Motivation logo

My photography trip

the ways of the road and me

By Kathy ReedPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why not flowers by Kathy Reed

My photography trip

the ways of the road and me

10/24/2020

written by: Kathy Reed

it's the way you treated me, take care?

I went on this trip to see my family and to bring my camera with me. After years of pointing and shooting in Denver, my finger grew tired of the same street shots. I wanted to get on the road and get some other cities. I went to Omaha and Iowa before heading into Indiana and Illinois. I realized why I like taking photos. It's the gossip on the streets. With cutting you out of the photos I was able to take shots of the city and leave the take cares behind.

take your money and get out, but that is not what it say

I traveled and paid myself doing a daily service of food pick up. I wanted to use my photography as my class, although that would only be enough cash from what I made to spend only at the dollar menu. I noticed that the rich are still rich and the poor, well they still have good gossip. I would snap photos in the morning and nite and work in-between mostly shooting around being tired. I got some great shots and some bad ones, in all people are people and when they get in a shot, those are the bad ones - stupid truck all in the photo.

throw it on the floor, say you were there

So what if you have to say it out loud. By the time I made it to Indiana, I was whistling. I had so many photos and got to see my family. It felt great to do it on my own. I kept checking the pictures on facebook to make sure they were there. You have to do it, you have to get out of your head and see how the system of America is set. The backroads are great too. If your not too scared, the offroads are peaceful, just don't stop for the hills have eyes people, geez some of the people ain't seen life since you walked in, from the City.

say it and waive it, people are such biters

So on the way back, I flew threw MO, KS to Colorado Springs. I thought I could live there so beautiful and that Mountain, literally in every scene you drive on. I thought that has to be dangerous always staring over the City on those hills and that mountain everyday. It's like you go into the twilight zone. So I took some of the breath taking photos and was happy I finally made my way back to aurora.

what is really there, what is really here

So now that I have traveled in this circle in the middle of the country I feel happy that I did it. I think that we all have to live once. And now that I have successfully torn up my car and served chicken to folks, I still feel so grateful to have used my photography to good use of travel, working and visiting my family especially during this pandemic.

will it be missed, what's next

I think that you never should look back. Remember no one wants to remember the bad, although the pictures came out good, there was a lot of bad. I can't forget that. So will I miss all that driving, no, so in state I will stay with my photography. But what if I did do it again. I guess it all depends.

written by Kathy Reed

success
Like

About the Creator

Kathy Reed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.