Motivation logo

Overcoming Adversity

The Path to Academic Success

By Suzette RobertsPublished about a month ago 3 min read
1

It has been said that everything that occurs has a purpose. The reason I dropped out of school when I was sixteen years old, however, was a mystery to me. On top of that, I come from a country that is considered to be in the third world. Both religion and politics determined the course of our lives in this region of the world.

I was told by religious sisters that I have found myself in such a dilemma because I was born out of wedlock, raised in a single-parent home, and the sins of my parents fell on me. However, what I could not understand was how, for me, those are the reasons for not being given a second chance to complete my education when, in developed countries, I see teens attending school pregnant and completing their high school journey successfully.

To my surprise, no one ever inquired about the event's circumstances. Because my mother did not complete secondary school, let alone obtain tertiary education, I was expected to follow in her footsteps. It was much more than that, and I became aware of how much I shielded myself to conceal the unpleasant aspects of my background.

But… my life was about to change.

I took all the negative words and actions meted out to me and chartered a course that led to my achieving academic excellence. One year after giving birth, I had the opportunity to attend a private community college to complete my education. My mom found a way to invest in my education; it was the best decision ever.

By achieving the highest possible score in level II typewriting during my first year of college, I put my community college on the map. During that period, students about to enter the workforce were in high demand for the ability to type. I was acknowledged and praised by both my contemporaries and the establishment proprietor. This was the beginning of my journey via learning.

I realized that my failures were coaching me to make a comeback. In addition, I realized that I had learned that my tragedy was a lesson that would teach me how to shape my route to success in the present and the future. The words "I expect great things from you!" were spoken to me at my graduation ceremony two years later.

Having two children to provide for, I decided to venture into the field of work. I worked in many industries as a waitress, elderly caregiver, and receptionist in a hotel. When the hotel closed, I realized the need to be more marketable. At this point, I applied to pursue nursing but found my way into the business department at our local government community college. Upon completing the entrance exam, I was successful.

The two years of this program were well spent. I was successful and graduated with my Diploma in Business. From this point, I sought opportunities for advancement and applied my newfound knowledge and skills in pursuing multiple career pathways.

Let us fast-forward to where I am now, a trained educator with a bachelor's degree in e-business management. I am continuing my education through additional coursework in psychology. I can attest to my ability to comprehend and implement strategies for academic resilience.

Although having a large audience of followers is currently fashionable, my objective is to provide those who aspire to become leaders more power.

My experience has prompted me to share my personal and actual experience in achieving academic excellence with those who struggle. You can access this course via this link https://systeme.io/course/share/227480bf8880887a80c8cf8420b2984abf6c29

self helpsuccessadvice
1

About the Creator

Suzette Roberts

Welcome to my blog—a fusion of innovation, education, and inspiration. I am Suzette Roberts, the driving force behind this blog.

Welcome aboard!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.