Motivation logo

My Passion

writing.....one of the true loves of my life

By Kia T Cooper-ErbstPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

What are you most passionate about? Why do people follow you, read your stories, or want to hear what you have to say? What do I have to offer others? What makes me a great member or person? These are the questions that drive me on a daily basis as a writer.

I often asked myself ,what besides writing am I most passionate about and it has been a hard choice for me to decide. Besides writing, I have also wanted to be a creator, a painter, photographer or even something mundane as a teacher. I had other dreams while growing up such as becoming a lawyer but it became pretty clear to me when I first found joy and satisfaction as a young girl in seeing the words just fly from my soul and appear on paper. After being introduced to poetry by an beloved English teacher in 6th grade, I was hooked and wanted to do nothing more than touch people's hearts and emotions with the power of the written word.

I started my journey with a simple writer's notebook in which I scribbled and jotted down my thoughts, forming them in ways that made the most sense to me. I later developed the habit of writing consistently and daily. By keeping to this training, I wound up creating my first poems that other people liked and later wanted me to write for them. Over the course of the years, I have branched out from my first love to writing stories as well as trying my hand at blogging . It's been thirty some years since I first wrote my first poem, but the joy and passion of creating a new work of the written word has never left me and still remains refresh in my mind.

I always have projects that I'm constantly working on from short stories to blog posts to new works of poetry. People have often asked me if I have ever gone through a dry spell where the words just don't come. I say yes because that is a part of a writer's life and that being blocked sometimes can and will happen. The longest that I have ever been blocked was about 3 years total. Life was stressful during that time and well stopped flowing but when the pump started back the words flowed and flowed until the notebook that I had used was completely filled. Some of my greatest works came during that strange period.

I think people like to read what I write because it stirs an echo within them. It allows them to see the things that I am telling with my words.One of the poems that I wrote during the past year that made me cry was entitled : Justice/Injustice. This poem was about my feelings regarding the murder of George Floyd. I have people say that sometimes my work is like a movie of words because they can see and easily visualize what I am giving to them. I want them to be able to understand the mental pictures that I am creating with words and phrases.

What do I offer others besides my infectious spirit and joy of words. I offer ideas that they may not have considered, love and laughter of things that some may consider different from them. I offer plenty while hiding some of what makes me a writer behind my screen or pencil and paper. My ability to instill love, life, laughter, joy, humanness, and compassion for certain things is what makes me a good person. Though I am not above being petty or acting out with my writing, I try to be a nice person that is true to my nature.

I believe that as a writer, it is my duty to entertain my reader but also to make them feel a certain way by creating works that will live on in their own merit. Some of the best poets and writers have often written things that may have made the reader uncomfortable on some level but also affected change on another. I want my writing to do the same whether during my lifetime or after.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Kia T Cooper-Erbst

Writer, poet, author. submissive. Mom of three wonderful human beings. These are the first things that come to mind when I think of myself besides being the obvious.... which is daughter, wife,etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.