Motivation logo

Outside My Window

A Dan's Eye View

By Dan AsherPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Outside My Window
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Outside my window, what do I see? I see car after car after car. Where are they going? Are they going to get gas, the gym, are they picking up medicine for their sick grandmother? I don't know. Maybe they do. The air reeks of sadness. Mr. Sun is not here. I know that if I step outside my apartment and look up in the sky, all I will see is clouds. With COVID, things are not like they used to be. Many restaurants are closed right now. For the few that are, there aren't dine in options; or they are encouraging social distancing. It's the kind of day that makes you want to stay in bed, sleep, or watch a movie. Make sure you have comfortable pajamas, because right now, THAT is the only comfort to be had. There is no end in sight. One can't even let out a cough or a sneeze without stirring up a panic. Friends who confide in one another can't provide a hug for relief for their friend their is hurting, or even a shoulder to cry on.

Outside my window, what do I feel? I feel a feeling of despair. There's the presence of a gloomy, dark cloud that is overshadowing EVERYTHING. It is a feeling that will not soon go away. The Coronavirus has struck fear in all of us. I feel depression, anger, and rage. Why Corona WHY? What did we ever do to deserve you? You're making the world SAD. You're mercilessly killing people and that is not okay. Yes, many HAVE recovered, but that doesn't mitigate the irreparable damage your presence causes. You are a RUINER. You RUIN everything. Everything you touch is spoiled. Germs spread through you, and more people get sick. People aren't traveling. Since they have to stay inside they can't see their families. Little boys and girls can't see their cousins. Sisters who have been separated by distance can't take that girls' trip, and new grandparents can't see their newborn grandchildren. Little Ruby won't be getting that new doll she asked for on her birthday, and Jack will have to go without that brand new action figure Grandma Rose waited hours in the cold in line to get, because it was sold out everywhere else. CURSE YOU, CORONA!!!

Outside my window, what do I see? I see people walking their dogs. They are wearing MASKS. MASKS are being sold everywhere, and going quickly. Sure they mask our faces and stop, or reduce the spread of germs. But, do they MASK the pain we all feel because of the pain this pandemic has brought onto the world? NO, THEY DON'T . People are losing their jobs, they may be losing their houses. Some have sadly, even lost the will to live. There is one thing out there, that even in moments of the utmost despair, will still shine through if it can. It's the glimmer of HOPE. No matter what happens, no matter what we do, we cannot lose HOPE that one day this horrible "thing" will pass. We WILL NOT lose HOPE, that we will all eventually BEAT the Coronavirus, and things will go back to normal. Soon, hopefully, we will be able to take that trip to New Zealand, go to that rock concert, and celebrate that birthday milestone, or new promotion. I see the world bouncing back with a furious resilience that represents a refusal to stay down and be subjugated. That day is coming very soon!

Outside my window, what do I see? I see people struggling to keep it together, people holding on for dear life. We all are STRUGGLING to keep our last bit of SANITY in light of the isolation that this quarantine demands. But, fear not. We are STRONG, we are WARRIORS, and we are NOT going down without a FIGHT. CORONAVIRUS, YOU WILL NOT BEAT US! Enjoy the rest of your time here, because it will come to a swift and abrupt END. Sooner than you think, all those afflicted by you will be CURED, and we will be RID OF YOU. You may have won the battle, but you are NOT winning this war! This ends NOW!

healing
1

About the Creator

Dan Asher

I'm a grad student, and an author. As a native New Yorker, I am highly opinionated, and writing is how I share my thoughts, views and feelings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.