Motivation logo

New Year, New Me? Nah! New Year, Old Me- Just Slightly Better

No dramatic changes for me this year.

By Monisha SenPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
New Year, New Me? Nah! New Year, Old Me- Just Slightly Better
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Most people would expect to be pumped about New Year resolutions in January. Not me. January felt like a dragged-out version of 2020 which just didn’t want to let go of me.

At times, I feel there’s so much pressure to make your New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day happy and memorable that it’s a little exhausting. If you’re wondering, yes, I’m one of those people who believe in the concept, “your first day sets the tone for the entire year”.

I guess most of January was spent in fear of the new things to come this year. Unlike so many others, 2020 was a great year for me and for that, I’m immensely grateful. I joined my company virtually and have been working from home since. Giving my weekdays to work and not having plans for the weekend left me with time on my hands to explore my interests. I bought a keyboard because I always wanted to learn to play the piano and started to put out the one thing I’m passionate about, my writing.

But in the last few days of January, I’ve made preparations for my New Year which starts this February.

I don’t plan to make any dramatic promises to myself, instead work on a few behavioural changes that I think could benefit me and others around me alike.

My Little Black Book

I know, sounds like a cliché! Nevertheless, I’m excited about it. I ordered a leather-bound cute little journal online a few days ago and it has finally arrived. It’s not really for the purpose of journaling, because I already happen to do that on my laptop. Rather, it is for everything that I wish to write, it could be a beautiful quote I want to hold close to my heart, a career chart or an action plan to get my fears and anxiety under control.

When I flicked open the first page, I started to rack my brain for an inspiring quote and then did a Google search. It had to be something profound but something I loved and associated with happiness. I chose to write the poem “10 Things I Hate About You” from the iconic rom-com 10 Things I Hate About You. This poem always brings a smile (along with happy tears) to my face and somehow, makes me believe in all that is good in life. That’s why it made it to the front page of my Little Black Book because that’s what my book is going to be about, recording all things good.

Adapting to a Healthier Routine

Now I don’t really plan to wake up at the break of dawn but I’ll be waking up at my usual time in the morning i.e 7.30 AM and first thing, go through my exercise routine. My work schedule is such that I start at 11.30 AM and work till 8.30 PM, even later. So, I try and complete all of my activities, like breakfast, taking a walk, bathing and yes, a bit of reading, before 11.30 AM. But I don’t do them in this order.

I used to relax in the morning and take a walk (or do an exercise routine) somewhere around 10 in the morning. Now, I’ve already changed it up and will continue to follow my current routine of working out in the morning because that way I feel less lethargic and have more time to gather my thoughts before I start working.

Having a More Positive Mindset and Remaining Calm

Oh God, this is a tough one! I have a nasty habit of spiraling into a negative thought process whenever I find myself stuck in any situation. If my brain starts to think ‘we’re in trouble’, it will develop all sorts of possible consequences which all tend to have a negative outcome (What’s up with that, brain?). So, I’ve decided to remind myself to stay calm and certainly not overthink. I’ll write down the problem and a possible way out of it because once it’s out there, it doesn’t seem that daunting. Yes, I’ve tried it but now want to make a habit of it. See, this is where my Little Black Book comes in handy!

Being Patient With Myself and My Family

This is where I start being a better human being. For lack of a better analogy, I’ll go with the devil and the angel whispering in my ears. The devil is that part of my brain which is ambitious, driven, fiery, which keeps shouting at me to do better. The angel is the creative, passionate, peaceful part of my brain, which urges me to take a breather and just be happy.

Devil: Why are you wasting your time reading about cinematography?... Do you plan to be in the film-making business?

I: No, but it’s fun. I really like it.

Devil: Have you decided on what you need to do next, huh?.... Have you set any professional goals for the next 5 years?

I: No, but I was trying to figure out.…

Devil: God, you’re a disappointment!

Well, sorry Devil, I don’t care anymore. I’m removing you from my life this year and guess, what, I’ll let the angel talk and guide me on how to be more caring towards myself and others.

Angel: That’s right! You’ve learned to walk, not need to start running just yet. Take your time. Be kind and nurture yourself. Most importantly, be kind to your loved ones.

Yes, Devil. I didn’t cut you out of this narrative. Now go. Leave!

Appreciating More

I’ve always believed appreciation can take you a long way. This year, I’ll appreciate everyone I know a little more. I’ll appreciate my family members, my colleagues, friends and other writers who put out great work on Vocal and other platforms as well. I appreciate all the content creators who inspire me to write better each day and I appreciate you, my reader, for taking out the time and reading me.

goals
1

About the Creator

Monisha Sen

I share my views on various topics including love, romance, books, movies, life and spirituality. I write what's in my heart and my style of writing is honest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.