Motivation logo

New Year New Me

It’s time to reinvent ourselves, or is it?

By Amy CaswellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
New Year New Me
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I love this time of year.

Christmas has been and gone for another year.

The house is all tidy again ready for New Years. Okay so I understand that I may be one of the few crazy people who pull all their Christmas decorations down on Boxing Day. I may have told my children that Boxing Day is for boxing up all the things from this year ready for next year — terrible dad pun I know!

Yet while this time of year is magical. I feel we at times put to much pressure on ourselves to reinvent the wheel come January 01! I mean in all honesty it’s not like we can wave a magic wand and start fresh because the calendar starts again.

Of course after the year that has been 2020, I’m sure most of us would like to wave a magic wand to know that 2021 will be smooth sailing.

Wouldn't that be wonderful! To just blink away 2020 and start fresh in 2021. However that’s not possible, well at least I don’t believe it is, if you know differently please reach out!

We are still living with the effects of a global pandemic and likely will be for many years to come.

Whilst I believe it is important to spend time refelcting on the past twelve months and to do an inventory of how things went, taking note of the things that went well and the things that didn’t go so well. Revising our goals and dreams and seeing which ones we have achieved or gotten closer to and which ones feel even further away.

It is important that we don’t get so caught up in making big changes that we set ourselves up for failure.

Goals and dreams are important. If we don’t have something to focus on that brings us joy then we are only going to be going backwards and falling further away from contentment.

This new year brings with it a blank page and a fresh start to work on our lives. Let’s take time to realise that whilst we may not have loved the past tweleve months or even the last decade, it has brought us to where we are, we have learnt valuable lessons from it. It has shaped who we have become in order for us to either keep working towards the person we are becoming or to pivot slightly to become the even better version of ourselves.

While creating our goals for 2021, take the time to choose wisely, focus on a few key areas and don’t make so many goals that they become overwhelming as that is no fun. No one wants to start the year in a panic because we are trying to cram years worth of goals into a single year.

Future Me

One thing I am going to do this year is to write a letter to future ‘me’, I am going to write a letter detailing who I am and how I am living my life, as well as all the goals and dreams I have achieved. Then I am going to seal it and read it in twelve months time. I can't wait to read my future 'me' letter. I wonder what things will resonate with me and what things may make me laugh. I think it will be a great way to start my yearly reflection process.

Be kind to yourself. Live each day and love each day. Don’t spend all your time so focused on future that you forget to live in the present. Life is for living. Find the delicate balance between hustling hard for your dreams and enjoying the ones you have already achieved.

Be kind to yourself.

Live each day and love each day.

Don’t spend all your time so focused on future that you forget to live in the present. Life is for living. Find the delicate balance between hustling hard for your dreams and enjoying the ones you have already achieved.

Most importantly enjoy 2021 and don’t feel the need to completely reinvent yourself, you are already amazing!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.