drawing, playing music, cooking, sewing, reading, writing and making art and crafts.

Some of the activities that often put us in this state of flow are physical. This could be gardening, hiking, cycling, yoga, golf, and other activities that we love.

For happiness and great health, I believe it is important to follow creative and physical activities. Rejuvenating your mind and body leads to greater wisdom and a higher level of awareness.

Some would say that to get into a state of flux, you need to have fun. I think maybe this is true. When was the last time you heard someone say you had a hobby?

Hobbies seem to be a thing of the past. Today we are very busy. We become so absorbed in work, family, relationships, entertainment, and technology that we forget to do the things we love.

That’s where my list started to work. It ended up being a multi-page list of everything I loved that I once had, all the activities I loved, and all the jobs I wanted to try. Then I make it a point to do at least one “fun activity” every week.

Taking your time in our daily activities and discovering new ways to enjoy life is essential to our happiness and well-being.

If your life is very busy, do not be deceived into thinking that you do not have time for recreation. Everyone has fifteen minutes available, whether it reduces your sleep time or email.

While fifteen minutes may not feel like enough time to enter a state of flow, it is enough time to feel joy and happiness. With a little practice, you can find yourself in a state of flow that for fifteen minutes turns into an hour. In time, you may find that the pursuit of happiness outweighs the importance of being busy.

If you feel that you do not have enough fun now, the best way to find out is to remind yourself of what you enjoyed as a child. Have you ever enjoyed baking? Or drawing, or playing music, or playing football?

Make a list of all the activities you once enjoyed and all the activities you would like to do but have not yet done. Choose the one thing you enjoyed most, and set aside an appointment to give it a go. When you're ready, set an appointment for one new job you've never tried before.

Your life can be changed by this one simple act: to make it a priority to do the things you enjoy.

Ideally, you want to set a time for this every day. I fully understand that this is hard to do. At the very least, you want to schedule it weekly.

Personally, I like to set aside one day each week to visit the mountain. But sometimes when I don’t have time for that, I like to take my flute and think. If I only have fifteen minutes to do this, I find the time just passes, and it seems like five minutes.

Doing something like this is very good for my soul. I find that if I don't schedule time for the flow, then I feel tired and full of life. It is very important to me that I actually write it down in my diary and stick to it like any other important appointment.

We can all find more happiness in our lives. We just need to choose carefully to build it.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Samyog kandel

I am a passionate writer, trying to inspire other through my story..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.