Motivation logo

Now, Not Later

200 Challenge

By Pia BantonPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Like
https://unsplash.com/photos/red-wooden-panel-board-79Ut1cRYoQ0?utm_content=creditShareLink&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=unsplash

Hidden. That’s how I’ve been for a long time. I joined Vocal a year ago as a first step in emerging from the shadows - shadows of tragedy, shadows of doubt, and standing back in other people’s shadows saying to myself not now but later. This year I’ve flipped that to now, not later. I can no longer wait to get my writing out into the world. Now is the time to reach out, to connect, to find a community.

That’s where my goals for Vocal this year take center stage. I originally fell in love with the platform and its possibilities but after joining I went through several major life changes including a major move, learning in the process that I had to become visible again in life in order to nurture and share my stories and poems.

This year, I intend to post weekly on Vocal. I give myself permission to be less worried about perception and more concerned with experience, especially where my writing is concerned. I understand perfection is the enemy of joy and this year I choose to embrace joy. Honestly, I’ve struggled in the past to maintain posting routines and truly admire the writers I see who are able to post several times a week. By posting once a week, I am giving myself the best chance of success while also honouring this commitment to myself.

My second goal is connected to the first. I normally write poetry with the occasional dabble into fiction. This year I’ve committed to practice more of the art of writing fiction. I intend to implement a manageable writing schedule this year and finally get a few of my stories finished. I will have at least one book of poetry available and am really excited to try my hand at personal essays for the very first time. So expect to see my work across a variety of subjects and styles.

My third and perhaps most important intention is to engage with readers and other writers both here and across my social media. It’s very hard for me to overcome my impulse to shy away from connections, to think maybe I don’t have anything of value to add to the conversation. But this year I’m going to succeed at overcoming this self imposed limitation. When I read another writer’s work I intend to let them know instead of remaining a silent lurker as I’ve been since joining.

These goals are a roadmap for the year ahead. The map is not the territory, as we all know, so I’m sure this journey will be full of surprises and unexpected real life twists. I know there will be finished works and new collaborations mixed with all sorts of frustrations and some nice wins.

I know I’m not alone. Somewhere out there, maybe reading this right now, are others here on this very platform struggling with similar things, who think their voice is small. Others are here who have different struggles, maybe with plotting or schedule discipline. Probably some are dealing with burnout. The one thing we all share is our voices do matter.

Everyone who posts their work, who takes that risk no matter what their struggles, encourages everyone else here to do the same. That’s pretty incredible. And why these goals this year are important to me both as a writer and as a Vocal member.

Vocal
Like

About the Creator

Pia Banton

Poetry, occasional fiction. But always the poems. Over caffeinated, up all night.

Visit me on Instagram @piabantonpoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.