Motivation logo

Package with a purpose

Belated gift found

By Laura DvoranPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Package with a purpose
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

I had been cleaning out my drawers for days it seemed and I was finding so many things that I thought I had lost forever. Like the tickets from show I saw with my best friend over 20 years ago, somehow got separated from my scrapbook inadvertently and a few cases of old glasses I didn't need or could wear anymore.

I was working room to room and was in my favorite part of the house, my study. This is wear I practically lived most of the time except for sleeping and there have been times, many of them where I have drifted off reading and writing my stories. I am so comfortable sitting at my desk in my oversized chair with a few cushions and a blanket to keep my legs warm as I tend to keep my windows open and the air does get a bit chilly at times.

I was taking one of my many breaks of the day as it was early afternoon and I had been sitting down for hours and decided to get up and stretch and take a little walk around my yard and see how the garden was doing. I stepped outside my door and found a bouquet of flowers left tied up in colorful ribbons. There was no note and they seemed reasonably fresh as if someone had laid them there very recently. I was taken aback by this gesture as I had no idea who would have done this. Do I have a secret admirer? I haven't been seeing anyone for quite a while since my husband passed a few years ago. I wasn't looking for anything or anyone, but isn't that exactly when things happen?

I picked up the lovely arrangement and brought them back into the house and searched for just the right vase to place them. I was digging in one of my lower cupboards when I came across an antique vase I was given by my grandmother a long time ago and it was perfect. The flowers had a old fashioned quality about them, sensing they were from another time.

I adore flowers and my yard is extensive and I spend many enjoyable hours working to make sure the rows of tulips and daffodils and one of my absolute favorites, hyacinths. These were only a few of the many different types and flowers, does not include my vas collection of shrubs. I have a tendency to experiment with color and this year I am working with all shades of yellow from the palest to the very deep and showy.

I walked over towards my bench surrounded by a little pond of koi fish I just put in last year and settled down for a few moments. I wanted to get some sunshine on my face and enjoy the smells of my lustrous garden.

I didn't want to be gone too long from working in door, but the pull was great and I knew I needed it. I was just about to get moving when I heard a loud noise coming from the front. I got up and almost ran to see what just happened and it was the local delivery person coming to drop off my orders which I make so frequently, I see the same delivery person and we have become good friends. I do much research for the local flower society and am always getting little gifts as a thank-you. I accepted my packages and said a hasty good bye and walked briskly into my home.

I placed my packages onto my oversized kitchen table and started looking at what I got today. The usual invites to garden parties and lectures where I really get to show off my prowess for my detailed knowledge of gardening and underneath all of this lied a single package wrapped in a twine rope and was about the size of large card. I didn't see any postmark on it and only my name and address, nothing else. I was puzzled once again, first time with the bouquet of flowers, now this.

I opened up the small package and there was a card and a beautiful one at that. It looked like someone had hand painted it and there was a small note inside which read, "I sure hope you are able to use this, many blessings to you and you deserve a good life, more details soon". Well, I was scratching my head because there was nothing enclosed, could this be a joke or of something more to come?

I put this thought behind me and got back to my work cleaning. I decided that I was going to have a yard sale in the next few weeks as I had accumulated so many things and had to use for them and wanted to make sure the extras went to good homes. I had so many more rooms to go through and was lagging behind and wanted to get myself in gear, but knew I only had enough energy to finish where I started for the day.

I was packing up the things for sale in boxes and adding prices on things that I could, but it was hard to do. I was too attached to items that brought back wonderful memories, but the time to move on was now or never.

Fast forward two weeks, I was setting up my rows of tables with my goods for sale and was not paying close attention when I heard someone come up my walk. It was too early for the sale, but I noticed someone coming near and wasn't sure if I could recall where I had seen them. I welcomed the visitor to my sale since I wanted to get rid of as many things as possible and a paying customer is the best kind. I was giving them a quick tour of what was on each table and asked what they might be looking for or was it just a happenstance? The visitor smiled and walked away without a word and I felt sure I knew them, but when and where and why today?

The time started to go by much quicker and more people were coming by to browse my wares and I was so happy to be surrounded by so many great neighbors, some I had never seen before and I have lived in this house for over 20 years. Sometimes I guess it takes a sale of some sort to get people out to see what I have been all about. I am usually a reserved person, but over time, I have become more relaxed and enjoy meeting new people.

My sales were great and I didn't expect such a large turn out, but the day was coming to a close, at least for my sale and the same visitor from early this morning which I had forgotten about came back and handed me a very small package. Could this be the one I was waiting for?

Well, again no words spoke just a smile and a pat on my hand and they left as quickly as they came. I finished clearing up the sale items, covered up my tables and went inside. I sat down on my favorite chair and opened up my latest gift. It was a lottery ticket! I never play and didn't know why this was given to be, but felt there had to be a good explanation.

Anyway, the card had already been scratched off and there was a grand prize of $1,000,000.00. One million dollars!! Could this be true, should I pinch myself, scream, cry or shout?? I was shaking in disbelief wondering if this was a dream. After awhile, I called the number on the back of the ticket to verify if it was legitimate and was congratulated and yes I was a million dollar winner! Wow! Things like that never happen to me and I am still trying to figure out who gave this to me? I am so stunned and thankful, but unsure who would get the honors.

Well, can't think of anything better than to start making plans on taking a trip after I had settled off a few debts and visit parts of the world I had longed to do all my life. I will never forget this day as long as I live and promised that I would share my wealth and happiness with all I come across.

success
Like

About the Creator

Laura Dvoran

Lover of life, animals and sunsets. Passion for reading and writing and want to do it full time. Have had short stories published, but yearning for more in the thing called Life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.