Motivation logo

Personal Experience

Healing From The Devastation Of Grief

By Margaret TranPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

Who Am I?

Born in Saigon (now called Ho Chi Minh City) during the Vietnam War in 1973, I was three months old when a woman named Phuc Tran adopted me. Part Vietnamese and part an unknown ethnicity, I was a “half-breed”—that’s what the Vietnamese people called me. I didn’t have blue eyes or blond hair, but I had a Caucasian nose and eyes as well as freckles. For eleven years, I spent my early childhood in Vietnam; the culture, traditions, values, and beliefs strongly influenced me.

As a mixed-race outcast, I went to school in fear of being made fun of, being called names, and getting beaten up on the way home, so every day I had to find a new way to run home as fast as I could to avoid the bullies. Being exposed to bullying day in day out made me realize I would never blend into that society. I struggled throughout adolescence with little hope for the future. I hated who I was. I felt I was worthless.

In 1985, my adoptive mother and I left the land of our mothers with expectations of finally finding a home and looked forward to a new chapter of my life in my new fatherland called the United States of America. I left behind all the hardship and difficulties in Vietnam and pursued an identity I always yearned for. Growing up in America, I was fortunate to make many wonderful friends and receive an education that opened many doors for me. In 2000, I married my wonderful husband Christopher, and we’ve had two children: Victoria and Grant.

Life was very good until Christmas 2011 when my beloved adoptive mother became ill and bed-ridden. She passed shortly after on January 13, 2012. My whole world turned upside down; I struggled with grieving the loss of my mother. I lost all direction, and my life felt completely out of my control. I felt helpless like a scared child. All the sorrow just about made me lose my mind, even as I continued to manage daily tasks. I wondered how I would ever be able to live without her.

I was a complicated griever for four years. I couldn’t resolve the trauma of loss and grief. My mind and actions were in “default mode.” I seemed to accomplish nothing; life and family were hard for four years. One day, when prompted by a conversation of divorce, I realized I needed to start seeking help. I did not want to lose my family. In reaching out to coaches and mentors, I learned different healing modalities and took Reiki classes, pressure point tapping, acupressure and much more. I started practicing healing energy on myself. In addition, I learned and practiced meditation daily. I soon noticed I could manage my stress levels and ease life’s difficulties in a very profound way. My healing journey was beginning!

I discovered that by changing my awareness, I could become a better person who could live life by design, not by default. My personal experience of healing from the devastation of grief and improving my physical and mental health inspired me to share my success with others. I finally reached clarity on my true purpose and passion to guide people through their journey of personal healing from within and live their life by desire not by default.

healing
1

About the Creator

Margaret Tran

Margaret Tran is an International Bestseller Author of a book called The ACTIONS. After fell into depression for four years, the inner healing journey had inspired her to help and guide people so they can embrace happiness in their lives.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.