Motivation logo

Now Is the Time to Do the Things That Make You Happy

The problem is you think you have time. ”~ Buddha

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Now Is the Time to Do the Things That Make You Happy
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

The problem is you think you have time. ”~ Buddha

When I first read this quote after graduating from college, I fell head over heels in the quote “do it now, do it now, do it now.”

I had to travel all over the world, while I was doing yoga, learning Spanish, walking the PCT, living in different cities, building my own resume, and reading every book that was ever written.

For every check I put next to something in my bucket list, I found ten new items that drew me to different directions. I tried to do it all and strangely, I felt like I was out of place. I desperately wanted my place and planned my next step which I often ignored where I was.

I was trying to protect myself from regrets about not having enough health, but I was so busy doing this that I missed a lot along the way.

The fact is that in the present moment I have nothing to defend myself against; it's the safest place you can be.

I started looking at this scale from the other side.

There are things I can put on my list that I can do - take voice lessons, read that book, bake that cake, run a lot, practice more. There will always be more to do. However, there are things I can do to live the life I want to live right now: love, give up, be a good friend, take care of myself.

I don’t have time for disability thinking about everything I want to do. Now is the time to take action for children to achieve small goals and set big goals in action.

Now is the time to do the adventure. It does not have to travel around the world; just something that makes your heart sing.

Now is the time to give thanks and go out and listen to the birds chirping.

Now is the time to let go of fear and let go of resentment.

Now is the time to love.

No destination. There is no point in the future when there will be more time for self-love, compassion, or work.

Now is the time to make decisions not based on what I feel I should be doing, but rather on making me happy, because the happier I am, the more I can love and support the people around me.

And I am very happy when I slow down to appreciate the little things, because in the end it is the little things that build good health.

I try to look at things on my to-do list, but by slowing down I allow myself to appreciate the space in the middle.

In yoga, the space between the posture is as important as the posture itself, but it is often overlooked. The same is true of health; I focus so much on my next step I forgot to enjoy this trip and admire the beauty of the place I am in.

There will never be time to do everything I want, but by working on small goals in my daily life, I can focus on the little things patiently and hopefully the big things will come.

I can celebrate great success (“I live in Peru for four months!”) And on a small scale (“I haven't eaten extra sugar for a week!” “Teach me my first yoga class!”)

My new goal is patience, gratitude, and openness to take each day as it comes. I will not waste my time, but I will not be afraid of the passing of it.

Is it possible for me to do all the great things I want to do? Indeed, that can happen to all of us. But if we do the little things that bring us happiness each day, and choose to be fully present and participate in every moment, there will be no regrets.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.