Motivation logo

Next Time I Will Dance

Dance for your life, dance for your health, dance for the joy!

By She WritesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Next Time I Will Dance
Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

Dancing can set your soul free

I love to dance!

I also love music, you cannot really have one without the other.

If only I could be sixteen again, if I could choose one more time I would pick my one true love, DANCE.

If there is music I cannot, I will not be still. My body, my feet, my soul is compelled to move on its own accord.

The moving parts are not controlled by me but by the master musician. I cannot help myself as I simply love music and dance!

If there is music, then I will dance!

Whenever I ponder the sadness of my eventual demise it is the absence of music and dancing for which I grieve. I am saddened that I will no longer hear music or get to dance (it should be even more glorious in heaven).

I have always loved the sounds of music, not just any music, the conscious kind, the type that speaks to me on a soul level. The kind of music in which I can lose myself. The kind of music that expresses all that I could ever wish to say.

By Daniel on Unsplash

What is "dance"

Dancing is immortal and is both an art and a science. It is defined as, the movement of one's body in a rhythmic way, usually to the beat of music within a given space.

It is also a purposeful form of communication finding spaces where sometimes words cannot go.

The art of dance serves many purposes such as for expressing an idea or emotion, for releasing energy, or simply taking delight in the movement itself.

Some primary elements of dance are;-

1. the use of space, floor patterns,

2. the shapes of the moving bodies

3. the designs in space made by the movement of limbs

4. the use of time and structure of the tempo

5. The rhythmic variations

6. the use of the body's weight and execution of graceful movements

By Georgia de Lotz on Unsplash

Benefits of dancing

Dancing has been a form of human expression since the dawn of humanity. In biblical times the saints danced as a form of praise and worship and, as an expression of joy as well as sorrow.

Throughout history, dancing has always been present at celebrations. When wars were won and conquests were made, they celebrated with dance.

The use of dance as a form of therapy should be practiced more often in society.

According to Harvard Medical School, Institute of Neurobiology, dancing is being more extensively explored for its role in the treatment of Parkinson’s disease. Dance:--

Improves the condition of your heart and lungs. Science has proven that regular exercise benefits the cardiovascular system.

Increases muscular strength and endurance. The act of regular dancing serves to build muscle fibers and improve stamina.

Increases your general fitness. Since regular dancing is a form of exercise, it will serve to increase your general fitness.

Helps with weight management. Any sustained exercise routine may have a positive impact on your weight.

Helps build strong bones thus reducing the risks of osteoporosis. Due to the nature of the movement of dance, regular use will improve your bone density, making you stronger.

Improves coordination, agility, and flexibility. Constant movement will keep your body agile.

A gentle exercise. There are many forms of dance and depending on your fitness and health, you may decide on how physical you will allow your dancing to be.

Boosts your mood. Movement requires the release of dopamine, that feel-good neurotransmitter that improves your mood.

Improves a sense of well-being. That same dopamine mentioned above will cause your mental health.

Many forms of physical activity serve to improve the way we feel and ultimately our mental health. So get up and dance your way to feeling good.

By Rainier Ridao on Unsplash

Concluding thoughts

Psychology today states that the act of dancing and physical exertion for a sustained amount of time stimulates the release of the mood-altering neurotransmitters serotonin and nor-epinephrine.

Psychology also posits that new neurons and neurological connections are established as a result of the proteins produced within the brain with prolonged physical activity.

Dancing produces sensuality of movement, is beautiful, gives rise to agility and strength. Dance is healing, soothing, spiritual and when used in conjunction with music provides a plethora of healing benefits.

So for those of us out there that love music and dancing, those of us who cannot remain sitting when we hear music, rise up and dance for dancing may be a key to your emotional and physical health.

What could be better!

So next time I vow to choose you dance as my first love.

Then … I will dance.

*****

Originally posted on my website @https://medium.com/@justpene50

advice
Like

About the Creator

She Writes

She Writes - A girl writing the way she sees the world -- email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.