Motivation logo

One of th greatest speech ever ! 🥺

If this doesn’t inspire you the nothing will 🥺🙏 motivational speech by steve jobs 🥰🙏

By Samya MohammedPublished 12 months ago 8 min read
3

today I want to tell you three stories

from my life that's it no big deal just

three stories

the first story

is about connecting the dots

I dropped out of Reed College after the

first six months but then stayed around

as a drop-in for another 18 months or so

before I really quit

so why'd I drop out

it started before I was born

my biological mother was a young unwed

graduate student and she decided to put

me up for adoption

she felt very strongly that I should be

adopted by college graduates so

everything was all set for me to be

adopted at Birth by a lawyer and his

wife

except that when I popped out they

decided at the last minute that they

really wanted a girl

so my parents who were on a waiting list

got a call in the middle of the night

asking

we've got an unexpected baby boy do you

want him they said of course

my biological mother found out later

that my mother had never graduated from

college and that my father had never

graduated from high school

she refused to sign the final adoption

papers

that a few months later when my parents

promised that I would go to college

this was the start

in my life

and 17 years later I did go to college

but I naively chose a college that was

almost as expensive as Stanford

and all of my working-class parent

savings were being spent on my college

tuition

after six months I couldn't see the

value in it I had no idea what I wanted

to do with my life and no idea how

College was going to help me figure it

out and here I was spending all the

money my parents had saved their entire

life

so I decided to drop out and trust that

it would all work out okay

it was pretty scary at the time but

looking back it was one of the best

decisions I ever made

the minute I dropped out

I could stop taking the required classes

that didn't interest me and begin

dropping in on the ones that looked far

more interesting

it wasn't all romantic I didn't have a

dorm room so I slept on the floor in

friends rooms

I returned Coke bottles for the five

cent deposits to buy food with and I

would walk the seven miles across town

every Sunday night

to get one good meal a week at the Hari

Krishna Temple

I loved it

and much of what I stumbled into by

following my curiosity and intuition

turned out to be Priceless later on

let me give you one example

read college at that time offered

perhaps the best calligraphy instruction

in the country

throughout the campus every poster every

label on every drawer was beautifully

hand calligraphed

because I had dropped out and didn't

have to take the normal classes

I decided to take a calligraphy class to

learn how to do this

I learned about serif and Sans serif

typefaces about varying the amount of

space between different letter

combinations about what makes great

typography great

it was beautiful historical artistically

subtle in a way that science can't

capture

and I found it fascinating

none of this had even a hope of any

practical application in my life

ten years later when we were designing

the first Macintosh computer it all came

back to me and we designed it all into

the Mac it was the first computer with

beautiful typography if I had never

dropped in on that single course in

college the Mac would have never had

multiple typefaces or proportionally

spaced fonts and since Windows just

copied the Mac it's likely that no

personal computer would have them

if I had never dropped out I would have

never dropped in on that calligraphy

class and personal computers might not

have the wonderful typography that they

do

of course it was impossible to connect

the dots looking forward when I was in

college but it was very very clear

looking backwards 10 years later

again you can't connect the dots looking

forward you can only connect them

looking backwards so you have to trust

that the dots will somehow connect in

your future you have to trust in

something your gut Destiny Life Karma

whatever

because believing that the dots will

connect down the road will give you the

confidence to follow your heart even

when it leads you off the well-worn path

and that will make all the difference

[Music]

my second story

is about love and loss

I was lucky I found what I love to do

early in life was and I started Apple in

my parents garage when I was 20. we

worked hard and in 10 years Apple had

grown from Just the Two of Us in a

garage into a two billion dollar company

with over four thousand employees we

just released our finest creation the

Macintosh a year earlier and I just

turned 30.

and then I got fired

how can you get fired from a company you

started

well as Apple grew we hired someone who

I thought was very talented to run the

company with me and for the first year

or so things went well but then our

visions of the future began to diverge

and eventually we had a falling out when

we did our board of directors sided with

him and so at 30 I was out and very

publicly out

what had been the focus of my entire

adult life was gone and it was

devastating

I really didn't know what to do for a

few months I felt that I'd let the

previous generation of entrepreneurs

down that I had dropped the Baton as it

was being passed to me

I met with David Packard and Bob Noyes

and tried to apologize for screwing up

so badly

I was a very public failure and I even

thought about running away from the

valley

but something slowly began to dawn on me

I still loved what I did

the turn of events at Apple had not

changed that one bit

I'd been rejected but I was still in

love

and so I decided to start over

I didn't see it then

it turned out that getting fired from

Apple was the best thing that could have

ever happened to me

the heaviness of being successful was

replaced by the lightness of being a

beginner again less sure about

everything

freed me to enter one of the most

creative periods of my life

during the next five years I started a

company named next another company named

Pixar and fell in love with an amazing

woman who would become my wife

Pixar went on to create the world's

first computer animated feature film Toy

Story and is now the most successful

Animation Studio in the world

in a remarkable turn of events Apple

bought next and I returned to Apple and

the technology we developed it next is

at the heart of Apple's current

Renaissance and Lorraine and I have a

wonderful family together

I'm pretty sure none of this would have

happened if I hadn't been fired from

Apple

it was awful tasting medicine but I

guess the patient needed it

sometime life sometimes life's going to

hit you in the head with a brick

don't lose faith

I'm convinced that the only thing that

kept me going was that I loved what I

did you've got to find what you love and

that is as true for work as it is for

your lovers

your work is going to fill a large part

of your life and the only way to be

truly satisfied is to do what you

believe is great work and the only way

to do great work is to love what you do

if you haven't found it yet keep looking

and don't settle

as with all matters of the heart you'll

know when you find it and like any great

relationship it just gets better and

better as the years roll on so keep

looking don't settle

my third story

is about death

when I was 17 I read a quote that went

something like if you live each day as

if it was your last someday you'll most

certainly be right

it made an impression on me and since

then for the past 33 years I've looked

in the mirror every morning and asked

myself if today were the last day of my

life what I want to do what I am about

to do today

and whenever the answer has been no for

too many days in a row I know I need to

change something

remembering that I'll be dead soon is

the most important tool I've ever

encountered to help me make the big

choices in life

because almost everything all external

expectations all Pride all fear of

embarrassment or failure these things

just fall away in the face of death

leaving only what is truly important

remembering that you are going to die is

the best way I know to avoid the Trap of

thinking you have something to lose you

are already naked there is no reason not

to follow your heart

no one wants to die

even people who want to go to heaven

don't want to die to get there

and yet

death is the destination we all share

no one has ever escaped it and that is

as it should be because death is very

likely the single best invention of life

it's life's change agent it clears out

the old to make way for the new

right now the new is you

but someday not too long from now you

will gradually become the old and be

cleared away

sorry to be so dramatic but it's quite

true

your time is limited so don't waste it

living someone else's life

don't be trapped by Dogma which is

living with the results of other

people's thinking

don't let the noise of others opinions

drowned out your own inner voice and

most important have the courage to

follow your heart and intuition they

somehow already know what you truly want

to become

everything else is secondary

stay hungry stay foolish!

Thanks for watching🥰

Would love to get tips please support me and send me tips i would really apretiate 🥰❤️🥺🙏

successcelebrities
3

About the Creator

Samya Mohammed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • M. Shoaib12 months ago

    Nice story , but try making them short ... and please subscribe like and view my stories too for support kindly ❤️🤗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.